「禮 (li)」的生命力

「禮 (li)」的生命力

2018年9月21日

歡迎來到豬年!

每年陽曆1月21日至2月20日之間,天上一輪新月捧出,拉開了春節歡慶和農曆新年的序幕。歡慶持續到元月第15天才正式結束。2019年2月19日是農曆正月十五,中國傳統的元宵節。春節歡慶的各項活動,是華人世界重要的社會及文化「禮儀」的集大成。

有人質疑,都21世紀了,這些古老的文化儀式和我們的生活還有什麼關聯性呢?春節前,高博士的春節致辭,提醒了我們禮 (li) 在弘立社群中的核心地位。英文翻譯中,禮字的涵義多種多樣,包括所有文明社會中都相通的禮貌、禮節、禮儀和儀式。事實上,禮是規範人際互動的一個可靠準繩。它為充滿活力而持久的社會提供了框架。我們身處「禮」中,它搭建出貫穿我們一生的各種文化習俗:出生、畢業、婚姻,甚至死亡,都通過特定的社會儀式得到認可。此類儀式激發我們去專注生活中最重要,並且需要我們全力以赴的事情。

個人層面上來講,禮為個體提供着某種程度的確定性,讓我們得以了解周圍人的行為和方式。它幫助我們維繫與家人對關係,幫助我們與夥伴人實現共同目標。同時,禮的功能猶如一張無形的社會安全之網,在某種程度上保護着我們免受他人隨意的冒犯。從各方面來說,禮都是人類經驗之魂,是織就每一個人類社區的隱形纖維。

高博士在致辭中對我們諄諄教導,其中最重要的一點,就是他指出了一個事實:禮無法從外部強加。雖然我們每個人都要通過與他人的互動將體加以提現,但要想使其在任何社群中真正有效並可操作,禮必須來自每個公民的內心。形式上最純粹的禮,不是那些為了獲得他人好評而展示炫耀的東西。真正有教養的個體,會將禮視為生命中鮮活的驅動力,塑造着思想、態度和行動,即使沒有旁人在場,依然自覺遵守。它是我們貼身的伴侶,我們旅途的嚮導,也是我們內在的良知。

禮是有生命力的,它由內而外指引我們,又由外而內在人類經驗的維度上給我們有力的支撐。在沒有禮的世界裏,我們將無根漂泊,成為隨機變遷的受害者。這樣看來,你還會質疑二十一世紀「禮」的相關性嗎?

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單

Living Li

Living Li

 

Welcome to the Year of the Pig!

 

Each year, the appearance of the new moon between 21st January and 20th February marks the celebration of Spring Festival and the arrival of the new lunar year. On the 15th day of the new lunar year, which in 2019 fell on the 19th February, we celebrate the Lantern Festival, a traditional event that concludes the formal season of celebrations heralding the commencement of each lunar year. These events are all important social or cultural ‘rites’ in the Chinese world.

 

Some may question the relevance of such cultural rites in the 21st century. Dr. Gao, in his message to the ISF community before Spring Festival, reminded us of the centrality of 禮 (li), which in English we translate variously as courtesy, manners, etiquette, and rituals, in any civilized society. In fact, we rely on li to regulate human interactions at all levels. It provides a remarkably robust and enduring social framework in which we have built cultural practices that mark our journey through life: birthdays, graduations, marriages, even death, are all recognized through specific social rituals that serve to draw attention to those things in life that are important, those things that demand our full attention.

 

At a person level, li provides us with a degree of certainty about the ways in which those around us may behave in social situations. It helps us sustain relationships with family members, it helps us make new connections with strangers, and it helps us form partnerships with others to pursue common goals. Li also acts as a kind of invisible social safety net that to a degree protects us from random offences from others. In every sense, li is central to the human experience: it is the invisible fabric of each human community.

 

Perhaps most importantly, Dr. Gao’s exhortation focused at one point on the fact that li cannot be imposed from without. While each of us sees li in operation largely through the behaviours of others, for it to be truly effective and operative in any community, li must be something that is generated by each citizen from within. In its purest form, li is not something we display for others to see in order to obtain their good opinion of us. The truly cultivated individual sees li as a living and driving force in their lives, shaping thoughts, attitudes, and actions. It is operative when there is no one else present to observe it; it is our constant companion, our guide, our conscience.

 

Living li guides us from within and supports us from without in every dimension of the human experience. A world without li would leave us rootless and adrift, victims of random vicissitudes. Can li’s relevance in the 21st century really be questioned? 

Quick Menu