終身學習:成年人「學」字牌的風險與回報

終身學習:成年人「學」字牌的風險與回報

2018年11月23日

全球學校和教育工作者一直稱頌終身學習的美德,許多年以來,甚至可以說上千年如一日。在家長會上,我也多次不厭其煩地親自談及這個理想。許多人內心掙扎的是這個世界對於學生的定義不夠清晰,因為一旦如此,他們便會遭遇實際的困難。有些人認為學生意味着尚未完全發展,仍在學習,與還沒有完全準備好的狀態劃上等號  ――  但是為什麼如此?舉個例子,在公路上,「學」字的車牌是在向其他司機發出信號,表明該司機仍在學習掌握駕駛車輛的基本技能,經驗豐富的老司機會主動給「學」字牌司機留一個更寬更安全的空間。在香港,出於公共安全考慮,一些陡坡路段不向持「學」字牌駕駛員開放。

畢業之後,我們進入成人競爭的世界,並越來越多地以精心構建的技術專長和豐富的經驗為基礎,投射出專業權威的特質。我們丟掉了「學」字牌,成為某個領域的專家。如果專家又自稱學生,被世人視為自相矛盾。為什麼精通人類鑽研的某個領域的人,會自貶身段,主動降為學生呢?即使有人願意這樣做,風險因素似乎不容忽視。如果我們承認自己無知,是否丟臉?如果我們恢復到學生身份,其他人會怎麼想?

大量的專業文獻積極倡導持續性學習,這不僅是一種美德,而是擁有真正的專業知識的必要條件。除了職業註冊機構的強制要求,以及運用專業技能時,專家們亦須保持學習的習慣,即使他們已經在工作中運用自己的專業知識。在醫學領域,科學技術日新月異,每年呈指數級增長。因此,醫生必須與最新的治療發展保持同步。我相信沒人願意讓墨守70年代醫術成規的醫生來為其治療。對於律師而言,新的法律案例時刻改寫着訴訟的格局,我們當然希望由具有最新法律知識的法律專家來做代理。

在教育領域,教師也必須擁有持續專業發展和持續學習的意願。在我看來,最好的老師總是熱情的學習者,探究他們不了解的東西,在課堂上的嘗試新思想和新的教學方法。他們與其他教師交流思想,互相觀課,並尋找應對學習挑戰的新方法。有些人孜孜以學,通過研究考取更高學位。

從客觀意義上來講,專業上的努力進取配上永久的「學」字牌,將被視為眾望所歸,大德之士。

然而,走出自己專業領域,投身到未知領域,是一項完全不同的挑戰。同樣地,我們走出舒適而熟知的「家」領地,走入由陌生術語和神秘實踐組成的外部世界。邁向未知,這一步何等英勇,以至於許多人承受不起。然而,真正的終身學習,恰在呼喚着我們,甚至逼迫着我們,躍向未知。

最近幾週,一小群擁有各自專長的熱心家長(下圖),邁出非凡一步,進入我校分子生物學實驗室,成為實驗室研究員學徒。當他們帶着茫然和些許擔心,第一次來到實驗室上課時,實驗室科學家梁志清教授和Simon Griffin博士寬慰他們,他們已經掌握了許多必要的知識,比他們可能意識到的更多。他們在實驗室的學習,包括對科學研究的一些基本原則和實踐的介紹,並以此為基礎,學習一些實驗技術。

這些勇敢的學習者是我們所有人的好榜樣,他們體現着終身學習的精神。我們支持孩子們和其他人終身學習的承諾,不是我們勇敢的話語,而是我們自己擁有勇氣和意志,身體力行穿上與學生們同樣的白大褂,並自豪地展示我們的「學」字牌。

學習!學習!再學習!

分子生物學家長短期課程

「分子生物學家長短期課程」有6課,每節2小時的實驗室課,旨在向家長們介紹書院分子生物學實驗室,現代生物學研究的一些思想和技術,以及學生正在做的一些事情(例如在分子生物技術和科技及數理科工的課外活動)。

該項書院計劃的主要部分,是培養細菌的基因轉化。這意味着將一段新的DNA代碼引入細菌,使其擁有新的功能―― 比如,製造出通常僅在水母中發現的熒光蛋白。在此過程中,家長們還學習一系列技術,如蛋白質提煉、淨化和分析,以及一些標準化、多用途的實驗方案。

家長們往往擔心,自己過去沒有學習多少科學知識,或者已長時間沒有參與學習。事實上,他們很快發現他們知道的比他們意識到的更多,解開這些知識的關鍵是建立鏈接並提出問題。

一組家長已完成課程,目前有三組正在上課,另外三組將於一月開始。

對於有興趣參加分子生物學短期課程或希望了解更多內容的家長,請點擊以下鏈接並按要求提供所需信息即可  https://goo.gl/forms/b6gNvBR6Vg7fMXXJ3

