道別 2019 年畢業班

道別 2019 年畢業班

2019年4月12日

每年這個時候,畢業班會慶幸最後幾堂按部就班的課都已上完。本週末是個全新開始,所有12年級學生摩拳擦掌,為5月IB文憑試緊鑼密鼓做準備。

最後一週被稱為「離校週」。自2012年第一個畢業班以來,已經七年,一些「古怪」傳統日積月累而成形。我們亦為所有12年級學生舉辦慶祝活動,包括週一在學校與總校長共進正式的早餐。4月10日星期三,我們舉行了「離校典禮」,這是12年級學生們最後一次校園集會。集會上,我與畢業班同學們分享了自他們2007年首次參與弘立課堂以來的重要里程碑事件。下一次畢業班同學共處的正式活動,將是5月24日的畢業典禮,屆時,他們將加入弘立校友的行列。

 

每年離校典禮上,我都試著提供一些觀點,描述這届畢業生在弘立學習的這段時間內世界所發生的變化。對於2019年畢業班而言,我們只需看一眼發布於2007年7月的蘋果 iPhone 1手機,正是這批學生正式開始弘立上課的日子!過去12年世界天翻地覆!

同時,我也想強調,2019年,弘立越過了一個重要的歷史性統計指標。這是我們第一次,70%畢業生在弘立開始他們的小學旅程。這也是我們從一年級開始就讀至畢業的最後一届畢業生。明年開始,所有的畢業班都是從弘立小一預備班開始他們的弘立之旅的。

最後,我需要稍微解釋一下弘立離校週的傳統。12年級課表的最後一天,畢業班老師們(和總校長!)習慣穿校服。必須指出,每年這個特別的日子,某些老師的校服,總是難以精準達標!這項傳統平添幾許非正式趣味元素,但與此同時,對於12年級師生而言,這實際上是一場令人肅然起敬的體驗:又一年悄然而去,又一代弘立學生離開他們的教育「家園」,趕赴或近在咫尺或跨越半個地球的高等學府求學之旅。但是,通過校服著裝,我們將象徵主義元素加入場景:無論弘立畢業生,還是弘立老師,無一例外,全都是終身學習者!

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單

Farewell to the Class of 2019

Farewell to the Class of 2019

 

At this time each year, we celebrate the final, scheduled classes in the timetable for our graduating class. At the end of this week, all Grade 12 students will commence a period of intensive preparation for their IB Diploma examinations in May.

This final week is known as ‘Leavers’ Week’. It has accumulated some ‘quirky’ traditions over the past seven years since our first graduating class in 2012. We hosted some celebratory events for all Grade 12 students, including a formal Head of School Breakfast at school on Monday morning. On Wednesday, April 10, we held the Leavers’ Assembly, which marked the final school assembly for Grade 12. At the assembly, I shared some milestones from the year that members of the graduating class first attended classes at ISF in 2007. The next time we bring them together in a formal sense, will be to attend their graduation ceremony on 24 May, when they enter the ranks of ISF alumni.

 

 

Each year at the Leavers’ Assembly, I try to offer some perspective on the ways in which the world has changed since these students began their journey at ISF. For the Class of 2019, we only need to look as far as the Apple iPhone 1, which was released in July 2007, just as these students began their formal classes! How the world has changed over the past 12 years!

I should also note that 2019 is the year in which ISF crossed an important historical and statistical threshold. For the first time, the majority of students in our graduating class – 70% – commenced their primary school journey at ISF. This is also the last year that we will graduate a class that commenced in Grade 1. From next year, all graduating classes will have commenced their ISF journey in Foundation Year. 

Finally, one of our Leavers’ Week customs needs a little explanation. On the final day of timetabled classes for Grade 12, it has been our custom for the teachers of the graduating class (and the Head of School!) to wear school uniform. It must be noted that some of the teachers struggle to meet the precise dress standards required of students on this particular day each year! While this practice adds an element of informality and fun, it is in fact quite a sobering experience for our Grade 12 students and their teachers. It marks the passing of another year, with another generation of ISF learners leaving their educational ‘home’ to continue their respective journeys in other institutions – some close-by, others half a world away. By dressing as students, however, we add an element of symbolism to the occasion: our leavers and teachers alike are all learners – for life, ideally.

Quick Menu