On Experience

On Experience

November 8, 2019

“I want you to learn from my experience!” This earnest aspiration, sometimes seasoned with an element of exasperation, uttered by the experientially rich – often a parent, teacher, older sibling, or manager – is for the benefit of those of tender years who are deemed to be in need of guidance. Of course, we mean well, but unfortunately, we are misguided in this endeavor. In the sense intended – “I want you to have my experiences and learn” – we encounter a logical impossibility: we can only really share about our experiences, and hope that our youthful audience remembers something useful to apply in the future. Educationally, this can be a marginal proposition.

Our experiences belong to us alone: they are intimately and inextricably linked to our own lives, actions, interactions, relationships, journeys, triumphs, and hardships. When we draw from the deep well of our lived memory to share with others, they can only observe from a distance. Our memories, like projections on a wall, do not necessarily connect at all with their own experience. In the same way that we cannot learn to swim from watching video clips about water, the experiences of others cannot be internalized directly; we must construct a personal ‘inner world’ based on sensory stimulation derived from our immediate surroundings.
 
It is for this reason that in experiential education, where we learn is as important as what we learn. Our experiential learning programs offer a departure from school and home-based learning that is largely of a semantic nature – the acquisition or construction of declarative knowledge (facts and concepts) – to pursue a different kind of learning, one that is procedural, providing skills and informing action.
 
The setting of experiential learning provides an important element of sensory stimulation that promotes the formation of particularly durable memories, known as episodic memory – a kind of a mental DVD player – that allows each of us to recall in fine detail events of the past, right down to colors, sounds, and even odors. For the things learned during these novel events, experiential learners retain a great deal that can be used to shape actions and decisions in the future. This is the key element of experiential learning.
Each generation must experience and rediscover the world, their world, in a manner that is unique to themselves. Those of us with more candles on our birthday cake can certainly share what things were like in ‘our time’, but this is of indirect and perhaps marginal interest to our children. Our essential task is to ensure that the young have access to a full range of experiences and resources, all of which will shape their attitudes towards and understanding of their world.
This week, our thanks in particular go to the committed, passionate, and adventurous educators who, through our ELPs, led our students into the world to help them have the sort of experiences that they can learn from: rich and varied, full of challenge, confusion, and confrontation. These personal encounters of a different world are the memorable physical and emotional milestones that mark the journey each of our students is undertaking. Without them, they are indeed just learning about someone else’s experience of the world.

 

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

 
Quick Menu

關於體驗

關於體驗

2019年11月8日

「我希望你可以汲取我的經驗!」這種熱切的願望,有時伴隨著一腔怒氣而出,通常出自經驗豐富者之口 —— 譬如家長、老師、大哥大姐,或是經理人,目的是為那些處在青澀年紀需要指導的晚輩。當然,我們是出於好意,然而很遺憾,我們這樣做南轅北轍。從目標意義上講,「我想你擁有我的體驗,並從中學習」—— 我們其實遭遇著邏輯死胡同。我們真正能夠做的只能是分享自身的體驗而已,並希望我們年輕的聽眾能夠記住些有用的東西,在未來加以運用。從教育上來說,這樣的收效微乎其微。

我們的體驗只屬於我們自己,只與我們自己的生活、行為、互動、人際關係、旅程、勝利和痛苦息息相關密不可分。當我們從自身鮮活的記憶之井裏汲取靈感與他人分享時,它們其實只能被遠遠地觀察。我們的記憶,就仿佛牆上的投影,未必能與他們自己的經歷相關聯。就像我們不能從觀看關於水的視頻學會游泳一樣,別人的經歷不能被直接內化,我們必須基於來自我們周圍環境所帶來的感官刺激,來構建一個只屬於個人的「內心世界」。
 

正因如此,在體驗教育中,在何處所學,與我們學到甚麼,兩者同等重要。我們的體驗學習項目,與課堂教學和家庭學習是不一樣的,後者主要獲取和構建陳述性的知識(事實和概念),而體驗學習追求另一種形式的程序性學習,重在提供技能並了解行動。

 

體驗式學習的場景,提供了感官刺激的重要元素,有助於形成特別、持久的記憶,也就是情景紀錄,就好像一台腦袋DVD播放器,讓我們能夠回憶起過往事件的生動細節,具體到顏色、聲音,甚至氣味。在新事件中學到東西,體驗學習者可以獲得大量經驗,用於指導未來的行動和決策。這正是體驗式學習的關鍵。

每一代人,都必須以他們獨特的方式體驗並重新發現世界,他們自己的世界。我們這些走過的橋比他們走過的路還要多的人,當然可以分享「我們的時代」中的情況,但這對我們的孩子是間接的,也許是微不足道的。我們的基本任務,是確保青年人獲取各種全面的經驗和資源的途徑,這些經驗和資源將足以塑造他們的價值觀和對世界的態度與理解。

這個星期,特別感謝那些敬業、熱情和具冒險精神的教育工作者,他們在本校體驗學習的活動中引領著我們的學生走向世界,幫助學生獲得所能學到的體驗:鮮活多樣,充滿挑戰、困惑和對抗。這些特殊世界的個人際遇,標誌著每個學生正在經歷成長歷程中令人難以忘懷的身體和情感上的里程碑,沒有這些,學生就真的只是學習別人對世界的體驗而已。

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單