一件美妙的小事

一件美妙的小事

2018年12月7日

讓我分享一件美妙的小事吧!這是一場戲劇表演,全劇僅九名學生,在張洪濟影劇院連演三晚,帶動全場觀眾捫心思考,生活為什麼值得我們傾盡全力。

弘立書院高中部出品的這場演出《每一件美妙的小事》,改編自鄧肯.麥克米倫(Duncan Macmillan)的同名戲劇,學生演員們的表演信心十足,節奏張弛有度,主人公與母親的抑鬱症抗爭,努力搜尋着生活中「每一件美妙的小事 」。

對劇組而言,每晚演出冒着很大的風險。該劇設計大量的觀眾參與環節,部分關鍵的客串角色,恰是讓毫無準備的觀眾隨機選中走上舞台。這種不可預測的觀眾元素,以別開生面的獨特方式塑造着每一場表演,令所有人經歷難忘的夜晚。

毫無疑問,演出中探索了一些頗具挑戰性的主題,比如抑鬱症,焦慮感,婚姻不和以及自殺,恐怕更適合成年人觀看。緊接着第二天,著名心理學家邁克爾.卡爾格雷格博士 (Dr. Michael Carr-Gregg) 就以《養育快樂而有堅忍的年輕人》為主題進行家長講座,期間座無虛席。一場戲劇,加上一場講座,在我校社區內引發大量關於提升學生健康水平的激烈爭論。劇中核心的結構設計,就是整理一份生活中每一件美妙事情的清單,為我們每個人提供了一個強大的榜樣 。 我們都可以模仿劇中主角的使命, 編製動態清單; 無論這份清單多麼微不足道,都將豐富我們的生活,並向生活注入必不可少的目標感。

在這場戲裏,美妙之物不拘一格,比如巧克力冰淇淋,比如無憂無慮地起舞,樸素而平凡的特徵,卻有其激勵鼓舞的一面。它為所有觀眾帶來希望和動力,生命的光輝也許不僅限於強者和有影響力的人們做出的崇高成就,卻也可能體現在一杯精心烹煮的茶,或一塊新鮮出爐的餅乾之中 ── 真真確確是一件美妙的小事!

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單

A Brilliant Thing

A Brilliant Thing

A brilliant thing happened in our school recently. A dramatic performance, staged over three nights in the H.J. Zhang Black Box Theatre, and with a cast of just nine students, challenged the audience to consider why life might be worth living.

An ISF adaptation of Duncan Macmillan’s play, Every Brilliant Thing, this year’s Senior School Production, was executed with great confidence by its young cast, setting an unrelenting pace, as the main protagonist, wrestling with his mother’s depression, sought to list ‘every brilliant thing’ in life.

For the cast, there were great risks taken each night. The performance required considerable audience involvement, with some key cameo roles played by largely unprepared members of the audience who were chosen in a random manner. This unpredictable audience element helped to shape each performance in a unique way and certainly made the experience more memorable for all.

There is no doubt that some of the more challenging themes explored in the production, such as depression, anxiety, marital discord, and suicide, were best suited to mature audiences. Indeed, the play, which was followed the next day by a well-attended talk to parents by the noted psychologist Dr. Michael Carr-Gregg on Raising Happy & Resilient Young People, subsequently generated considerable animated discussion in our community on the promotion of student well-being. The core structural device in the play, compiling a list of every brilliant in life, offers a compelling case for each of us to emulate the central character’s mission and compile a dynamic list of the things that enrich and give purpose to our lives, no matter how trivial.

In our production, the eclectic collection of brilliant things, ranging from chocolate ice cream to dancing without fear, was inspiring in its prosaic, mundane character. Yet, it offered hope and encouragement to all of us in the audience in that the brilliance of life may not be limited to the lofty achievements of the powerful and influential, but may also be manifested in the quiet pleasure found in a cup of well-brewed tea and a freshly baked biscuit – a brilliant thing indeed.

Quick Menu