VMV

History and Vision, Mission & Values

History
 
The Independent Schools Foundation Academy opened with just 56 students in Grade 1 to 4 in August 2003 to cater to the increasing demand for a high-caliber Putonghua and English education in an inquiry-based environment.
 
In February 2008, the school commenced its Foundation Year program and our first class of Grade 12 students graduated in June 2012.
 
The ISF Vision
 
ISF is a community of learners, independent in thought and action, deeply rooted in Chinese culture, global in understanding and experience, and excellent in all endeavors.
 
 
The ISF Mission
 
The Mission of ISF is to promote education that is: 
  • Independent: Nurturing creativity, critical thinking, and a lifelong love of learning for academic, personal, and social development;
  • Chinese: Educating learners in a uniquely Chinese bilingual and bicultural environment rooted in Chinese values embodied in the Eight Virtues + One; 
  • Global: Building life skills through experiential learning, inspiring learners to act as empowered and resilient global stewards.
 
Core Values: The Eight Virtues + One (八德一智)
 
Grounded in Chinese culture and with a global prospective, The ISF Academy community lives and learns under core values that draw from the school’s Chinese heritage and which are updated to be relevant to today's world. The Eight Virtues + One give members of the school community a strong foundation from which to think, decide, and act. It prepares ISF Academy students to meet all future challenges as active and ethical members of society.
 
Zhi 智 (Wisdom)
 
智 (zhi) means making the right choices in life. Wise choices require more than high academic achievement or exemplary behavior. Wisdom stems from knowledge, experience, judgment and a clear set of values to know what is right. The Eight Virtues guide us in our reflections and behavior to make the right choices in our interactions within and outside the school community. The Eight Virtues culminate in the achievement of 智.
 
Zhong 忠 (Loyalty and Commitment)
 
The character 忠 (zhong) embodies the concept of loyalty and commitment to others and to ourselves. Through 忠, we show our devotion to people around us and to our own being. We are loyal to The ISF Academy, each other, our families and our community. In the community, we strive to be exemplary citizens of Hong Kong and the world. Among our peers, we stand by each other, help each other, and overcome all difficulties together. On a personal level, we are committed to our own values and principles, and we devote ourselves in the pursuit of our ideals, dreams, and passions, always striving for excellence. 
 
Xiao 孝 (Respect and Obligation)
 
孝 (xiao) recognizes that we have an obligation toward our parents in our role as children, we respect our teachers in our role as students, and we respect and cherish our histories and traditions that define who we are. 孝 calls for an attitude of respect for not only those around us, but also for ourselves. Through 孝, we are connected to our past and our traditions; we are the inheritors and guardians of our culture, bridging the gap between the old and the new, building on the strengths of the past to create the future.
 
Ren 仁 (Compassion and Kindness)
 
We show kindness and care to all through 仁 (ren). We care for the natural world by being kind to all creatures and protecting the environment. We are kind and compassionate to those who are less fortunate than we are. We choose forgiveness over revenge, generosity of word and action over meanness. The character for 仁 depicts two people together, showing that 仁 is expressed outwardly, towards others. By treating each other with kindness and empathy, we move beyond difference and indifference, to create common ground and become one with those around you.
 
Ai 愛 (Love and Passion)
 
愛 (ai), or love, is an expression of our passion in life. We give our best in all of our endeavors; nothing is ‘half-hearted’. We show a love of learning and intellectual curiosity that goes beyond the classroom. We immerse ourselves in our hobbies and interests and appreciate the achievements of others. 愛means that we find happiness in our friendships, with our families and our loved ones.  
 
Li禮 (Etiquette and Ceremony)
 
The spirit of 禮 (li) is found in the exemplary, cultured behavior of the true gentleman or lady. In 禮, we find the rules and precepts that constrain our actions, and mold our routines and interactions. 禮 also shapes our school discipline and ceremonies, providing signposts and rules to guide us through life. A person with 禮 treats others with courtesy and respect. We control our impulses and act after careful consideration. Our ceremonies and formal actions express 禮, showing our deep understanding and respect for our core values.
 
