Student Voice, Student Agency

Student Voice, Student Agency

There is a view among some parents that the main value of regular parent-teacher conferences is for there to be a bilateral exchange of information about the performance of the focus of the conference: the student. Some see this conference as a chance to find out from the teacher what is really going on, how their child is really performing. In an ultra-competitive setting like Hong Kong, there is likely to be an element of anxiety among some parents about their child’s academic performance and their ‘ranking’ in comparison to other students. Teachers also feel some degree of anxiety, not wanting to disappoint parents who may have unrealistically high expectations about their child’s academic abilities. The student is not seen as a necessary participant in this exchange.

If the published studies about disaffected students are any guide, one of the important elements missing in this transaction is student voice and what we might call ‘learner agency’. This view asserts that school students may feel that their own expectations and dreams are disconnected from the expectations of their parents and society at large and that they lack real power to have any direct influence over their education. They have their own hopes and dreams, but these seem to be unobtainable or unacceptable in the harsh world of adult realities. They feel powerless and directionless.

In seeking to find the all-important middle ground between parent performance anxiety and student disillusionment over misplaced expectation, we need to reduce the distance between what students and parents want from education, to strike a balance between expectations and outcomes. This is only possible through a tripartite negotiation that gives students a voice in the conversation. 

This week, we dedicated a considerable amount of school time to tri-conferences, where students sit with their teachers and parents to discuss their own learning, in their own words. Ideally, our students should feel safe and empowered to share their likes and dislikes, their strengths and weaknesses, their aspirations and disappointments.  Similarly, the adults in these conversations should take the time to listen carefully and attentively to what their children are saying and perhaps what they are not saying.

We should not lose sight of the fact that as our children mature, so too do their dreams and expectations. What they hope to become evolves and grows with age and experience. Parents should be a part of this dynamic process, shaping aspirations with wise advice, while listening actively, and supporting emotionally. We must accept that our children are not mere extensions of ourselves; they cannot vicariously fulfil our dreams – they must follow their own.

Ultimately, our children will only truly engage in building their own future when we give them agency. And student agency only develops when their future is something our children build themselves; it is not something that is done to them. This process starts when we welcome our children into the conversation with the adults in the room.

Quick Menu

學生的心聲,學生的自主權

學生的心聲,學生的自主權

有些家長認為,家長教師會的定期召開,其主要功能在於創造雙方信息交流,聚焦學生從而了解孩子在校狀況;有些家長認為,此會提供良好機會,從老師那兒知悉學校現狀以及孩子的真實表現。在香港這樣一個超級競爭社會,部分家長之間很可能彌漫著一絲焦慮,孩子學業表現如何?他們相對於其他學生的「排名」如何?一些家長對孩子的學術能力有著不切實際的高預期,老師們則不想讓家長失望,從而同樣產生某種程度的焦慮。學生們呢?則往往被視為這場交流的非必要參與者。

根據已發表的關於學生不滿程度的研究告訴我們,在此項交流中缺失的重要一環,恰是學生之聲音以及我們所稱呼的「學習者的自主權」。有種觀點認為,學生可能會感覺他們自己的期待與夢想,總體上其實與家長和社會的期待無關,他們缺少真正的力量去對他們自己的教育做出直接的影響。他們已經擁有自己的希望和夢想,但這些希望和夢想在成人的嚴酷現實世界中,似乎是不可觸碰或不可接受的。他們感到無助與迷茫。

若想在家長對學生學業的焦慮,以及學生對錯位期望的幻滅之間尋找一個中間平衡點的話,我們需要了解學生與家長分別所要接受的是什麼樣的教育,並縮短兩者之間的差異,從而在期望與結果之間尋求平衡。通過三方對話,並在這場交流中給予學生表達的權利,才是唯一可行的路徑。

本週,我們花費相當多的時間安排三方會議,學生們與老師家長平等,用他們自己的話,來討論他們自己的學習。理想狀態下,我們的學生應會自信滿滿,說出他們的喜怒哀樂、優點缺點,以及他們的渴望與失望。同樣地,對話中的成年人也應當花時間認真而專注地聆聽孩子們說什麼,也許還要聽出弦外之音。

我們絕不能忽視事實,我們的孩子日漸成熟,他們的夢想與期待也日漸成熟。隨著年齡與閱歷的增長,他們的希望也在升騰,也在成長。家長們應當成為這個動態過程的一部分,用他們睿智的建議塑造理想,積極聆聽,並給予情感上的支持。我們必須接受我們的孩子不只是我們的延續,他們無法替代實現我們的夢想,他們必須遵循自己的夢想。

最終,只有當我們給回他們的自主權,我們的孩子才會真正投入地去建設他們自己的未來。只有在建設未來的權利掌握在他們自己的手中時,學生的自我代表意識才會壯大起來。在這間教室裏,我們歡迎孩子們加入這場與成年人的對話,這個過程開始了!

快捷選單