Back to School

Back to School

Back to School: Parent Evenings

 

Following a series of spirited and energized commencement ceremonies last week, at which we welcomed back our students and faculty, this week we turn our attention to helping parents begin their engagement with our school for the academic year.

img_1537a img_1478a

 

Today, we launch our annual series of ‘back to school’ events which are aimed at all parents, both new and returning. While the format and setting has evolved over the past ten years, the intent remains consistent: we seek to provide our parents with a clear sense of what the year holds for their children.

 

Aside from an introduction to the general structure of the curriculum, a description of key teaching resources, an overview of assessment practices, and an explanation of homework expectations, Back to School Night also offers families a chance to meet some, if not all, of the teachers who will be caring for their children throughout the year. Early establishment of a healthy and mutually respectful parent-teacher communication is critically important for not only academic success, but also the physical and emotional wellbeing of each student.

 

We urge all parents to give these events a high priority in their busy lives. The first event scheduled for today, Friday August 23, is intended for Foundation Year to Grade 2 parents; the second event for Grades 3 to 5, will be held on Friday, August 30; the final event for all of Secondary School, is scheduled for Thursday, September 5.

IMG_8853a IMG_8857a

 

Back to School: Alumni Summer Social

 

Last Friday evening, we hosted the largest alumni event since graduating our first cohort of IB scholars in 2012. Over 60 of our former students, with each graduating cohort represented, joined members of senior management to celebrate the start of the new school year. With food and fun in abundance, we spent an evening reminiscing on past adventures and hearing about the amazing exploits of our alumni as they move from university to embrace their adult professional and personal lives. The evening was punctuated with poignance and passion by a series of well-rehearsed performances by our very versatile and talented alumni musicians.

 

Through my conversations with former students, I was struck by the remarkable diversity of interests and passions reflected in their eclectic choices for tertiary study. Ranging from ancient Greco-Roman history to nanotechnology, from company law to community medicine, the richness and breadth of learning and career choices is a compelling endorsement of our approach to education at ISF.

 

Our alumni, numbering nearly 200, have formed an official association, complete with a governing board and a constitution (drafted by alumni who are now working as lawyers!). Increasingly, I expect our alumni to take a greater interest in the development of the school. Already identified in the strategic plan as a key stakeholder group, in the coming years I look forward to welcoming key contributions to governance from alumni representatives. We already have our first full-time alumni employee, a member of the Class of 2014.

1a 6a
9a 15b

 

Back to School: Community

 

With the return to school, we need to resume our careful handling of the impact school operations, particularly traffic, has on the surrounding community. We have already received formal complaints from the Southern District Council and local residents about illegal parking, the excessive and illegal use of car horns, and ISF cars blocking key road intersections during the morning and afternoon peak times.

 

I urge all families to ensure that all private ISF vehicles are driven with due care and attention to safety and the potential impact on others. Senior management and parent representatives will be monitoring traffic and offending vehicles will be identified and the owners contacted. The ISF Community Code, a copy of which is attached below, binds all members of the ISF community to exemplify our school values, the Eight Virtues + One, through their behavior and attitude.

 

Poor driver behavior has a direct impact on the safety and wellbeing of students and damages the reputation and standing of ISF in the wider community; it is a clear breach of our Community Code.

 

Please work together with us to make our part of Hong Kong a safe place for all members of the community.

 

 

 

 

The ISF Community Code

 

The ISF anchors its values on the Eight Virtues + One. We see these values as the backbone of our school community, reinforced in the daily activities of our students and practiced by the adults around them.

 

As such, we expect that ISF parents, teachers, administrators and students act courteously and respectfully to each other. In particular we expect members of The ISF Community to:

 

 

  • use respectful and moderate language in all communications and under all circumstances;
  • respect and protect the privacy of others;
  • respect and protect the safety and well-being of all community members;
  • act with honesty and integrity in both social and academic contexts;
  • act to protect the school’s reputation and property at all times;
  • treat others with equality regardless of race, sex, social status, or religion; and
  • student safety is our top priority: please respect the road laws of Hong Kong and observe ISF traffic policy.

 

We tell our students that Wisdom, the ultimate Virtue, is the ability to choose our actions well. We hope that the choices we all make in our interactions with each other will all be guided by kindness and will reflect the core moral values of The ISF Community.

 

Parent Undertaking:

I agree to abide by The ISF Community Code. I also agree that my employees, including but not limited to driver(s), tutor(s), and domestic helper(s), and agent(s) will abide by the code when interacting with other members of The ISF Community, including all employees, teachers, volunteers, and agents. I understand that my membership of The ISF Community and my child’s enrolment as an ISF student require our continued observance of and respect for The ISF Community Code.

