返校之夜:一年的對話

返校之夜:一年的對話

2018年9月7日

今晚,我們將舉辦第三場也是最後一場「返校夜」,在2018-19學年伊始,邀請家長們「回到學校」。返校季為期三週,弘立校園接待近2,000位家長。舉辦這些年度活動,旨在信息共享及為全年奠定基調。

對於老師,尤其是新來弘立的老師而言,「返校夜」總會夾帶著期盼的複雜情愫:一方面激動興奮,即將見到所教孩子的父母;另一方面忐忑不安,渴望能在家長眼中樹立積極良好的形象。這樣的活動,不僅有助建立實際的家校聯繫紐帶,更提供統一各方對未來數週及數月目標的機會,校方倍加重視。

每一個「返校夜」創造出絕佳的對稱性。老師們分享對課程結構、課程內容及家庭作業要求的看法;家長們則想知道學校教什麼,學校對在家完成的任務有何要求,以及孩子們本年度評估的方式如何。最重要的是,我們取得共識,共同開啟新學年。從這個意義上講,每個「返校夜」恰是成功「啟動」新學年的重要組成部分。

「返校夜」源於滿滿的善意,尋求並鼓勵家長老師之間定期、開放甚至不時推心置腹的交流,使我們在新學年旅程開始之際,明確目標,清晰了解2019年6月我們將會取得的成果。我們無法預測的是,孩子一路上將如何走過:他們可能遇到意外挑戰,可能會有複雜的社會互動波及學業,可能校外活動對情緒和態度帶來影響。

兒童教育管理需要警覺,關注,理解以及大量的關愛和體恤。我們渴望為每個家庭提供所有這些原素。與此同時,我們呼籲每個家庭都做出善意的回應。「返校夜」絕非新學年伊始一場簡單的儀式,而是一個起點,是學校教育者與家庭教育者之間在學習和兒童主題方面長達一年對話的開始。請支持我們,參與到這個豐富有趣,有時甚至具有挑戰意味的對話中來。我們的孩子,正依靠我們呢!

查永茂博士
總校長

快捷選單

Back to School: A Year-long Conversation

Back to School: A Year-long Conversation

September 7, 2018

Tonight, we host the last of three evening events in which we invite parents to come 'back to school' at the start of the 2018-19 academic year. Over the three week 'season' for Back to School, we will have hosted nearly 2,000 parents on campus. These annual events are primarily aimed at information sharing and tone-setting for the year.

For our teachers, particularly those who are new to ISF, Back to School Night always creates anticipation and some mixed emotions: they are excited at the prospect of meeting the parents of the children they are now teaching; at the same time, they are anxious to create a good, positive impression. We value these events as they provide us with a very practical way of establishing contact between home and school; they also offer the opportunity to align expectations for the weeks and months to follow.

Each Back to School Night offers remarkable symmetry. Teachers share perspectives on curriculum structure, course content, and homework expectations. Parents want to know what is to be taught, school expectations about tasks to be completed at home, and the ways in which their children will be assessed over the year. Essentially, we start the year together on the same page. In this sense, each Back to School Night is an important part of a successful 'launch' of each school year.

The Back to School Night also seeks, with the best of intentions, to encourage regular, open, and at times frank communication between parents and teachers. We start the journey with a fairly clear idea of where we want to end up in June 2019. What we cannot predict with clarity is how our children will fare along the way: the unexpected challenges they may encounter, the complex social interactions that may impact on their studies, the events beyond school that may influence mood and manner.

The management of a child's education requires vigilance, attention, understanding, and a great deal of care and compassion. We aspire to offer all of these things to each family. At the same time, we ask for this to be reciprocated by each family. Back to School Night is not a single event to mark the start of the academic year. It is the start of a year-long conversation between educators – school-based and home-based – about learning and children. Please support us by participating in this rich, interesting, and at times perhaps challenging conversation: our children are depending on us.

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard
Head of School

Quick Menu