新挑戰,新學習

新挑戰,新學習

2020年2月14日

歡迎來到鼠年!

2020伊始,挑戰撲面而來,原因恐怕出乎意料。經歷了2019下半年曠日持久的社會動蕩後,我們原本期待著,能獲得一段社區穩定與相對和平的時期,這一渴望無可厚非。然而,我們發現,在這一方天地裏,我們如今卻正為著更基本的生存問題而掙扎。

老話常說:失去健康,我們一無所有。新型或「新」冠狀病毒(COVID-19)這種顯然起源於湖北省的季節性疾病,為這一說法的真實性作了背書。除了保護自己免受疾病侵害,採取正常防控措施之外,突然之間,我們發現,日常程序完全被打亂:學校關閉,許多企業「在家辦公」,旅行自由受到限制,甚至日常用品的購買,比如面紙和肥皂,竟然成為需要仔細計劃方能完成的任務。許多人所深為關切的,並不一定是由病毒引起的任何對個人健康的直接威脅,而更多是隨著情況變化和世界各國政府為自身社區利益採取新措施而出現每一天的不確定性。我們一直處於不斷適應變化的狀態中。

作為一名教育工作者,目前有很多事情值得我們注意和反思。我們付出了極大的努力,將課程的教授方式從面對面溝通的模式,轉變為通過電子方式的同步(實時、在線交流)和不同步(離線,延遲任務和學習)模式。這兩種模式都提供了有效而強大的學習機會:前者展示了21世紀「隨時」和「隨地」學習的能量;後者使學生有更多時間吸收、思考、消化和反思課程內容和任務要求。學校關閉帶來的限制,實際上創造了條件,使我們的教師能夠探索如何傳授知識、如何設定學習任務以及如何評估學生學習狀況的新方法。他們對新工具逐漸精通,通常親自授課的課程,現已轉換為播客或動畫Powerpoint簡報;課堂上的語言互動,被學生與老師之間基於更豐富文本的虛擬互動所取代。師生們正在迅速適應這些新條件。在經歷考驗的時期,我們確實有理由樂觀。各項安排到位,從而確保國際文憑考試等外部強制性評估,能夠以及時且有支援的方式進行。

我們現在正在盤算本學期餘下的時間,探尋各種方法,學校一旦恢復正常運作後將如何以最大程度來提高學習。有些活動將被推遲或取消,儘管困難重重,但通過調整一些日程和時間表,我們將確保達成今年共同的學習指標。

我深深感謝弘立大家庭所有成員的堅忍、理解和奉獻。我們當然都熱切期盼恢復「正常」上學時間,但是盡請放心,在弘立,學習不會停止,而且,學習正在我們各自的家中和網絡上每一天蓬勃開展。

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單

New Challenges, New Learnings

New Challenges, New Learnings

February 14, 2020

Welcome to the Year of the Rat!

The start to 2020 has been challenging for perhaps unexpected reasons. Following on from a protracted period of social unrest in the second half of 2019, we could be forgiven for hoping for a period of stability and relative peace in the community. However, we now find ourselves wrestling with even more fundamental questions about life in our part of the world.

It is often stated that we have nothing without our health. The current concerns over a novel or ‘new’ coronavirus (COVID-19), a seasonal illness that apparently originated in Hubei Province, underscore the truth in that statement. Beyond the normal precautions to protect ourselves from illness, suddenly, we find our daily routines totally disrupted: schools are closed, many businesses are ‘working from home’, travel freedoms are being curtailed, and even the purchase of daily commodities, such as tissue paper and soap, have become tasks that require careful planning. Many are deeply concerned, not necessarily about any imminent threat to personal health arising from the virus, but more from the uncertainties that are emerging each day as circumstances change and governments around the world adopt new measures in the interests of their own communities. We are in a constant state of adaptation to evolving circumstances.

Writing as an educator, there is much happening at present that is worthy of note and reflection. We have made considerable effort to move the delivery of curriculum from a model requiring face-to-face contact to one that can be conducted via electronic means, in both synchronous (real time, online communication) and asynchronous (offline, delayed tasking and learning) modes. Both modes offer opportunity for valid, powerful learning; the former demonstrates the power of ‘anytime’ and ‘anywhere’ learning possibilities in the 21st century; the latter gives students more time to absorb, think, digest, and reflect on lesson content and task requirements. The constraints imposed by the closure of schools have actually created conditions that have allowed our teachers to explore new ways of delivering content, setting study tasks, and assessing student learning. New tools have been mastered; lessons normally delivered in person have now been converted to podcasts or animated Powerpoint presentations; and verbal interaction in the classroom has been replaced by more rich text-based virtual interaction between learners and teachers. Teachers and learners are adapting rapidly to these new conditions. There is indeed cause for optimism in a time of trial. Arrangements are also being put in place to ensure that mandatory external assessments, such as the IB Diploma, are undertaken in a timely and supportive way.

We are now in the process of reviewing the remainder of the academic year to explore ways in which we might maximize learning once normal school operations resume. Some activities will be postponed or canceled; some schedules and timetables will be adjusted to ensure that our shared expectations for learning this year are met, despite challenging circumstances.

I am deeply appreciative of the ongoing patience, understanding, and commitment of all members of our ISF family. While we all keenly anticipate the resumption of ‘normal’ school days, please rest assured that learning has not stopped at ISF:  indeed it is flourishing in our homes and networks each day.

 

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

 

Quick Menu