On Freedom

On Freedom

November 22, 2019

I must confess that this week’s message is a difficult one to write. In the past week, the Hong Kong Education Bureau was compelled by circumstances to suspend classes in schools and kindergartens on the grounds of clear and present threats to the safety of children commuting to and from school. Accordingly, classes were suspended at the end of last week. As a further consequence, we took the difficult, but necessary decision to postpone our annual celebration – the Jam 2019 – to February 22,  2020, and hopefully safer, date that would permit all members of our community to gather in a spirit of celebration and congratulation. The Fashion Jam was to mark a significant shift on focus, with students from our Secondary School planning and performing a fashion parade for the school community featuring student designs.

The circumstances that necessitated the closure of schools across the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region are complex, yet visibly simple. Road closures and disruption to public transport services interrupted the freedom of movement in and around Hong Kong for a large number of people. Some supported these acts, some opposed, and others merely found themselves caught in circumstances beyond their control. Children struggled to attend school; workers were prevented from attending their places of employment. Mainstream media and private social media have been overwhelmed with a constant barrage of visual and literary narratives and counter-narratives about the issues under debate. There is stark polarization of attitudes and aspirations in the wider community. For many, it is hard to discern fact from fiction.

This week’s reflection cannot avoid a fundamental question being contested at this time in Hong Kong: freedom. We are facing the age-old question concerning an individual’s right to exercise freedom and the extent to which such freedom may encroach on the rights of others to exercise their own freedom. One of the most influential works in western liberal political thought, On Liberty, was published 160 years ago by the English philosopher, John Stuart Mill. It has remained in print since the date of its first publication, mainly because even in the 21st century it offers a clear and useful discussion on the nature and limits of personal freedom. In On Liberty, Mill wrestles with some fundamental principles, such as the limitations of freedom, that remain relevant today. Should my freedom be restricted because my actions may interfere with right of others to exercise their own freedom? Mill was careful to categorize freedoms into ‘self-regarding’ (freedoms that only affect me) and ‘other-regarding’ (freedoms that affect others). His view on the limits of freedom and the power to curtail freedom is best expressed as follows:

 

        The only purpose for which power can be rightfully exercised over any member of a civilised community, against his will, is to prevent harm to others (Mill 2011 [1859])

 

The debate on what constitutes ‘harm’ has raged across the ages. The demarcation between what is harmful to one, but beneficial to another is deeply concerned with the legitimate exercise of power in a ‘civilised community’. The social contract that we all enter into when we become part of a community dictates that we do not enjoy infinite freedom, as some things we do may harm others. There are many dimensions to this issue of harm. Civilised communities set rules to determine the limits of freedom and to reduce or eliminate the harm we might inflict on others. In the same spirit, the freedoms experienced in one community may not necessarily be imposed on another.

The right to express dissenting views is a particularly sensitive issue, especially because its suppression denies the community an opportunity to see things from alternative perspectives. When an individual or group seeks to impose a view, to the exclusion of others, through coercion, bullying, fear, or violence, harm is the end result.

I believe the most effective defence against this human tendency to inflict harm through the suppression of other views in society is a rich and comprehensive education. Through learning, our children learn to engage with ideas, assess their relative merits, judge their virtue against moral and legal principles, and make informed decisions. This process develops agility of mind, openness to alternatives, and factual conviction. It inoculates against a form of acquired blindness that asserts a prejudice that my own views are the only ones that matter. Aristotle, often misquoted, offered the following thought about education:

 

        …for it is the mark of an educated person to search for…clarity in each topic (Aristotle 1908 [350BC]).

 

As learners, we search for clarity and understanding; we don’t deny ourselves the opportunity to gain enlightenment; we don’t suppress or neglect uncomfortable or inconvenient perspectives. It is a lifelong search. This is all the more reason for us, as a learning community, to lament the closure of schools in the past week.

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

 

 

 

References

Aristotle (1908 [350BC]). "The Nicomachean Ethics." Retrieved 17 November, 2015, from http://classics.mit.edu/Aristotle/metaphysics.html.

Mill, J. S. (2011 [1859]). On Liberty. London, Project Gutenberg EBook.

