Farewell to 2017-18

Farewell to 2017-18

June 14, 2018

Today marks the end of the 2017-18 Academic Year. Summer beckons, schedules and routines will be significantly modified; many families will travel over the coming weeks.

At the end of the learning year, it is customary to take stock and reflect on what we have learned and accomplished, and what lies ahead of us. This year been one in which our school has changed in so many different ways. The physical shape of the school has undergone a remarkable and expansionary transformation, with the substantive completion of Phase III construction (A Block and C Block). This project is now entering its final phase with the redevelopment of Professor Sir Charles Kao Square and the Clifford C.F. Wong Secondary Library over summer. The familiar pathways and corridors of our learning home have been extended, re-routed, or complicated so that getting from one end of our school to the other requires some careful thought and much more time than was previously the case. The choice of venues for learning activities and meetings has more than doubled, something that has created some confusion that we hope will pass quickly as we 'relearn' the geography of our school.

In so many other, less tangible ways, we have grown and matured. Over this past year, our school‘s heart and soul have been enlarged, enriched, deepened, broadened, and tempered by joy and sorrow. Our values and guiding ethos have been challenged and tested. Much has been learned, but at great cost and with deep personal sacrifice. Most have been touched deeply and personally by life events in our community this year. I have great faith that we finish the year with stronger ties and deeper connections, bonds that draw us together and sustain us as a learning community.

At the end of each academic year, we say farewell to some colleagues and families, and prepare to welcome some new members in August. Of particular note is the departure of Dr. Eric Jabal, Secondary School Principal, who completes an eight-year marathon at the helm in Secondary School. Dr. Jabal has worked tirelessly and inspirationally in leading a team of outstanding educators to consolidate IB culture in our school, graduate seven classes, and grow our student and faculty ranks into the vibrant, diverse, and excellent learning community that ISF Secondary School is in 2018. We wish Dr. Jabal well in his new role with the Council of International Schools, where he will continue to pursue educational and institutional excellence on a broad, international canvas. His departure from ISF will actually be quite short: Dr. Jabal returns in August as a CIS consultant to assist us in our preparation for the next phase of CIS/WASC accreditation.

The second notable departure is Ms. Nancy Dyck, who retires to her beloved Canada to focus on home and family from a much closer vantage point. Energetic, committed, and fiercely protective of her students, Ms. Dyck has seen Primary School undergo a remarkable transformation to become a close-knit, purposeful, and uniquely bicultural primary school, the like of which cannot be found elsewhere. Ms. Dyck has developed a close and highly effective collegial bond with Ms. Shan Ning; the two have been workplace 'sisters' for five years, and they have touched the lives of every ISF child who has passed through the Primary School. We wish 'Ms. Nancy' and her husband, John, a richly fulfilling and healthy retirement in Nova Scotia.

In both cases, both Dr. Jabal and Ms. Dyck are being succeeded by long serving members of our school community: Mr. Nick Forde and Ms. Jenna McKee will take up their respective duties as Secondary School Principal and Primary School Deputy Principal (English) in August. Ms. Clair Chiang joins Ms. McKee as the other Primary School Deputy Principal (Chinese) at the same time.

Finally, among the small number of other faculty departures, it would be remiss of me not to make public mention of the retirement of Helen and Jim Bowden. Two of our most 'senior' colleagues, originally from New Zealand, Mr. and Mrs. Bowden have had an amazingly diverse and adventure-filled career in teaching spanning nearly 50 years. At this point, together, they command nearly a century of experience in the classroom, a remarkable achievement in the 21st century where we are expected to spend just a few short years in each 'career'. It is fair to say that these two master teachers have seen just about everything that can happen in a primary school classroom. We wish them a happy and healthy retirement!

No matter what your plans are for the summer break, we are reminded by the Bard that, "summer‘s lease hath all too short a date…" and the commencement of the 2018-19 Academic Year is just eight weeks away! Use the time wisely.

I wish each and every member of the ISF Community a restful and restorative summer; I hope you will all return to us safely, recharged for another year in early August!

