Looking to the future: what will a post-COVID-19 world look like?

Looking to the future: what will a post-COVID-19 world look like?

April 17, 2020

Over the past week in Hong Kong, different segments of the community celebrated two major traditional festivals, Ching Ming (清明節) and Easter. Both events have deep cultural significance for observants, with long histories and cultural practices, going back some thousands of years. These events focus on remembrance and respect, but also serve to remind us of our present actions and the future. They bring families and faith communities together in different parts of the world. In 2020, these collective expressions of faith, respect, and tradition, have been disrupted in an unprecedented manner.

We need to travel back some distance in history to find similar times of enforced familial separation and geographic isolation. Some have drawn parallels with the experiences of those during previous world wars. Now, with nearly half of humanity under some form of government-mandated restriction on travel and assembly, including closed borders, closed recreational venues, even total lockdown, many of us have no doubt spent time wondering about the future, both personal and global, and the point at which life might return to something approaching normality. We wonder when we might return to a time and a world in which our collective nature is affirmed, movement is unfettered, and our health is not threatened.

I am not able to offer any medical or demographic advice about the pandemic virus, or the collective prognosis for humanity. It is a global phenomenon and therefore a global problem. We can all see the widespread erosion of trust that has now taken root around the world. A form a ‘blame game’ has not helped and has probably hampered the necessary collective effort needed to find a medical solution. For many places, such as Hong Kong, that have now plateaued or seen a dramatic reduction in transmission of the virus, the political and economic consequences of further outbreaks are likely to be severe. Fear of a resurgence will act as a brake on the resumption of pre-COVID-19 human activity and movement, both nationally and internationally. As we read each day, this is already having a material impact on human welling in every community. While the virus is the root cause, isolation has been the immediate cure; it can only work in the short-term. Immunisation seems to offer the most promise as a long-term cure to this malaise that has so many dimensions beyond our physical health. We are told, however, that a reliable vaccine still lies some way off in the future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some may remember the days of travel when international passengers were required to present both their passport and their official vaccination certificate, or Carte Jaune, for inspection when entering a foreign country. The Carte Jaune, a program developed under the auspices of the World Health Organization (WHO) after its founding in 1948, was intended to provide literally a ‘bill of clean health’ for anyone travelling (Yadav 2017, WHO 2020). Our passport establishes our official bona fides – in ‘good faith’; our Carte Jaune was intended to perform a similar function with respect to our health. Now essentially limited to a number of countries identified by the WHO as being at risk from the transmission of Yellow Fever, many travellers no longer need such a document. I must confess that I last used mine in 1979. Many may not have a Carte Jaune at all now.

In order to re-establish good faith, to once more permit the free movement of humanity, we may see the widespread revival of immunization passports as the only practicable way of governments and communities re-establishing trust in the health of its citizens, residents, and visitors. This proof is and must be a precondition for the full resumption of human activity (Rainsy 2020). Such devices have been used in the past to verify that as individuals, we do not pose a threat to a community. I believe we can therefore expect to carry evidence of our physical bona fides for the foreseeable future. 

In the absence of a cure, our immediate future, therefore, seems to point to constant vigilance and prevention. We can expect to have our temperature taken before entering places of business or learning. We should expect to carry personal protective equipment, such as surgical masks, as a matter of routine. We will find our understanding and practice of social distancing will take root in both our language and our actions. Societal institutions such as schools will adapt. Rites of passage will evolve. We will find ways of celebrating the purpose and spirit of social events in ways that reflect our acceptance of the need to share the burden of being alone, together.

 

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

 

 

 

Rainsy, S. (2020) International Immunity Passports Can Help Restore Freedom of Movement. The Geopolitics                

WHO (2020). "World Health Organization." Retrieved 12 April, 2020, from https://www.who.int.               