Yi義 (Principles and Justice)
 
義 (yi) embodies the quality of being principled, committed to justice, and standing up for our beliefs. We believe in fairness, that right will prevail, and that we are all held accountable for our own actions. We show personal integrity in all that we do; we strive for higher standards that go beyond what is expedient, convenient, or arbitrary. We believe in justice in society and support it with our actions. We are trustworthy and always ready to help those around us.
 
He和 (Harmony and Tolerance)
 
We live in moderation, tolerance, good humor and joy through the virtue of 和 (he). We control our tempers and promote peace. We seek to include and embrace others, replacing confrontation with understanding. We are peacemakers, avoiding words and actions that might cause unnecessary misunderstanding or conflicts. We seek to live with nature. We recognize that to achieve harmony, we need to give generously and receive graciously. We promote international and cross-cultural understanding.  
 
Ping 平 (Balance and Equality)
 
平 (ping) means balance and equality. We know that in all dimensions of life there is a time for work, a time for rest, and a time for play. Through 平 we learn to find the balance between external demands and internal desires. Equality in our community is both the right and the responsibility of each member. We share common aspirations and goals that consider all genders, ethnicities, faiths, beliefs, socio-economic backgrounds, and physical abilities to be equal. 平 is closely tied to the concept of和 (he): when we place these two characters together, they form the word ‘peace’ (和平). The ISF Academy strives to be a place of balance and peace.
 
The IB Learner Profile Descriptors
 
The IB’s most succinct statement of educational values, the IB learner profile, is a set of 10 attributes that are held to be expressions of the ideal learner in an IB context. The IB makes the following statement about the Learner Profile: 
 
The aim of all IB programmes is to develop internationally minded people who, recognizing their common humanity and shared guardianship of the planet, help to create a better and more peaceful world. The IB learner profile represents 10 attributes valued by IB World Schools. We believe these attributes, and others like them, can help individuals and groups become responsible members of local, national and global communities 
 
Updated in 2014, the IB Learner Profile is a set of aspirational principles, rather than measureable benchmarks for learning. The Learner Profile is to be practiced, but not assessed directly. Accordingly, all learners in IB schools, including faculty and administrators, are expected to manifest all elements of the Learner Profile by being balanced, caring, communicators, inquirers, knowledgeable, open-minded, principled, reflective, risk-takers, and thinkers.
 
Attached to each of the 10 attributes are brief descriptors. 
 
Inquirers
 
We nurture our curiosity, developing skills for inquiry and research. We know how to learn independently and with others. We learn with enthusiasm and sustain our love of learning throughout life.
 
Knowledgeable
 
We develop and use conceptual understanding, exploring knowledge across a range of disciplines. We engage with issues and ideas that have local and global significance. 
 
Thinkers
 
We use critical and creative thinking skills to analyse and take responsible action on complex problems. We exercise initiative in making reasoned, ethical decisions. 
 
Communicators
 
We express ourselves confidently and creatively in more than one language and in many ways. We collaborate effectively, listening carefully to the perspectives of other individuals and groups. 
 
Principled
 
We act with integrity and honesty, with a strong sense of fairness and justice, and with respect for the dignity and rights of people everywhere. We take responsibility for our actions and their consequences.
 
Open-minded
 
We critically appreciate our own cultures and personal histories, as well as the values and traditions of others. We seek and evaluate a range of points of view, and we are willing to grow from the experience.
 
Caring
 
We show empathy, compassion and respect. We have a commitment to service, and we act to make a positive difference in the lives of others and in the world around us.
 
Risk-takers
 
We approach uncertainty with forethought and determination; we work independently and cooperatively to explore new ideas and innovative strategies. We are resourceful and resilient in the face of challenges and change.
 
