年終:告別2018

年終:告別2018

這是我在2018年的最後一期通告。伴隨著一年即將結束和另一年的開始,辭舊迎新之際,正是回顧總結過往十二個月的好時機。

如果自誇過去一年對所有人來說都十分積極充實,當然很不現實。但我個人而言,思慮再三,我覺得我們每一個人,都擁有值得感恩和慶祝的事情。這樣的事情不一定需要精心安排,但一定是必要的舉動。

這一年來,在弘立,我們每天都會被各類善意與美好所包圍,有些可觸可見,有些難以察覺。期盼已久的新設施,以「體實在」的方式,為學習開闢新的可能性。有些善意悄如耳語般,幾乎難以察覺。我們感恩回報,因為他人的慷慨與周到,以各種方式,點亮我們的生命;我們倍感歡欣,因為過去的這一年,或多或少,以各種方式,我們也在鼓勵或支持着他人。

一年將逝之際,我們常常捫心自問:「今年我是否成功?」有些人可能會明確地回答「是」,有些人可能未必充滿着成就感,反而背負着深沉的焦慮,沒能達到心目中的標準,還有一些人可能會在迷茫困惑中結束這一年,問題遠遠多於答案。當我們沒能達到自身期望時,不妨善用害怕失敗的心理,將不安轉化成能量,開啟更重要的正面行動。問題通常指向我們十分看重的事物,來年我們將能夠更有效地安排和規劃。

對我而言,年末之際,恰應是謙卑之時。這一年的成就,輕而易舉讓我擁有深深的個人滿足感,但其實大多數功勞都要歸功於大家,歸功於默默奉獻的許多人。誠然,我要在此向全體教職員工,全體家長,董事和委員會成員,當然還有我校快樂、勤勉、努力、才華橫溢的同學們,表達我個人衷心的感謝。為了全體學生,我們傾囊相授,但是,學生們的能量,努力和投入,才真正創造弘立的成功。

我衷心祝願大家,聖誕節平安喜樂,2019年健康成功!

快捷選單

At Year’s End: Farewell to 2018

At Year’s End: Farewell to 2018

This is my final newsletter for 2018. With one year just ending and another about to commence, it is appropriate to spend some time in reflection on the events of the past 12 months.

While it would be unrealistic to claim that the year past has been a universally positive time for all, it is certainly true in my experience that with some careful thought, each of us has something for which to be grateful, something to celebrate. This doesn’t need to be an elaborate exercise, but it is an essential one.

At our school, we are surrounded on a daily basis by reminders of the many gifts bestowed on us during the year, some tangible, some less so. New facilities, long anticipated, have opened up new possibilities for learning in very ‘concrete’ ways. Some of the gifts have been more whisper-like, almost imperceptible. For the many ways in which our lives have been touched by the generosity and thoughtfulness of others, we have cause to give thanks. For the many ways, great and small, in which we may have encouraged or supported another during the year, we have cause to be heartened by an act of service to another.

It is at this point in the year that we often ask of ourselves: “Have I been successful this year?” Some may respond with an unequivocal ‘yes’; others may not feel buoyed by a sense of achievement, but burdened with a brooding anxiety, having fallen short of the mark; still others may finish the year in a state of puzzlement, with more questions raised than answered. Utilizing our fear of failure as a form of nervous energy to inform decisive, positive action is a good response when we don’t meet our own expectations. Questions often point to the things we hold as important in our lives; they suggest ways in which we might prioritize our efforts in the coming year.

For me, the end of a year is also a time for humility. It is all too easy to draw a deep sense of personal satisfaction from the accomplishments of the year, when much credit is actually due to others who have contributed so much, often in unrecognized ways. It is therefore entirely appropriate to offer my heartfelt personal thanks to all colleagues in the ranks of faculty and staff, all members of our parent community, our governors and committee members, and of course our cheerful, industrious, diligent, and brilliant students. We labor together on behalf of all learners, but it is their energy, effort, and engagement that creates the success that is ISF.

To one and all, I extend my best wishes for a restful and merry Christmas and a year of health and success in 2019!

Quick Menu