 

 

 

 

 

Quick Menu

返校活動

返校活動

返校活動:家長之夜

 

上週,迎接師生返校的開學慶典充滿活力精彩紛呈。本週,我們轉而關注家長,幫助他們在新學年裏參與學校事務。

img_1537a img_1478a

 

今天,我們推出一系列面向本校各年級家長的「返校夜」活動。同類形式和場景在過去十年中有所發展,但主旨明確不變:我們希望家長們能夠獲得清晰的印象,了解未來這一學年對孩子意味著甚麼。

 

除了介紹課程的整體結構,講解主要教學資源,簡述考評機制以及闡釋家庭作業的要求之外,「返校夜」還將為各個家庭,提供一個與本學年教導你們孩子的部分或是全體老師見面的機會。盡早建立起健康且相互尊重的家長教師溝通機制,對於每個學生的學業成功以及身心健康,都至關重要。

 

我們敦促所有家長能夠重視且撥冗參加這些重要的活動。第一場活動於今天(8月23日星期五)舉行,它是針對預備班至二年級的家長們;第二場活動是為三至五年級的家長們舉辦,安排在8月30日星期五舉行;最後一場活動將面向所有中學家長,定於9月5日星期四舉行。

IMG_8853a IMG_8857a

 

返校活動:校友聯誼之夏

 

上週五晚,我們舉辦了自2012年第一批IB學生畢業以來最大的校友活動。60多名弘立的學生,代表著每一屆畢業的同學,與弘立的高級管理層一起,慶祝新學年開始。食物多多,樂趣也多,我們整晚都在追憶往昔歲月,聆聽校友們大學畢業後對成人職業生涯和個人生活的豐富探索。整場活動可圈可點,多才多藝才華橫溢的校友音樂家們的一系列精心排練的表演,激動人心且心潮澎湃。

 

通過與校友們傾談,我了解到,他們身處不同的高等教育環境,做出各種特立獨行的選擇,從而點燃無與倫比的多樣化的激情與興趣,這真讓我震驚。從古希臘羅馬歷史到納米技術,從公司法律到社區醫學,學習和職業選擇的豐富性和廣泛性,強而有力地證明了弘立教育取向的正確性。

 

我們的校友即將突破200人,已經組成了一個正式的校友會,擁有理事會和一部完整的章程(由現正擔任律師的校友起草!)。我越來越期盼校友們能夠對學校的發展產生更大興趣。校友團體已經被列為我校策略規劃中主要的持份者。未來幾年,我期待著迎來校友代表們對學校治理做出重要貢獻。我校現已擁有第一位校友員工,他是2014屆畢業生。

1a 6a
9a 15b

 

返校活動:社區

 

返回學校,我們需要再次妥善處理我校時刻關注的運作情況,尤其是交通情況對周邊社區的影響。我們已收到南區區議會和本區居民的正式投訴,涉及非法停車、濫用和非法使用汽車響號,以及弘立車輛在上下午高峰時段阻擋主要道路交叉口。

 

我強烈呼籲所有家庭確保進出弘立的私家車輛都應謹慎駕駛,注意安全及對他人的潛在影響。高級管理層和家長代表將監控交通,找出違規車輛並與車主聯繫。弘立社群守則副本如下,約束弘立社群所有成員,通過自身的行為和態度,真實地成為展現學校「八德一智」的典範。

 

不良的駕駛行為,會直接影響學生的安全和健康,破壞弘立在更廣泛社區中的聲譽和地位。這明顯有違我校社群準則。

 

請與我們合作,讓我校所處的這一塊香港土地,成為社群所有成員的安全樂土。

 

 

 

 

弘立社群社則

 

弘立的價值觀建基於「八德一智」。這些價值觀是我校社群的基礎。我們每天不斷通過各種活動,加強我們的學生對這些價值觀的認識,校內的成年人也在體現這些價值觀上身體力行。

因此,我們希望所有家長、老師、行政人員和學生都能互相以禮相待,彼此尊重,並依循下列的各項行為守則:  

 

  • 不論何時何地,在溝通中使用溫和及尊重對方的語言;
  • 尊重別人的隱私;
  • 注重弘立社群內每一個成員的福祉,並對其致力維護;
  • 在校內校外都以誠實和端正的態度對待別人;
  • 維護學校名譽,珍惜及保護學校公物;
  • 無論他人種族、性別、社會職位或宗教為何,均以平等態度對待;以及
  • 學生安全是我們的首要考慮,請遵守香港道路規例並謹守弘立的交通政策。

 

我們告訴學生智慧是人生最高的境界,而智慧是代表著我們選擇正確方向的能力。我們希望,大家與別人互動的時候所作出的抉擇是以慈愛、厚道為根本,並能夠體現出弘立社群的核心道德價值。

 

家長保證︰

本人同意遵守《弘立社群守則》。本人也同意我的僱員,包括但不限於司機、家庭教師、家傭以及有關代理人在與弘立其他成員,例如教職員、義工和代理人的互動過程當中,也必須遵守《弘立社群守則》。本人也了解到,作為弘立社群的一員及本人子女身為弘立學生期間,我們必須持續地遵守《弘立社群守則》,並對其保持高度的尊重。

 
快捷選單