On Human Language: our social operating system

On Human Language: our social operating system

One of my favorite quotes from the field of learning theory is the famous dictum from the brilliant Russian thinker, Lev Vygotsky, who championed the idea that children do not learn in automaton-like fashion, driven by an internal mechanism, but through the human interactions into which each child’s life becomes increasingly interwoven from birth. Vygotsky claimed that “through others, we become ourselves (Vygotsky, 1987, p. 105).”

Human society is innately and inextricably connected. We are socialized from before birth: the unborn fetus knows the sound of its mother’s voice. In the post-natal years, children explore their world through the senses by interacting with the adults and other children with whom they have contact. Helpless in ways that are unique to humans, our social bonds, beginning with our parents, provide the lifeline that leads into adult independent life.

The tool or artefact that facilitates our interconnectivity, the human societal ‘operating system’, if you will, is language – at all levels and through all means aural, visual, tactile, even olfactory. We are constantly emitting and receiving ‘signals’ from those around us; even phenomenal communication guides human likes and dislikes at an instinctive level.

In fact, the helplessness of the newborn creates the very condition that makes language necessary. If, like other mammals, newborn humans could stand, walk, and feed themselves within hours of birth, language would be impossible and in fact, unnecessary. Human language is an essential manifestation of the parent-child co-dependency bond. Mothers (and fathers!) are biologically compelled to care for newborns, who in turn are compelled by their physical needs to try by any means possible to communicate those needs to their careers. Each fulfils the needs of the other and a framework of communication is created as a result. Human language is a product of this biologically unique symbiotic relationship.

Even when alone, we act out of our social conditioning. This capacity to connect socially and learn as a result is our most powerful survival skill in our early years. Interestingly, the ‘window’ for language development is quite narrow, in chronological terms. In some unusual historical cases, children deprived of any human contact during their formative years can never really master spoken language, even when intensively tutored. Our brains are most receptive to the development of human language when driven by our physical and emotional needs at birth and for the years that immediately follow. It is the richness of the family social interaction and the associated languages that stimulate the child to extend their senses to experience the world, both directly, but importantly, through others.

We are the ‘others’ through which our children grow and learn. We carry a heavy burden of responsibility to ensure that the lived social and cultural environment of our children is full of sights and sounds, words and symbols, puzzles and wonder, rich with meaning and knowledge, all of which serve to help them become their adult selves.

 

 

 

 

Vygotsky, L. S. (1987). The Genesis of Higher Mental Functions. In R. Reiber (Ed.), The History of the Development of Higher Mental Functions (Vol. 4, pp. 97-120). New York: Plenum.

 

 

Quick Menu

關於人類語言:我們的社會運行體系

關於人類語言:我們的社會運行體系

我最喜歡引用俄國卓越的思想家列夫.維果茨基在學習理論方面的名言,他宣稱兒童並非自動會學,並非內在機制驅動,而是出生後逐漸通過與之深度交織的社會互動環境來學習。維果茨基認為「借助他人,我們成就自己。」 (維果茨基,1987,第105頁)

人類社會天生而內在地相互聯接。我們自呱呱落地即已社會化:母腹中的胎兒能夠分辨母親嗓音的特質。出生後,嬰兒通過與之接觸的成人和其他孩童的互動感受來探索這個世界。人類獨有的方式表現出的無助感,從與父母互動開始的社會紐帶,為未來成年後的獨立生活打下了伏筆。

語言,是促進我們互聯互通的工具或人造產品,或者有些人更願意稱之為人類社會的「運行體系」,它是全方位,多手段。我們通過聽覺、視覺、觸覺,甚至嗅覺不斷向周圍人發射及接收「信號」,以致信息素的交流,也會影響人類本能的好惡判斷。

事實上,新生嬰兒的無助,創造了使語言成為必要的先天條件。如果像其他哺乳動物一樣,新生的人類在幾小時內就可以站立、行走和自己進食,語言功能將不會成為必須,也就無從發展。人類語言是親子共同依賴關係的重要表現。生物意義上的母親(以及父親!)被迫照顧新生兒,新生兒反過來又被生理需求所迫,努力使用一切方式將自身需求傳遞給照顧他的人。每一次滿足了對方需求時,溝通框架得以創立。人類語言正是生物學上獨特共生關係的產物。

即使獨自一人,我們也會基於社會環境而調整行為。這種社會聯繫能力和學習能力,恰是我們幼年最強大的生存技能。有趣的是,按時間順序,語言發展的「窗口期」十分短暫。在一些非同尋常的歷史案例中,若兒童在其語言形成時期被剝奪人類交往,即使後期進行語言強化訓練,終其一生亦仍將無法真正掌握口語。我們的大腦在出生以及隨後幾年的身體和情感需求的驅動下,最容易接受人類語言的發展。正是豐富的家庭社交互動以及相關的語言交流,起到直接且十分重要的作用,激勵著孩子通過借助他人,來拓展自身感官以體驗世界。

我們正是孩子生長和學習的「他人」。我們肩負著沉甸甸的責任,要確保孩子們所生活的社會與文化環境裏擁有充分的視聽刺激,文字和符號,謎題和奇跡,以及豐富的意義和知識,這些都有利於幫助他們塑造成年自我。

 

 

 

 

 

維果茨基,L.S.(1987)《高級心理功能的起源》,摘自R. Reiber主編的《高等精神功能發展史》(第4卷,第97-120頁)。紐約:普萊南出版社。

 

 

快捷選單