A Glimpse into the Future: The 2018-2023 Strategic Plan

A Glimpse into the Future: The 2018-2023 Strategic Plan

May 3, 2019

When ISF began preparing for the launch of its first strategic plan in 2010, the Academy had not yet graduated a class of students from its newly authorized IB Diploma Programme, we were still wrestling with the engineering challenges of constructing the foundations of what later became G Block, and the dream of an auditorium and swimming pool was just that: a dream. Student enrolments were just over one third of the current number of students. Similarly, the number of faculty and staff had only just increased to triple figures at that time. We had a strong sense of our vision of education at ISF and the core values that would underpin learning. A commitment that remains just as strong today, nearly a decade later. 

The launch of the 2011-2016 Strategic Plan was an important milestone in the development of ISF. It was the first time that the Foundation, the Academy, its faculty and staff, and ISF families – parents and students – took part in a formal planning exercise to state, with some clarity and purpose, the developmental directions to be taken over the following five years. We set out to achieve a set of measurable outcomes. In the end, the major initiatives and projects were undertaken and largely completed, some well before the target date. The financial security of The ISF Academy, for example, was ensured through the achievement of a small operational surplus some years before the target date. Buildings were commenced and constructed, programs launched, our Pre-School founded. The plan was a highly effective vehicle in setting direction and keeping all of us on task with an endpoint in sight at all times. 

This past week, a new strategic plan has been posted on our website. The 2018-2023 Strategic Plan (https://academy.isf.edu.hk/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/ISF_2018-2023_Strategic_Plan_eng1.pdf) has been a very different planning exercise. For a start, ISF now has a much larger and more complex institutional and operational identity, one that includes the Foundation, the Academy, and the Pre-School. It has also already completed nearly all of the most visible milestones that mark the developmental journey of an institution: facilities have been constructed; international accreditation and program authorisation achieved; enrolment targets set by the Education Bureau have been exceeded; and, of course, ISF students have graduated from the most prestigious and selective colleges and universities in the world – with great distinction. Most pleasingly, ISF alumni are now making their way in the adult world as doctors, lawyers, scientists, artists, producers, designers, to name just a few of the professional fields in which you might find ISF alumni. For planning purposes, we are left with an important question to consider: what remains to be done that is new? 

The new plan is more direct in its prioritization of student wellbeing and learning. The Wellbeing for Learning initiative is the top strategic project in the plan. Shuyuan, the unique, ISF ‘signature’ program, is to develop and mature in the sciences and humanities. The ISF Primary School is in the process of creating its own uniquely bilingual and bicultural curriculum framework – the Eight Virtues + One Curriculum. We have also set objectives for the Foundation in fundraising to support the many learning opportunities offered to families at no cost through Shuyuan. The Pre-School has already announced that it will move to a new, purpose-designed home in Kennedy Town early in 2020. Of course, all of these developments must continue on the firm, steady foundation established in the last strategic plan. Nothing has been removed or deleted: we will continue to fulfil all of the expectations set during the first strategic plan. 

The new plan contains a foreword written by our governors that all members of the ISF community would do well to read and reflect upon as we embark on the next phase of our journey together. The Foreword speaks to our shared past and the ideas that shaped the founding of ISF; it also gives voice to the spirit that will infuse and inspire our shared endeavors for the future. 

In all ways, the new strategic plan is a statement of identity, a syllabus for institutional learning, a call to arms, a detailed road-map, a set of clear benchmarks, a list of aspirations, and a guide for the decisions, both great and small, that will shape the future for all of our students. 

Learning! Learning! Learning!

 

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

Quick Menu

未來的一瞥:2018-2023策略規劃

未來的一瞥:2018-2023策略規劃

2010年,當弘立準備起草第一個策略規劃的時候,還沒有一屆學生從書院這一新獲認證的國際文憑大學預科項目中畢業。當時我們仍在想辦法克服G大樓建造中技術上的困難,而建造劇院和游泳池也僅僅是一個夢想。當時在讀的學生人數,只有現在學生的三分之一。同樣,近來教職員的人數也是當時的三倍。但在當時,我們被強烈的願景和弘立的核心價值觀所促動。我們當時對學習的投入,就像今天一樣強烈,十年如一日。

 

2011-2016策略規劃的啟動是弘立發展史中重要的里程碑。那是基金會、書院、教職員,以及弘立社群所有成員的一次共同參與,第一次帶著明確的方向和目標,正式計劃和發表弘立在接下來五年的發展方向。我們共同設立了一系列可量化的目標。最終,提議和計劃大部份都已實施或完成,有些甚至比計劃提早完成。譬如,弘立書院的資金運作就是提前幾年達到了平衡。教學樓的建造順利完工,課程正式啟動,我們還建立了弘立幼稚園。這份策略規劃十分有效,説明我們確立並一直朝著可實現的終點目標前進。

 

上週,學校網站發佈了新的策略規劃。2018-2023年的策略規劃 (https://academy.isf.edu.hk/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/ISF_2018-2023_Strategic_Plan_chi1.pdf),有著與前期非常不同的內容。比如,現在的弘立是一個更大更複雜的運作群體,包括了基金會、書院和幼稚園。它完成了一個教育機構發展所需要的大部分現實可見的里程碑:校區已完整建設,國際認證和授權已經獲得,教育局設定的招生人數超額完成。當然,弘立學生在以進入世界一流大學的優異成績畢業。最可喜的是,弘立很多畢業生正向成人世界邁進,成為醫生、律師、科學家,藝術家、製作人和設計師,這僅僅只是弘立畢業生中職業選擇的幾個例子。就做出新的規劃而言,我們需要思考一個重要的問題:還有甚麼新的事情需要我們完成?

 

新的規劃將優先考慮學生的學習和福祉。「健康向學」提議是本次策略規劃的頭號重點。「書院」這項弘立的特色「招牌」項目,將繼續在科學和人文學科方面繼續發展和成熟。弘立小學正在創造自己獨特的雙語和雙文化課程框架——「八德一智」課程。 我們也給基金會設立了捐款的目標,以支援「書院」給許多家庭提供的免費的學習機會。幼稚園已經宣佈將在2020年年初,搬遷至更新、專門設計的位於堅尼地城的校區。當然,所有這些必須建立在堅實的、由上一個策略規劃打下的基礎上。我們沒有刪除或削減第一個策略計劃其中的任何內容,我們將繼續實現所有目標。

 

新的規劃包含了由基金董事書寫的前言,需要弘立社群的全體成員在朝著我們下一階段旅程邁進時,仔細閱讀和反思。前言總結了我們共同擁有的過去和塑造的弘立核心思想。它也為那些在未來的道路上,繼續影響和啟發我們的精神發聲。

 

總的來說,新的策略規劃彰顯了是我們的身份,這是制度化學習的大綱,是戰鬥的號召,是詳細的規劃圖,更是一系列清晰的標準和抱負的清單。它是我們做決定的指導思想,這些決定,無論大小,都將改變我們全體同學的未來。

 

學習! 學習! 學習!

快捷選單