Yadav, M. K. (2017) Structure and Function of the World Health Organization. Journal of Humanities and Social Science 22, 15-41

Quick Menu

放眼未來:後疫情時代

放眼未來:後疫情時代

2020年4月17日

過去一週的香港,社區中的不同社群度過了兩大傳統節日,清明節和復活節。這兩個節日都擁有深刻隆重的文化含義,其歷史悠久,文化習俗綿延流長,可以追溯至幾千年前。節日活動側重於緬懷和敬意,但也向我們提示著當前的行動和未來。節日使世界各地的家庭和信仰社群團結起來。2020年,對這些信仰、敬意和傳統的集體表達,以前所未有的方式被打亂。

回顧歷史,我們需要追溯到較久遠的時期,才能查找到略有相似的家人隔離和地域封鎖的時代。有些人將當下情況類比於世界大戰的經歷。如今,全球大約一半人都處在政府某種強制規定的旅行和集會限制之下,包括關閉邊境,關閉娛樂場所,甚至全面封鎖等。我們許多人無疑都會花點時間來思考,個人的未來和全球的未來,以及何時,生活方能回歸正常狀態。我們想知道,何時能夠重拾往日時光,那個人類集體的自然共性的世界,那個行動不受限制、健康不受威脅的世界。

對於這場大流行病毒和人類總體的預後,我無法給出任何醫學或者人數統計方面的建議。這場疫情現在是一個全球現象,是一個全球問題。我們現在可以看到,對於信任的侵蝕迅速席捲全球,遍布世界。一場「指責遊戲」並沒有幫助我們,甚至阻礙了我們動用集體努力的辦法來解決醫療上的需求。對於大多數疫情已經穩定或者傳播大幅減少的地區來說,例如香港,疫情再度爆發所帶來的政治和經濟影響將會十分嚴重。對病毒死灰復燃的恐懼會如同一個剎車,阻止國內和國際間人類的活動、遷移恢復到病毒爆發前的狀態。正如我們每天讀到的,疫情已經對人類每個社群的健康繁榮產生了巨大的影響。雖然病毒是問題的根源,隔離成了急效的控制措施,但只能短期進行。尋求讓人類對病毒產生免疫的方法是長遠最有效的措施,只有這樣,我們才能治癒這在身體健康之外多個層面困惑著我們的疫情。但是,可靠的疫苗仍需時間研製,只會在將來某個時間點面世。

有些人可能還記得曾經的歲月。國際旅客入境接受檢查時,需出示護照和官方疫苗接種證明,或者叫黃卡。這是世界衞生組織(WHO)於1948年成立後主持發起的一個項目,旨在為旅行者提供實質意義上的「健康證明」(Yadav 2017,世衞組織,2020年)。護照為我們建立起官方誠信,黃卡則旨在表達我們在健康方面的類似作用。如今,除了世衞組織認定的高風險傳播黃熱病的國家之外,許多旅行者不再需要此類文件。坦白的講,上一次我使用黃卡是在1979年。許多人也許從來都沒有過黃卡。

為了重建誠信,再次允許人類的自由流動,我們很可能會再次見到免疫護照的廣泛使用。這可能是政府和社區重新建立其對公民、居民和遊客健康互信的唯一可操作途徑。這項證明是全面恢復人類活動的先決條件(桑蘭西2020)。此類方法過去曾經用來證明個體不會對社區構成威脅。我有理由相信,在可預見的將來,我們可能會隨身攜帶這樣的證據,證明我們的健康方面的誠信。

因此,在沒有解藥的情況下,我們近期都應保持警覺做好預防。我們應當理解,在進入商業或學習場所之前,配合測體溫。我們應當每天隨身攜帶個人防護用品,比如口罩,這將成為一種習慣。我們將會發現,自己對於保持社交距離的理解和實踐將在語言和行為兩方面深深扎根。學校等社會機構將進行調整。成長過程的慶祝儀式也將變化。我們將會開啟多種方式來紀念社會活動的目的與精神,這些方式讓我們「天涯若比鄰」。

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

 

 

 

桑蘭西2020)「國際免疫護照能幫助恢復流動自由」,《地緣政治》

世界生組織(2020),4月刊2020412

Yadav,M. K. (2017),「世界衞生組織的結構和功能」,《人文社會科學雜誌》,第22頁,和14-41頁。

快捷選單