我的車:我的權利與責任

我的車:我的權利與責任

2018年9月21日

許多家長都知道,每天清晨上課前,我都會花些時間站在學校正門口,迎接學生的到來。我打心底裏認為,這時間花得值。我不僅回應著學生們微笑的臉龐,我也利用這段時間不時進行非正式卻相當重要的家校互動。不少家長會分享他們的擔憂、想法,提出建議和問題。

清晨站崗亦令我有機會關注學校周邊交通。就我本人十多年「站崗」經驗而言,成年人在場的話,對駕駛者行為會有少許規範作用,令其趨向謹慎。如果說我在鋼綫灣道站崗,對保障學生安全起了點兒作用,可以說,在那天我「有所作為」了吧。

本週,一位憤怒的市民告訴我,弘立學生綠燈穿越數碼港道時,遭遇野蠻駕駛,她奮不顧身沖到車輛面前以身擋車,保護孩子們。該市民義正嚴辭。我也對她所說的駕駛行徑感到震驚。我敦促她向警方報案,希望能依據香港法律抓獲並處罰司機。

野蠻駕駛屬於極端情況,不過,我確實定期觀察過駕駛者行為,並傾向於相信,許多司機自私自利——往返學校時隨時隨地任意停車,以任意方式任意速度駕駛——很少考慮其行為可能已影響他人。

質問油然而生:權利與責任需要平衡,這份共識怎麼不見了?

舉個簡單的例子,照片上的這輛車,兩週前停在鋼綫灣道的行人步道上,而這條步行道,是我校所有中學生每日必經之路——超過650名學生啊!整整一天,司機離車,無人看管,迫使我校學生經車道繞路而行。我認為,這恰恰是個權責問題:為什麼這個司機有讓600多個孩子面臨風險的權利?與之平衡的考慮和關心他人的「責任」在哪裏?

每天,公眾對大批車輛接送學生所形成的交通堵塞高度關注。學校周邊居住或工作的人士正在呼籲政府干預,限制私家車進出學校並懲罰不良駕駛行為。我完全贊同後者。我承認市民根據香港法律在公共道路上駕駛註冊車輛的權利,但我亦深感憂慮,某些人在追求權利方面明顯缺乏責任。

我也曾提及過,我校現時與香港政府達成的服務協議,包含一項條款,要求學校協助管理鄰近地區的交通。而弘立社群守則是我們共同的準則,社群所有成員都同意遵從,以之為約束,依據謹慎正直、尊重他人尊重學校的原則行事。

我們處在公眾的監督之下,這有助於我們更好地管理校園及周邊環境,包括私家車輛的使用。我們有責任共同努力改善現狀,否則我們將面臨足以限制權利及限制車輛使用的外部干預。弘立社群的所有成年人都有負責任行事的義務。

最後,也許最重要的是,從教育的角度來看,我們經常受到孩子們的監督。他們從父母和老師那裏學習美德——尊重、職責,責任和關懷。遺憾的是,我們的孩子未必從我們每天開車和停車的方式中看到此類道德美德的體現。他們必會發問:為什麼我們不能做得更好?

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單

My Car: My Rights and Responsibilities

My Car: My Rights and Responsibilities

September 21, 2018

As many parents know, I often spend some time before the start of the school day standing at the front gate to welcome our students to school. It is time well spent, I believe. As I greet the smiling faces of our students, I can, at the same time, have a series of sometimes informal, but no less important interactions with parents, some of whom may share concerns, ideas, or raise questions.

My morning vigil is also an opportunity to keep an eye on traffic in our immediate vicinity. My experience over a decade of ‘standing post’ would seem to indicate that the presence of adult supervisors has a moderating effect on driver behavior. If I can keep our students safe through standing in Kong Sin Wan Road, I can claim to have ‘made a difference’ on that particular day.

I was greeted this week by an angry member of the public who had stepped in front of an aggressively driven vehicle to protect some of our children while crossing Cyberport Road on a green light. The person making the report to me was justified in her anger. I was also appalled at the reported behavior of the driver. I urged her to make a report to the police in the hope that the driver could be found and dealt with according to the laws of Hong Kong.

While this incident is at the extreme end of the spectrum, I do observe driver behavior regularly that leads me to believe that many drivers are very keen to assert their rights – to park whenever and wherever they want and to drive in any manner and at any speed when travelling to and from school – without giving much thought to the impact these actions have on others.

This begs the question: where is the recognition that our rights are balanced by responsibilities?

To offer a simple example, the pictured vehicle, photographed two weeks ago, is parked on the footpath on Kong Sin Wan Road used by all of our secondary school students – more than 650. On this day, the driver had left the vehicle unattended, forcing our students to walk on the road to get around the obstacle. For me, this raises the question: why does this driver have the right to put over 600 children at risk? Where is the balanced ‘responsibility’ to exercise care and concern for others?

Public interest in the large volume of vehicular traffic generated by our school each school day is very high. Members of the public who reside or work in the vicinity of our school are calling for government intervention to limit private car access to the school and punish poor driver behavior. I thoroughly concur with the latter. While I recognize the rights of citizens to drive registered vehicles on public roads in accordance with Hong Kong law, I am also concerned about the apparent lack of responsibility exercised by some in the pursuit of their rights.

As I have written in the past, our current service agreement with the Hong Kong Government contains a provision that requires the school to assist in the management of traffic in our neighborhood. We also have a shared Community Code under which all members of the ISF family have agreed to act in accordance with the Code, and which binds us all to act with care, integrity, and respect for others and our school.

We are under scrutiny by the wider public to do a better job at managing our own environment, including the use of private vehicles. We have a responsibility to work together to improve the situation or face intervention that will curtail rights and impose restrictions on vehicle use. All adult members of the ISF community have an obligation to act responsibly.

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, from an educational perspective, we are constantly subject to the scrutiny of our children. They hear about moral virtue – respect, duty, responsibility, and care – from their parents and teachers. Sadly, it is questionable whether our children are able to see those same moral virtues reflected in the ways in which we drive and park our cars each day. They would ask of us: why can’t we do better?

Quick Menu