Chinese Classics

ChineseClassics

Chinese Classics

Classics are precious cultural heritage bequeathed to us by our ancestors. We obtain new insights from every read of these great works that hailed from the distant past. In the last century, when China was constantly torn between Eastern and Western cultures, old and new values, Chinese classics were under dire threat—they were either seriously neglected or fiercely criticized. Classics are like a beacon in the course of history—they shed light on the past, the present and the future. This is especially true for China, a country that has the longest continuous civilization in the world. Living in a globalized world characterized by rapid technological advancements, and cultural clashes and integration, we often ask ourselves: How to create a more meaningful and balanced life? How to build a world that is more tolerant and harmonious? Maybe we can draw inspiration from the classics.

Designed according to the language abilities of students from different age groups, the Chinese Classics Program systematically introduces a selection of Chinese classic texts that cover literature, history and philosophy to students at different phases. All the courses are taught by teachers with PhD degrees and strong academic credentials. The courses are divided into five levels (Beginner’s, Elementary, Intermediate, Higher and Advanced), designed for G5-G9 students respectively. Each course covers various genres, such as prose and poems. In each

unit, students focus on texts and writers that are representative of a certain genre. Course materials are prepared by the Academy teachers according to students’ language and comprehension levels.

The five-year program is a progressive learning process that consists of several independent learning units. Learning outcomes are therefore maximized when students complete the courses of all five levels. Upon completion of the program, students should be able to recite and understand various Chinese literary classics, and have developed good reading skills for literary Chinese. They should also have greater understanding and appreciation of Chinese traditional culture.

Course Description

Chinese Classics (Beginner’s Level—G5)
The course is divided into three units. Through reading some selected works, students have the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the literary language and works, such as Chinese mythologies The Classic of Mountains and Seas ﹙《山海經》﹚, Confucian Analects ﹙《論語》﹚ and The Book of Songs ﹙《詩經》﹚. The course consists of in-depth reading of original texts and basic instruction on classical Chinese.

Chinese Classics (Elementary Level—G6)
The course is divided into three units. Through reading some selected works, students have the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the literary language and works, such as the Taoist classics, Yuefu folk songs from the Han dynasty ﹙「漢樂府」﹚, and anthologies of short stories like Sou Shen Ji ﹙《搜神記》﹚ and Shi Shuo Xin Yu ﹙《世說新語》﹚. The course consists of in-depth reading of original texts and basic instruction on classical Chinese. Students should be able to gain some basic knowledge of Chinese traditional thinking and literature, and recite some literary works.

Chinese Classics (Intermediate—G7)
The course is divided into three units. Through reading some selected works, students have the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the literary language and works, such as the poems of Cao Cao (曹操), Tao Yuan-Ming (陶淵明), Li Bai ﹙李白﹚ and Liao Zhai Zhi Yi (《聊齋誌異》﹚ and other classical Chinese short novels. The course consists of in-depth reading of original texts and basic instruction on classical Chinese. Students will learn how to appreciate Chinese classical poems and novels, and even recite some of them.

Chinese Classics (Higher—G8)
The course is divided into three units. Through reading some selected works, students have the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the literary language and works, such as the poems of Du Fu ﹙杜甫﹚, famous prose works of Tao Yuan-Ming ﹙陶淵明﹚ and Zhang Dai ﹙張岱﹚, and Shi Ji ﹙《史記》﹚. The course consists of in-depth reading of original texts and basic instruction on classical Chinese. Students will learn how to appreciate Chinese classical poems and prose works, and even recite some of them.

Chinese Classics (Advanced—G9)
The course is divided into three units. Through reading some selected works, students have the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the literary language and works, such as the poems from the late Tang dynasty, lyrical works of Li Yu ﹙李煜﹚, Li Qing-Zhao ﹙李清照﹚ and Xin Qi-Ji ﹙辛棄疾﹚, and the famous prose works of Jia Yi ﹙賈誼﹚, Cao Zhi ﹙曹植﹚ and Su Shi ﹙蘇軾﹚. The course consists of in-depth reading of original texts and basic instruction on classical Chinese. Students will learn how to appreciate Chinese classical poems and prose works, and even recite some of them.