Balanced
 
We understand the importance of balancing different aspects of our lives — intellectual, physical, and emotional — to achieve well-being for ourselves and others. We recognize our interdependence with other people and with the world in which we live. 
 
Reflective
 
We thoughtfully consider the world and our own ideas and experience. We work to understand our strengths and weaknesses in order to support our learning and personal development.
 
The IB Learner Profile and the Eight Virtues + One
 
The ISF Academy, as an IB World School, is committed to nurturing the 10 attributes of the IB Learner Profile. The IB vision is that these attributes are to be used by IB students to create a better and more peaceful world through intercultural understanding and respect. These attributes are, however, largely individual attributes, describing what each student should aspire to achieve and embody. 
 
The ISF Academy’s own core values, the Eight Virtues + One, on the other hand, are strongly focused on building a community with a clear set of values and expectations. Loyalty, respect, compassion, love, harmony and balance are to be the hallmarks of a just society, in which courtesy and etiquette are universally practised, and wisdom is prized above all. These traditional values transcend the individual to reflect what we believe a better world might be like. 
 
These two sets of values, one individual, the other collective, remind us that in educating students to make a contribution towards building a better world, we must consider them as individuals as well as members of a community.
 

 

Quick Menu

VMV

弘立的歷史和願景、使命及價值觀

弘立的歷史
 
弘立書院於2003年8月正式開辦,當時只有56位一至四年級的學生,是一所以普通話及英語沉浸式教育、及培養探索精神為本的學校。
 
2008年2月,弘立書院開辦了小一預備班。首屆十二年級畢業生於2012年6月畢業。
 
我們的願景
 
弘立是一個由學習者組成的社群,思想、行動具有獨立性,根植於中國文化,擁有對世界的理解和體驗,永遠追求卓越。
 
我們的使命
 
弘立的使命是推廣具備以下特質的教育:
  • 獨立︰培養創造力、批判性思維以及終身對學術、個人和社會發展的熱愛;
  • 中華︰讓學生在植根中國文化,彰顯「八德一智」核心價值的中、英雙語、雙文化的獨特環境中接受教育;
  • 全球︰通過體驗學習發展人生技能,啟發學生成為性格堅毅、具國際視野、才德兼備的地球衛育者。
 
核心價值—「八德一智」
 
根植中國文化,具備全球視野;秉承傳統價值,立足當代社會。基於這樣的願景,弘立書院確立了「八德一智」的核心價值觀。「八德一智」為弘立書院社群提供了堅實的德行基礎,為我們思考、決策及行動的準則。憑藉「八德一智」的核心價值觀,我們期望弘立書院的學生成為積極、有操守的社會成員,能夠迎接未來的種種挑戰。
 
Zhi 智 (Wisdom)
 
「智」,是指我們能在人生的道路上做出正確的選擇。要做到這一點,僅有優良的學習成績或中規中矩的行為是不夠的。智慧,來自於個人的知識、經驗、判斷,以及一整套清晰的,能夠幫助我們辨別是非的價值觀。在校園內外的生活中,「八德」提供我們在自省和行為上的價值準則,指引我們在各種人事互動中做出正確的選擇。「智」是建立在「八德」之上的最高境界。
 
Zhong 忠 (Loyalty and Commitment)
 
「忠」所體現的精神是忠於他人,並且忠於自己。我們對身邊的人盡責、忠誠,同時也對自己盡責、忠誠。我們表達「忠」的對象,包括我們的學校弘立書院、學校中的老師、同學、同事、我們的家人,以及我們所屬的社群。在社會上,「忠」表現在盡力成為香港和世界的模範公民;在同儕中,「忠」表現在彼此扶持、互相幫助,共同克服困難;在個人層面上,「忠」表現在堅守自己的價值觀和原則,忠於自己的理想、夢想和愛好,傾力探尋,全情投入,並且不斷追求卓越。 
 
