High Stakes Learning

High Stakes Learning

December 6, 2019

Today, we bid farewell to the team of evaluators from the Council of International Schools (CIS), the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) and the International Baccalaureate Organisation (IB) who over the past week conducted the mandatory quinquennial evaluation of our school’s programs, practices, procedures, and policies. Each five-year period, we benchmark ISF against a set of international standards that are designed to promote excellence in schools. This week-long evaluation is a necessary final step in retaining our school’s accreditation, through both CIS and WASC, and our IB authorizations for the Middle Years Programme (MYP) and the Diploma Programme (DP). ISF aspires to be the best school possible, and objective, external scrutiny through accreditation is an important mechanism to fulfil this aspiration.

Some readers may not be aware of the institutional importance of this event. Accreditation, for example, is an essential condition underpinning our Service Agreement with the Hong Kong Government. Furthermore, WASC accreditation, conferred by an agency based in the United States, benefits ISF graduates applying to US-based colleges and universities. IB authorization permits ISF to offer IB courses of study throughout the Secondary School that are compliant with all expectations of an IB World School. High stakes indeed!

During the recent unrest in Hong Kong, and particularly during the recent period of EDB-imposed school closure, the IB, CIS and WASC evaluation team leaders kept in close consultation with me about the feasibility and even the desirability of proceeding with the evaluation visit this week. A very practical concern at that time was that if classes were still in a state of suspension, there was little point in hosting the visit, as the evaluation team would have nothing of substance to evaluate. Perhaps a more complex question was one of optimal timing: would we wish to continue with a visit to evaluate our performance as a school under such adverse circumstances?

The original timing of this major evaluation event was determined early in 2018, at a time when no one could have predicted recent events and their impact on the wider Hong Kong community. The idea that we could, at such short notice, postpone the evaluation visit to a later, and potentially more ideal time, when our visitors might see us in a more favorable light, was certainly tempting. Some might take the view that none of us would voluntarily seek to be tested under such challenging conditions. And yet to take such action might also have been seen as a tacit admission of doubt: perhaps we were not able to meet even our own expectations at a time of trial?

This choice is ultimately a test of our enacted values. Were we prepared to extract our cherished vision and mission statements from glossy publications, and ergonomic websites, and put them into action at a time when they would be sorely tested? Could we take down the Eight Virtues + One from the walls and halls and mobilize them on the ground in every classroom, office, and home?

My decision to go ahead with the visit at this time was, in part, based on trust; it was a vote of confidence in our community: our teachers, leaders, parents, and, of course, our resilient and committed students. In reality, if we cannot rise up at a time of adversity and put our principles into collective and mutually supportive action, when will it happen? If not now, then when?

At another level, there is a deeper question of educational truth at stake. Schools, like family homes, should be sanctuaries of safety and learning, but they are not completely isolated from the communities they serve. We cannot protect our children from all risks during their childhood and expect that they will magically develop the capacity to handle real-world risks once they leave the protective environment of home and school. It is at times like these that educators and parents alike need to help our children learning how to cope in adversity. A truly comprehensive education involves exposure to risk and difficulty; it should rightly offer students a managed and progressive form of inoculation to build up the resilience in each child to cope with the challenges in life that we know lie ahead, perhaps just beyond the horizon. In the years beyond formal education, greater tests than these await each and every child. As role models for our children, are we not duty-bound to show them how we handle adversity?

To go ahead with our evaluation in such testing times is the right thing to do for our children. It is now that we must seize the opportunity to test ourselves to ensure that no matter what, we are ready to meet their learning needs as they prepare to inherit a complex world filled with the messy, unresolved problems left behind by the current generation. High stakes, indeed.