Quick Menu

中國古代經典

ChineseClassics

中國古代經典

「經典」是先人留給我們珍貴文化遺產,常讀常新。在上世紀中西、新舊文化激烈衝突下的中國,這些「經典」命運多舛,屢遭冷落、批判。但「經典」如幽暗歷史中的燈塔,不但能讓我們更清楚地看到過去,也能照亮腳下、前方。對古老文明的薪火從未完全中斷傳遞的中國來說,「經典」的意義更是如此。在科技飛速發展、文化不斷碰撞交融的全球化時代,如何獲得更豐富、平衡的人生?如何構建更包容、和諧的世界?相信這些「經典」都能為我們提供許多教益和啓發。

「中國古代經典」課程根據不同年齡學生的語文能力,分階段地以有系統的方式引導學生學習一系列的中國古代文學、史學、哲學的經典作品。課程由學術底蘊深厚的博士級導師任教, 深入淺出, 日積月累。課程分為啓蒙、初級、中級、高級、進階五級,從五至九年級,每年修讀一級。每個等級的課程包含詩歌、散文等文體,每個單元會學習某種文體中的經典選篇,並會側重研讀一、兩位重點作家的作品。課程的教材由弘立老師根據不同年齡層學生的語文及理解水平而編製。

五年的課程由若干獨立的教學單元組成,同時它們又是一個循序漸進的整體,連續修完所有等級將會達到最好的學習效果。修完課程後,學生應能夠熟讀、背誦大量經典名篇,具備良好的文言文閱讀能力,陶冶情操,對中國文化精髓有深入理解和欣賞。

課程介紹

中國古代經典(啓蒙——五年級)
課程包含三個單元;透過閱讀一套指定的文言作品,學生能熟習中國古代經典的語文和文學,這些作品包括中國古代的神話《山海經》、《論語》及《詩經》。學習過程是以深度閱讀原文及基本的文言文訓練來進行的。

中國古代經典(初級——六年級)
課程包含三個單元;透過閱讀一套指定的文言作品,學生能熟習中國古代經典的語文和文學;這些作品包括道家經典作品、漢樂府民歌,還有短篇的軼聞故事如《搜神記》及《世說新語》。學習過程是以深度閱讀原文及基本的文言文訓練來進行的。學生會對中國傳統思想、文學有基本認識,並能背誦一些文言作品。

中國古代經典(中級——七年級)
課程包含三個單元;透過閱讀一套指定的文言作品,學生能熟習中國古代經典的語文和文學,這些作品包括曹操、陶淵明、李白等人的詩歌和《聊齋誌異》等文言短篇小說。學習過程是以深度閱讀原文及基本的文言文訓練來進行的。學生將會學習如何鑑賞中國經典詩歌和小說,並能背誦一些文言作品。

中國古代經典(高級——八年級)
課程包含三個單元;透過閱讀一套指定的文言作品,學生能熟習中國古代經典的語文和文學,這些作品包括「杜甫詩」、陶淵明和張岱著名的散文,以及《史記》。學習過程是以深度閱讀原文及基本的文言文訓練來進行的。學生能學會鑑賞中國古代經典詩歌和散文,並能背誦一些文言作品。

中國古代經典(進階——九年級)
課程包含三個單元;透過閱讀一套指定的文言作品,學生能熟習中國古代經典的語文和文學,這些作品包括「晚唐詩」、李煜、李清照和辛棄疾的詞作,以及賈誼、曹植和蘇軾的著名散文。學習過程是以深度閱讀原文及基本的文言文訓練來進行的。學生能學會鑑賞中國古代經典詩歌和散文,並能背誦一些文言作品。

快捷選單