Packing for The Journey

Packing for The Journey

May 22, 2020

After a long period of e-learning, we have been delighted to welcome back students to our school this week. Over the next few days, we hope to open up for the lower grades to return as well. These events, while perhaps small in themselves, are important signs of a world seeking a return to business as usual. Classrooms have once more echoed with the happy clamour of active learning; teachers have reconnected with each other and their students in person; and many friendships, temporarily dormant, or heavily filtered by social media, have been brought back to life. It is a time of renewed hope for the future. 

11

While the time remaining in the academic year is limited, these final weeks do give us a valuable opportunity to achieve closure, say farewell to an extraordinary year, and perhaps make sense of what we have accomplished over the past months. Our year-end graduations and advancements will most likely be heavily modified or virtual —— we can embrace each other in triumph, but only at a distance. These events will, nonetheless, convey a celebratory spirit that we hope will resonate throughout the ISF community and give us heart for next year.

As we reflect on the year now ending, unlike any other in my experience, with its starts and stops, ups and downs, and its many highs and lows, it is reasonable to ask of ourselves what we have learned that is of lasting value. We can agree on the things we would prefer to forget, I am sure. In the very Deweyan sense, however, we should also ask how those things that really matter, that resonate and endure, will shape our lives, thoughts, and actions in the future. Experiential learning at its best creates the possibility for further educative experiences in the future.

At a time when global physical travel is largely in recess, it seems appropriate to invoke the metaphor of the journey as we prepare for an uncertain future. We are indeed going to a place we have never been before. As with any journey, we need a packing list: what to bring and what to leave behind. We don’t want to be burdened with unnecessary baggage that will impede our progress. Where we are going will have its own troubles and cares, so we don’t need to bring those from the recent past. At the same time, the things that will aid us in a time of need in the future, those we must take with us. There are important choices here: what will sustain us in our onward journey? The maxim that we should pack light to travel fast seems appropriate. Agility is key.

Sifting through our personal experiences wrought in recent adversity, we may find some essential items to complete our packing list, things that are precious and true. Skills, character, temperament, knowledge, confidence, independence, resilience, and courage —— these are all things we may find within, if we look for them. No two lists will be exactly same, I suspect. I do hope, however, that during 2019-20 we have all discovered one or two deeper and perhaps unexpected truths about ourselves and those who are important to us.

We still have a little time left as we prepare to make our way to the departure gate in mid-August. Have you over-packed or made wise choices for 2020-21?

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

Quick Menu

整裝待發

整裝待發

2020年5月22日

經過一段長時間的網上學習,我們很高興歡迎學生本週回到校。再過幾天,我們也希望迎來低年級的學生回校上課。這一連串的事情看似微小,但卻是世界尋求恢復常態的重要標誌。教室裏再次迴響起積極學習的歡樂喧囂,老師和同事及學生重新有了面對面的聯繫,許多友情,儘管曾經處於休眠狀態或大量被社交媒體過濾了的,現在也恢復過來。這正是對未來重燃希望的時刻。

11

縱然本學年剩餘的時間有限,這最後幾週總算讓我們有一個圓滿結束的寶貴機會,告別這非比尋常的一年,又或許可以總結一下我們在過去幾個月的努力成果。我們的畢業與晉階典禮很可能會有重大變動或虛擬化 —— 我們仍可互相擁抱,即使是遙遙相對。無論如何,這種種安排都可以傳達出一種同喜共賀的精神,期望可以洋溢整個弘立社群,並為明年帶來新的希望。

當我們回顧即將結束的這一年,它的始與終、起與伏以及許多的高與低,都有別於我們過往的經歷。我們可以躬身自問,在這一年裏有什麼可以令你有所進益。我肯定我們都有一些寧願忘記的事情。然而,按杜威的理念來說,我們還應該問有哪些事情真正重要,哪些影響深遠而恆久,並且會塑造我們未來的生活、思想和行動。最好的體驗學習是,為將來的教育體驗締造更多可能性。

當全球旅遊活動大多處於停擺之際,我們正好借旅程為比喻,讓我們準備一個不確定未來的旅程。我們確實走進一個前所未見的世界。猶如所有旅行一樣,我們需要一個裝備清單:決定帶上甚麼留下甚麼。我們不想背負不必要的包袱,阻礙我們前行。我們要去的地方自有其問題和顧慮,所以我們不必帶著過往的煩惱與擔憂一同前往。與此同時,倘有些東西會為我們帶來未來所需,我們須讓它伴隨左右。我們面對的重要抉擇是,甚麼將支撐我們前行的道路?常言道,我們要「輕裝上路,疾速前行」。敏捷是關鍵。

若從近期的逆境之中篩選出一些個人經歷,我們可能找到一些必備東西完善我們的裝備清單,那些都是寶貴而真實的。技能、性格、氣質、知識、自信、獨立、韌力和勇氣 —— 若我們細心找尋,相信總會發現。沒有兩份清單是完全相同的,但我確實希望,在2019-20學年,我們都會發現一兩個關於自己、且相當重要的事實,既深入又可能令人意想不到。

距離8月中旬預期抵達登機閘口前,我們還有一點點時間。你是否行裝過重,又可會為2020-21學年作出明智的選擇?

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單