可持續發展計劃

Sus

可持續發展計劃

在氣候變遷對人類活動的影響這個課題上,科學界有愈來愈趨於一致的共識。教育學生接納以維持地球資源為上的「持續」生活方式,以及擁有良好的節約態度變得愈來愈重要。在這一環境下,弘立書院率先在學校社群內開展了好幾種資源可持續發展的方案,包括能源管理與另類能源探究等,藉此鼓勵學生在資源節約上扮演更積極的角色。

弘立書院每年產生的廚餘超過27公噸。為了善用廚餘,「書院」的其中一個重點項目就是全校參與的廚餘堆肥系統。項目亦能支援嚴謹的微生物科學課程和溫室氣體的研究和評估。

學校會在2016-17學年在全校現有的課室和新落成的大樓安裝能源管理系統。在跨學科的課程中,學生會積極地減低能源消耗、了解自己消費習慣所帶來的影響,並且參與不同的相關服務項目。

學校在本學年內會推出兩項有關可持續發展的項目,包括安裝一個太陽能光伏系統,以及成立一個「再生能源教育中心」(Center for Renewable Energy Education),從而向弘立社群介紹不同的能源選擇。此外,學校亦會在校舍的頂部安裝一個空氣污染監察系統。

「綠衣天使」是一項較為人熟悉的活動。這個由學生領導的團隊,負責在弘立書院內推廣一個環保的學習環境。團隊籌劃提倡減少學校碳足跡、回收和節約能源的活動,例如在JAM舉行時進行全校性的回收、協助小學生將堆肥送到頂層花園,並鼓勵學習社群在校園生活的不同範疇積極尋找其它可持續發展的方案。

快捷選單

Sustainability Projects

Sus

Sustainability Projects

The growing scientific consensus on the climate-altering effects of human activity has increased the necessity to educate students to live sustainably and to be informed conservationists. To this end, the Academy’s Shuyuan is taking the lead in developing and maintaining several sustainability initiatives related to resource management and alternative energy in our school community, thereby encouraging students to take a more active role in conservation.

The ISF Academy produces over 27 metric tons of food waste every year. One of the signature projects of Shuyuan is a school-wide food waste composting system, which not only converts food waste into something productive, but also supports the rigorous microbiology science curriculum and the study and evaluation of greenhouse gases.

In the 2016–17 Academic Year, a school-wide energy management system will be installed in the existing classrooms and throughout the new buildings. As an interdisciplinary curriculum, students will actively participate in the reduction of energy consumption, understand the implications of their consumption habits, and support various service learning requirements.

Two other sustainability projects will also be launched in this academic year. The ISF Academy will install a photovoltaic renewable energy system and set up the Center for Renewable Energy Education (CREE) to introduce different energy options to the whole school community. Additionally, an on-site air pollution monitoring system will be installed on the rooftop of the school building.

One of the more established activities is the “Green Guardians”, a student-led club responsible for promoting an environmentally-friendly learning environment at the Academy. Students plan activities that promote the reduction of the school’s carbon footprint, recycling, conserving energy, initiating the school-wide recycling at the JAM, assisting Primary students in transferring compost to the rooftop gardens, and encouraging the school community to actively look for more sustainable solutions regarding all aspects of school life.

Quick Menu