 

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

Quick Menu

高風險學習

高風險學習

2019年12月6日

今天,我們告別了來自國際學校委員會(CIS)、美國西部院校協會(WASC)和國際文憑組織(IB)的評估團隊。過去一週,他們對我校的課程、項目、程序和政策進行了五年一次的強制性評估。每隔五年,我們都會根據一套國際標準對弘立進行基準測試,這些標準旨在促進學校走向卓越。為期一週的評估,是國際學校委員會和美國西部院校協會為我校繼續持有認證資格,以及我們的國際文憑中學項目(MYP)和國際文憑大學預科項目(DP)的授權的一個十分必要的步驟。弘立立志成為最好的學校,通過認證體制而進行的客觀的外部審查,是實現這一願望的重要機制。

一些讀者未必清楚此次審查對於我校機制建構的重要性。舉個例子,認證是我們與香港政府簽訂服務協議的重要條件。此外,美國西部院校協會認證由一家總部在美國的機構授予,令申請美國學院和大學的弘立畢業生受益。國際文憑組織授權弘立在中學各年級提供符合國際文憑組織世界學校全部標準的課程。確實意義重大!

在香港最近的動蕩期間,特別是根據教育局指示關閉學校的期間,我與國際文憑組織、國際學校委員會及美國西部院校協會評估團隊的領導一直在密切關注,探討評估的可行性,甚至是否適合在本週進行評估訪問。當時一個非常實際的考量是,如果各班級仍然處於停課狀態,接受這次評估就沒有任何意義,因為評估團隊亦將難為無米之炊。或許一個更複雜的問題,則是關於評估的最佳時機問題:我們是否希望繼續評估,是否允許在如此不利的社會環境下將計劃繼續進行?

這次重大評估活動的時間,是在2018年初確定的。當時沒有人能夠預測最近的事件以及事件對廣大香港社會的影響。如果在如此短的時間內,我們可以將評估訪問推遲到一個可能更理想的時間點,以便評估團隊在更有利的環境下審視我們,這種想法無疑是很誘人的。有些人可能認為,我們不會自願尋求在這種具有挑戰性的條件下接受考驗。然而,採取推遲行動可能也被視為一種對懷疑的默認:也許弘立害怕在面臨考驗之時無法達到預期?

這種選擇最終是對我們所制定的價值觀的考驗。我們是否準備好,將深受我們重視的抽象的願景及使命宣言,從閃亮的出版物和便捷高效的網頁中解放出來,在面臨嚴峻考驗的關頭果斷付諸行動?我們能否讓「八德一智」不僅存在於書面,而是實實在在顯現於每個教室、辦公室和家庭之中?

我決定在這個時候繼續評估,部分是基於信任。這是向弘立社群:我們的老師、領導層和家長,當然,還有我們富有韌性而又忠誠的同學們,投的信任票。現實中,如果我們不能在逆境之時挺身而出,將我們的原則化為共同的相互支持的行動,還等何時?還有比現在更好的時機嗎?

從另一個層面來看,更深層的教育真相的問題正遭遇風險。學校,就像家庭一樣,應該既是安全的庇護所,也是學習的專屬地,但絕非完全與其所服務的社區隔絕。我們不能在孩子童年期間保護他們免受所有風險的同時,還期望他們一旦離開家庭和學校的保護性環境,就會神奇地具有處理實際風險的能力。在這樣的時刻,教育工作者和家長都需要幫助我們的孩子學會在逆境中如何應對。真正全面的教育涉及風險和困難,它應該正確地為學生提供一種有管理性的漸進式免疫,以增強每個孩子的韌性,從而應對我們所預知的未來可能面臨的各種生活挑戰。離開正規教育的歲月,更多更大的考驗等待著每個孩子。作為孩子們的榜樣,我們不正是有義務,向他們展示我們如何在逆境中做出抉擇嗎?

在這樣的情況下,選擇繼續進行評估,恰是為孩子們做的正確的事。現在,我們必須把握時機,檢驗自己,確保無論怎樣,我們都準備好滿足他們的學習需要,因為他們正準備著要去繼承一個充滿著當代人遺留下的充滿混亂、問題未解的複雜世界。確實,風險很高。

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單