 

Quick Menu

論自由

論自由

2019年11月22日

我得承認,本週通吿很難落筆。因為存在明確而現實的危險,威脅孩童返校安全,香港教育局迫於形勢,決定宣布學校和幼稚園停課。前後共停課一週,學生沒學可上。停課的另一個後果,我們不得不採取艱難而必要的措施,將我校年度慶典 —— 2019的JAM活動,推遲至2020年2月22日,我們希望是安全的日子,以便弘立社群所有人都能在歡慶與祝福的氣氛中愉快相聚。時尚JAM標誌著一場重心的轉移,弘立中學部的同學們將為全校籌劃並演出由學生們自己設計的時尚秀。

迫使學校停課及彌漫整個香港特別行政區的社會環境,既十分複雜,又簡單明顯。堵塞道路干擾公共交通的行為,妨礙了大多數港人的自由出行,有些人支持,有些人反對,其他人無力嘆息,對此境況束手無策。孩子們無法到校,上班族被阻撓前往工作場所。主流媒體和個人社交媒體充斥著對爭議事件鋪天蓋地的視像和文字的敘述和反敘述。在更廣大的社區中,人們的態度和期望都呈現嚴重的極端化。對於許多人而言,區分事實與幻想並不容易。

這週的反思無法避開一個基本問題,一個在香港被反復質疑的問題,那就是:自由。我們正在面對一個長期的話題,關於個人行使自由的權利,以及行使此種自由至何種程度方能不侵犯他人行使其自由的權利。西方自由政治思想最具影響力的著作之一,就是英國哲學家約翰.斯圖亞特.穆勒寫於160年前的《論自由》。自其首次出版發行以來,至今不斷再版,主要是因為,即使在二十一世紀,此書也能提供個人自由的本質與界限的清晰而有益的討論。《論自由》一書中,穆勒反復闡述一些基本原則,比如自由的界限,這在今天仍然適用。當我的行為可能影響其他人行使其自由時,我的自由應被限制嗎?穆勒十分謹慎地將自由分成「與己有關」(只影響到自己的自由)和「涉及他人」(影響到其他人的自由)兩種。他的有關自由界限以及限制自由的權力的觀點,可以這樣來表達:

 

在文明社會,只有在為了避免傷害他人時,我們才可以不顧本人的意願,對社區內的成員正當地行使限制自由的權利。(穆勒 2011【1859】)

 

什麼構成「傷害」,這一爭論一直以來從未停止。對一個人有害而對另一個人有益的分界線,與在「文明社區」中合法使用權力息息相關。我們成為社區之一員,全都受社區契約的約束,根據社區契約,我們不可能享受無限的自由,因為有些事情會傷害到其他人。傷害有許多維度。文明社區制訂規則,來決定自由界限,減少或消除我們可能加於他人的傷害。本著同樣的精神,在一個社區享有的自由也許並不必然要適用於另一社區。

表達不同觀點的權利,是一項特別敏感的話題,尤其是因為壓制不同觀點將剝奪社區從不同角度看待事物的機會。當個體或團體試圖通過威脅、欺凌、恐嚇或暴力來實施一種觀點或排斥其他人時,傷害就必定是最終結果。

我相信,要避免社會上因壓制他人言論而實施傷害的人類傾向,最有效的方式莫過於提供豐富和完善的教育。通過學習,我們的孩子能接觸各種觀念,評價各自優勢,以道德和法律原則判斷其價值,從而做出全面明智的決策。這個過程能夠鍛煉思維的敏捷性,培養對不同選擇的開放性,以及對事實的信念。它防止一種習得性的盲目,這種形式的「失明」者,會偏頗地斷言,我的觀點是唯一重要的觀點。亞裡士多德,就對教育提出了以下想法:

 

……因為這正是每一個受過教育的人擁有的印記,他們會尋找……在每一個課題中的精確性。

(亞裡士多德1908,公元前350年)

 

作為學習者,我們追求清晰性和對事物的理解,我們不會去阻擋受教的機會,我們不會壓制或忽略令人不適或不便的任何觀點。這是一項終身的追尋。這是我們作為一個學習的社群,對過去一週關閉學校而感到遺憾的原因。

 

查永茂博士

總校長

 

參考書籍:

亞裡士多德(1908)【公元前350年】,《尼各馬哥倫理學》,2015年11月7日,摘自http://classics.mit.edu/Aristotle/metaphysics.html

穆勒,J.S. (2011[1859]).《論自由》,倫敦,古登堡電子書項目

快捷選單