快捷選單

Lifelong Learning: Risks and Rewards for the L-plate Adult

Lifelong Learning: Risks and Rewards for the L-plate Adult

November 23, 2018

Schools and educators around the world have been extolling the virtues of lifelong learning for many years, if not millennia. I have spoken of this ideal myself at many parent briefings. The practical difficulty that many struggle with is that when seen by the world as a student, the status of learner is clear to all. Learners are perhaps seen by some as incomplete, works in progress, not quite ready – but for what? On the road, for example, the sight of an ‘L-plate’ on a car signals to other drivers that the driver is still acquiring basic skills to pilot the vehicle; experienced drivers tend to give L-platers a wide berth for safety. In Hong Kong, certain roads with steep gradients are closed to learner drivers on grounds of public safety.

After graduation, we enter the world of adult competency and increasingly project an aura of professional authority, backed by carefully constructed technical expertise and rich experience.  We discard our professional L-plates to become experts. The notion of an expert who is also a learner is seen by some as contradictory. Why would someone with mastery in a field of human endeavor voluntarily lower their status to that of a learner? And even if someone were willing to do this, the risks seem to be significant. Won’t we lose face if we admit to ignorance? What will others think of us if we revert to the status of student?

There is a rich body of professional literature that actively promotes this notion of perpetual learning as more than a virtue: it is seen as a sine qua non of true professional expertise. Experts are urged, if not compelled by registration boards, to retain the practice of learning, even as they exercise their professional skill. In the field of medicine, scientific knowledge is increasing exponentially, and on an annual basis, so doctors must keep to date with the latest advances in treatment. I am sure that none of us would like to be treated by a doctor practicing 1970s medicine. For lawyers, new legal precedents rewrite the landscape for litigation on a regular basis; we all want to be represented by legal experts with current knowledge of the law.

In the field of education, teachers are also required to demonstrate a commitment to professional development and learning. In my view, the best teachers are always avid learners, researching things they do not understand, exploring new ideas and techniques for the classroom. They exchange ideas with other teachers, observe lessons taught by other teachers, and look for novel approaches to dealing with learning challenges. Some undertake higher degrees by research in pursuit of learning.

In a very real sense, attaching a permanent L-plate to one’s professional endeavors should be viewed as highly virtuous, if not expected.

Stepping outside of one’s zone of professional competence into the unknown, however, is a completely different challenge. This is where we leave the comfort of our ‘home’ territory, where we know quite a bit, to an alien landscape of unfamiliar terminology and mysterious practices. Taking the step into the unknown is an act of courage that for many is asking too much. And yet, true lifelong learning asks, if not demands, us to take the leap into the unknown.

In recent weeks, a small band of enthusiastic parents (pictured below), each with their own domains of professional expertise, took the extraordinary step to enter our molecular biology laboratory to become apprentice researchers. As they arrived for their first session in the laboratory, full of uncertainty and perhaps some misgivings at taking such a risk, they were reassured by the laboratory scientists, Professor Fred Leung and Dr. Simon Griffin, that they already knew quite a lot, much more than they probably realized. Their learning in the laboratory included an introduction to some basic principles and practices of scientific research, moving on to an introduction to some experimental techniques.

These brave learners are a wonderful example to all of us. They exemplify the spirit of lifelong learning. We can espouse a commitment to lifelong learning to our children and others, but the proof of this is found not in our brave words, but in our willingness to have the courage to enter an unfamiliar environment, don a student’s white coat, and proudly display our L-plates as learners.

Learning! Learning! Learning!

Short Course in Molecular Biology for Parents

The Short Course in Molecular Biology for Parents is a program that consists of six 2-hour laboratory sessions designed to introduce parents to the Shuyuan Molecular Biology Laboratory; to some of the thinking and techniques of modern biological research; and, to some of the things that the students are doing (e.g. in the Molecular Biotechnology and STEM CCAs).

A key part of the program involves carrying out the genetic transformation of a bacterium.  This means introducing a new piece of DNA code into a bacterium in order to make it do something new – i.e. to make a fluorescent protein normally found in jellyfish. Along the way, parents also learn a range of techniques, such as protein extraction, purification and analysis, as well as some standard but versatile laboratory protocols.

Parents are often apprehensive about not having studied much science before or not having studied for a long time. In fact, they soon discover that they know more than they realise and that the key to unlocking that knowledge is to make connections and to ask questions.

One cohort of parents has already completed the course, three groups are currently taking the course and three more groups are set to begin in January.

For parents who are interested in taking the Short Course in Molecular Biology or in finding out more, please access the following link and supply the required details https://goo.gl/forms/b6gNvBR6Vg7fMXXJ3

Quick Menu