Xiao 孝  (Respect and Obligation)
 
我們對「孝」最基本的認識便是孝順父母,尊敬師長,以及尊重我們自身的歷史和傳統。「孝」的引申意義,在於尊重我們身邊的人和事物,以及尊重我們自己。「孝」讓我們能夠心繫傳統,成為文化的傳承者和守護者;「孝」也代表了在新與舊之間搭建橋樑,善用過去優越的傳承,創造美好的未來。
Ren 仁 ﹙Compassion and Kindness)
 
「仁」的精神在於「仁慈」和「關懷」。「仁」的對象包括世間萬物以及我們賴以生存的環境,也包括比我們不幸的人們。在待人處世上,我們選擇寬恕而非報復,選擇寬宏大度而非斤斤計較。「仁」字由「人」和「二」組成,本意便是人與人之間的相處之道。當我們彼此以善意相待,處處為他人着想,我們就能超越彼此之間的差異和隔閡,建立共通之點,用善意和仁心將我們與周遭的人融合在一起。
 
Ai 愛 (Love and Passion)
 
「愛」體現於我們對生命和生活的熱愛。「愛」促使我們在做每一件事時都盡心盡力,以高度的熱情做到最好;「愛」讓我們在課室內外都能保持對學習的熱忱,孜孜不倦,求知若渴;「愛」也讓我們沉浸於自己的愛好和興趣,並且能讚賞他人的成就;「愛」同時也教我們關愛自己的家人和朋友,珍視親情友情,並從中獲得幸福快樂。
 
Li禮 (Etiquette and Ceremony)
 
「禮」的精神,體現在「君子淑女」們所表現出的教養和儀態。「禮」也代表了規矩和紀律;它約束着我們的行為,規範着我們日常生活中彼此相處的禮節。「禮」也塑造了學校的校規和典禮;校規制定了學校生活的約章,典禮則標示着學生成長過程中的重要里程。一位有「禮」的人,是有教養、有禮貌的,不但懂得尊重他人,也懂得約束自己,凡事三思而後行。在校園中,我們的典禮和行為都是「禮」的外在表現,反映我們對核心價值觀的深刻理解和尊重。
 
Yi義(Principles and Justice)
 
「義」,體現在講求原則,堅持公義,以及勇於捍衛自己的信念。我們相信公平公正,相信正義必能得到伸張,相信每個人都應為自己的行為負責。在待人處世上,我們秉持正直誠實的原則,用更高的標準要求自己,不以權宜、方便或缺乏原則的態度去處理事情。我們相信社會公義,並以實際的行動予以支持。我們注重信義,做一個值得他人信賴的人,並隨時準備幫助我們身邊的人。
 
He和 (Harmony and Tolerance)
 
「和」的意義涵蓋了「溫和」、「包容」及「和悅」。在與人相處上,我們避免意氣用事,以和為貴;我們學會包容及接納他人,以理解代替對立。我們致力於調解糾紛,留心自己的言辭與行為,避免不必要的誤會或衝突。我們盡力與大自然和諧共存。我們認識到:為達致和諧,我們必須慷慨地施予,也必須謙卑地接受。我們致力於促進跨國界及跨文化的相互理解。
 
Ping 平 (Balance and Equality)
 
「平」的意義包含了「平衡」與「平等」。在生活中,我們學習如何平衡工作、休息和娛樂,也學習如何平衡外界的需求和內心的欲望。在社群中,我們堅信人生而平等,我們懷抱着共同的願望和目標,以期達致不分性別、族裔、宗教、信念、社經背景、體能,人人平等。「平」與「和」兩個概念密切相關,將兩個字放在一起,便是「和平」。弘立書院致力於讓我們的校園成為一方平衡及和平的樂土。
 
