在挑戰時刻感恩:告別2019

在挑戰時刻感恩:告別2019

2019年12月20日

在我們準備告別2019之際,我們可以回顧這充滿挑戰、驚奇、歡喜和考驗的一年。

很顯然,2019年以深刻的方式考驗了我們每一個人。除了學校在社會動盪時期維護一個安全、充滿關愛、目標明確、學術嚴謹的教學環境,弘立社群的每個成員無疑都對過去幾個月發生的事件有所觸動與反思。這樣的考驗有助於凸顯我們的優勢,或許能及時提醒一些需要改善的方面。我們如何應對懷疑與焦慮?我們是否顯示了耐心和堅持?我們的各種抉擇是否明智?今年結束時,我們都對自己的價值、承諾和品格有了更清晰的了解。這絕不是壞事。

有人告訴我,世上最快樂的人是那些懂得感恩的人。所以,我們想要用自己的方式來感謝那些啟發、鼓勵、維繫我們生命的許多事,不管是在弘立發生的,或是更廣的區域。我對所有的同事、家長和學生社群都有誠摯的謝意,感謝他們熱情堅定的在弘立學習的決心。我也感謝學生們在運用他們的求知慾和創造性學習的同時,展現出的驚人的決心和勇氣。引用偉大的教育思想家,庫爾特.哈恩所言,「我們每個人都有超出自己想像的潛能。」我們會很感激獲得一些尚未開發或激發潛能的機會,這種潛能只有在需要的時候才開始覺醒。

今年學校為國際學校委員會/美國西部院校協會/國際文憑組織的重新認證和評估作準備和提交報告。評估過程已經結束。這些機構將於兩週後發布正式報告,通知評估的結果、需要關注和改善的地方,這些評語將幫助我們策劃新一年的工作。

我誠摯祝願大家度過一個平靜、休養生息的聖誕節。我期盼在新年與大家攜手創建一個更加美好和平的世界!至少在我們生活的範圍內。

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單

Giving Thanks in a Time of Challenge: Farewell to 2019

Giving Thanks in a Time of Challenge: Farewell to 2019

December 20, 2019

As we prepare to bid farewell to 2019, we can reflect on a year that challenged, surprised, delighted, and tested us. 

It is perhaps stating the obvious to say that 2019 has tested each of us in a deeply personal way. Setting aside the institutional challenges of maintaining a safe, caring, purposeful, and academically rigorous school in a time of social unrest, each member of the ISF community has no doubt experienced events to which they have reacted, responded, and reflected in the past few months. Such testing times serve to highlight our strengths and perhaps provide timely reminders of those areas in need of development. How have we responded to doubt and anxiety? Have we shown patience and perseverance? Have we been wise in all of our choices? We finish the year with perhaps a clearer picture of our own values, commitments, and character. This is not a bad thing at all. 

The happiest people on earth, I am told, are also thankful people. It is therefore fitting that we pause to give thanks in our own way for the many things that inspire, encourage, or sustain us in our lives, whether at ISF, or beyond. I know I feel a great sense of gratitude to all of my colleagues and our parent and student community for their generosity of spirit and adamant commitment to learning at ISF. I am also thankful for the amazing commitment and courage shown daily by our students as they engage their curiosity and creativity to learn. To paraphrase the great educational thinker, Kurt Hahn, there is much more in each of us than we think; we can be thankful for the opportunity to gain some sense of the untapped or lightly tapped potential that only begins to awaken at a time of need. 

The year has been one institutional testing through the preparations and reports submitted as a part of the CIS/WASC/IB re-accreditation and evaluation process. While the formal processes have concluded, pending formal notification from these authorities concerning the outcome of the evaluation, the areas in need of more attention and development will help us chart a course in the new year, just two short weeks away. 

Please accept my best wishes for a Christmas season of peace and restoration. I too look forward to a new year in which we work towards a better and more peaceful world, at least in our part of it! 

 

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

Quick Menu