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

Quick Menu

揮別2017-18學年

揮別2017-18學年

2018年6月14日

2017-18學年今天正式落幕。暑假召喚著我們,行程和日常安排將會有重大調整,許多家庭將會在未來幾週外出旅行。

學年尾聲,作為慣例,我們會回顧與反思,學到甚麼,成就甚麼,未來需要面對甚麼。今年是我校在方方面面經歷重大變化的一年。第三期工程(A座和C座)建築基本完成,我校實體面貌呈現出顯著的擴張性轉變。工程項目緊鑼密鼓,高錕教授廣場和黃振輝中學圖書館將於暑假重建。弘立校園中為人熟知的通道和走廊,或延伸、改道,亦或複雜化,如今從我校一端走到另一端,需要思忖下合理路線,較之從前,著實得多花不少時間。學習活動和會議場所選擇多多,擴大了一倍都不止,短期內可能會有些許混亂,我們希望廣大師生能夠「重溫」弘立地理,盡快理清頭緒。

其他許多不那麼顯而易見的方面,弘立亦已成長壯大。過去這一年,歡笑憂傷兼而有之,不斷豐富著、拓展著、鍛造著及磨礪著我們的心緒和靈魂。我校價值觀和指導理念一度受到挑戰和考驗。教訓學到了,但代價高昂,兼有沉重的個人犧牲。今年,弘立社群的生命事件,深深觸動著我們。我堅信,經歷這一年,弘立終將以更緊密關係和更深入聯繫淬煉成形,吸引並支撐我校學習型社群的壯大。

每到學年結束,我們都會送別一些同事及其家人,同時準備在八月迎接新成員。特別值得提及的是,弘立中學校長柘艾衛博士將離開我們。他擔任校長一職長達八年,工作上孜孜不倦,擅於鼓舞人心,他出色率領一支卓越的教育工作者團隊,夯實我校國際文憑的文化,帶好七屆畢業班,助力學生成長,壯大教職員工隊伍,幫助弘立中學部發展成如今充滿活力、多元化的優秀學習型社群。我們祝福柘艾衛博士履任國際學校委員會新職位,在更廣泛的國際背景下進一步追求教育卓越和組織完善。柘艾衛博士離職履新的過渡期很短,他將於八月以國際學校委員會顧問的身份返校,協助我們準備下一階段國際學校委員會/美國西部院校協會認證工作。

特別值得關注的第二樁事,是丁蘭香女士退休。她將回到加拿大故土,以便更近距離更好地服務家鄉和家庭。丁蘭香女士充滿活力,愛崗敬業,是學生們堅定的保護神,她親歷小學重大轉變,協助弘立小學成長為一所聯繫緊密,目標明確及具獨特雙語文化的小學,成為他人無法效仿的特色校園。丁蘭香女士還與單寧女士發展了密切而高效的工作合作關係。五年來,兩人已結成職場「姐妹花」,她們關注著每位弘立孩子小學階段的生活。祝福我們的丁蘭香女士和她的先生約翰在加拿大新斯科舍省,享受豐富健康的退休生活。

柘艾衛博士和丁蘭香女士的職缺,正由我校社群的長期服務成員繼任:Nick Forde先生和Jenna McKee女士將於八月擔任中學校長和小學英文副校長職位。與此同時,弘立小學中文副校長一職則由姜孝慈女士擔任。

最後,儘管其他離職者為數不多,我覺得有責任有義務親自宣布Helen Bowden和Jim Bowden的退休消息。他們兩位是資深的「元老級」的教師。在近五十年的漫長教學生涯中,這對新西蘭夫婦有著驚人的事業多樣性,並極富闖蕩精神。在這退休時刻,他們回眸半個世紀的豐富課堂經驗,本身就是一項了不起的成就。而21世紀的我們,恐怕未來只能在每一項「事業」中闖蕩幾年而已。毫不誇張地講,這兩位金牌教師早已洞悉小學課堂的一切情況。讓我們祝福他們擁有快樂健康的退休生活!

無論暑期計劃如何,莎士比亞提醒我們,「夏日時光轉瞬即過……」,距2018-19學年的開學僅有8週!暑期光陰,切莫虛度。

祝福你們,弘立社群的每一位成員,這個暑假,鸞鶴心悠然,元氣鼓其橐。讓我們相見八月初,祝福你們平安回校,能量滿滿!

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單