國際文憑學習者培養目標的表述
 
國際文憑最簡潔的教育價值陳述,即國際文憑學習者培養目標,是 10 項形容國際文憑環境下理想學習者的特質。國際文憑組織對學習者培養目標作出以下的陳述:
 
所有國際文憑教育項目的目標都是培養具有國際情懷的人,他們承認人類共有的博愛精神,分擔守護地球的責任,幫助開創一個更美好、更和平的世界。國際文憑學習者培養目標闡述了國際文憑世界學校所重視的十種特質。我們相信這些特質,以及與它們相似的其他品質,能夠幫助人們成為當地、國家和全球社區中負責任的成員。
 
國際文憑學習者培養目標於 2014 年更新,是一套理想化的原則,而非可衡量的學習基準。學習者培養目標是要實踐的,而非直接評估的。因此,所有國際文憑學校中的學習者,包括教職員及行政人員,均須彰顯學習者培養目標中的各項,即全面發展、懂得關愛、善於交流、積極探究、知識淵博、胸襟開闊、堅持原則、及時反思、勇於嘗試、勤於思考。
 
每項特質均有簡短的介紹。
 
積極探究
 
我們培養自己的好奇心,逐步掌握探索和研究的技能。我們知道如何獨自或與他人一起開展學習。我們對學習充滿熱情,並終身保持對學習的熱愛。
 
知識淵博
 
我們發展並利用對概念的理解,跨越一系列學科探索知識。我們對各種具有當地和全球重要性的問題和思想觀點進行探討。
 
勤於思考
 
我們運用批判性和創造性思考技能,對複雜的問題進行分析並採取負責任的行動。我們積極主動地做出理由充分、合乎倫理的決定。
 
善於交流
 
我們使用一種以上的語言,以多種方式充滿信心和富有創意地進行自我表達。我們有效地開展協作,注意傾聽他人以及其他群體的觀點。
 
堅持原則
 
我們處事正直、誠實,有強烈的公平和正義感,尊重世界各地人民的尊嚴和權力。我們對自己的行動及其後果承擔責任。
 
胸襟開闊
 
我們以批判的態度欣賞自己的文化和個人的歷史,以及他人的價值觀和傳統。我們尋求和評價一系列廣泛的觀點,並願意通過體驗來豐富自己。
 
懂得關愛
 
我們表現出同理心、同情心和尊重。我們盡心投入服務,通過我們的行動使他人的生活和我們周圍的世界發生積極的變化。
 
勇於嘗試
 
我們以遠見及決心來應對變化不定的事物,我們能獨立地探索新的思想觀點和新穎的策略,也能與人密切合作。面對挑戰和變化,我們表現得足智多謀和靈活機敏。
 
全面發展
 
我們理解在生活中做到智力、身體和情感均衡發展的重要性,這樣才能使我們自己和他人幸福康樂。我們認識到自己與他人以及我們所處世界的相互依存關係。
 
及時反思
 

我們對世界和自己的思想觀點和經驗做出深刻縝密的思考。為了支持我們的學習和個人發展, 我們努力瞭解自己的長處和弱點。

 
國際文憑學習者培養目標及「八德一智」
 
弘立書院是國際文憑世界學校,致力培養國際文憑學習者培養目標之十項特質。國際文憑組織的願景是令國際文憑學生善用這些特質並通過跨文化的理解和尊重去創造更美好、更平和的世界。但這些特質基本上是個人的特質,形容每位學生應該致力追求達成和體現的特質。
 
另一方面,弘立書院的核心價值——「八德一智」,則着重群體的建立,並有一套清晰的價值觀及期望。忠、孝、仁、愛、和、平該為公平社會的標誌,其中人人有禮有義,尊智敬賢。這些傳統價值能超越個人的層面,彰顯我們所相信的更美好之世界的景象。
 
這兩套價值觀,前者重個人而後者重群體,提醒我們必須謹記學生既是個體也是社會的一員,應該教育學生為建設更美好的世界作出貢獻。
快捷選單