The Butterfly Effect: What it Means to be Truly Global

The Butterfly Effect: What it Means to be Truly Global

March 13, 2020

One only needs to glance at the headlines from news channels around the world this week to appreciate how truly ‘global’ the world in which live has become. I am not necessarily referring to the growing geographical spread of COVID-19 cases, a phenomenon that is alarming enough and a direct threat to our health. I am thinking more of the shared, almost global human behavioral responses to the perceptions of danger arising somewhat indirectly from the impact of a relatively small number of individuals becoming unwell in different parts of the world.

From China to Europe, Malaysia to South Korea, Australia to the United States, we are witnessing a very real manifestation of the ‘butterfly effect’, where non-linear or exponential changes occur in complex global systems in response to localized events. Originated by Professor Edward Lorenz, an MIT expert on meteorology, this idea later evolved into the branch of mathematics known as ‘chaos theory’(see J. Vernon, Understanding the Butterfly Effect, American Scientist, May 2017, https://www.americanscientist.org/article/understanding-the-butterfly-effect ). Intriguingly, it points to the phenomenon of a form of highly sensitive interconnectivity that allows small inputs at the right time in the right place to exert disproportionate impacts in other parts of large systems, often at a great distance from the originating event. It is inherently volatile and unpredictable.

In this regard, some recent events are worthy of our attention. The sudden panic buying of certain products in Hong Kong supermarkets last month has now been replayed in countries around the world. Consumers, responding to social media rumors that have shown a remarkably virus-like pattern of global transmission, converged on retail outlets to strip supermarket shelves of commodities that rumors claimed would be in short supply. Perplexingly, some of this panicked consumer behavior occurred in places with extremely robust production and supply chain infrastructure, in countries that are largely independent of short-term interruptions to international transportation. Authority figures offering reassurances were largely ignored in this human tidal wave of seemingly irrational behavior.

One image shared around the world on twitter, depicting the panic buying of rice, proved to be a particularly vivid example of this phenomenon of viral messaging. Its origin was variously cited with ‘eye-witness’ accuracy as Ontario, British Columbia, California, and Washington. In fact, it seems that no one can say with any certainty where the image was taken. The power of a single image to influence a large number of people in different locations around the world to go out and purchase rice, however, is compelling evidence of the impact of the ‘butterfly’, and our global interconnectedness.

In the current state of global anxiety, as governments, private institutions, and even families are making decisions that will reverberate for years to come, it has been hard to maintain objectivity. Stock markets are in turmoil. Policy responses as well as individual decisions are being developed in often highly politicized and emotionally charged circumstances, where logic has been in short supply. For example, in the face of escalating demands for the curtailment of freedom of movement, authorities such as the World Health Organization have advised policies restricting trade and travel are largely ineffective in managing the very real public health issue, and in fact may work against effective cooperation to contain the virus. Even this expert advice is facing fierce local opposition in concerned communities around the world. On social media, wildly inaccurate rumors are legion.

What is the thoughtful, mature individual to make of all this? Do we stock up on rice and cleaning products? Do we stay home to protect ourselves? How should we make informed and rational choices at such a point in history? How can we keep our heads when all about us are losing theirs?

We can see that no community is immune, no one is beyond the impact of the COVID-19 ‘butterfly’. Its secondary effects have generated unhelpful responses and behaviors globally, and this underlines just how thoroughly connected we are at this time in human history. It would appear that we are intimately linked physically, emotionally, psychologically in ways that we do not understand and cannot easily control. What should be a strength – the capacity to draw on the collective intelligence, experiences, wisdom, and resources of the entire human race – reveals itself as a vulnerability. When the dominoes start to fall, how can we avoid the chain reaction to stand tall? 

While it is difficult to propose a comprehensive solution to the complexities of the butterfly effect in the current crisis, it is perhaps common sense to point to some important lessons from history, to draw on the power of experience, both global and personal for foresight and insight. Our innate capacity to adapt, learn, and evolve ways to overcome should give us confidence that this too shall pass. Our self-reliance is critically important in creating a kind of circuit-breaker, where the behaviors of others do not necessarily evoke an uncritical and automatic response from ourselves. Drawing wisdom from the lessons of history, augmented by our own experience, we should have learned that despite hardships and adversity in the present, we will find a way through to a time in the near future when this too will become a part of the receding past. A time will come when rice and toilet paper are once more in abundant supply on our supermarket shelves and the butterflies of the world will go about their business without disturbing the universe. 

 

 

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

 

 

Sources:

World Health Organisation: https://www.who.int/ith/2019-nCoV_advice_for_international_traffic-rev/en/

New York Times: https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/08/technology/coronavirus-misinformation-social-media.html?action=click&module=Top%20Stories&pgtype=Homepage

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/08/opinion/coronavirus-altruism.html?action=click&module=Opinion&pgtype=Homepage

R. Kipling, If : https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/46473/if—

 

Quick Menu

蝴蝶效應:真正全球化的意義

蝴蝶效應:真正全球化的意義

2020年3月13日

我們只需要瀏覽一下本週全球新聞頻道的標題,就可體會到,現今我們所生活的這個世界,是多麼的「全球化」。這裏的「全球化」,並不單單特指新冠狀病毒的地域擴張,這本身實在令人震驚,亦直接威脅我們的健康。我思考得更多的,是某種風險多多少少間接地來自於相對少數患病個體帶來的影響,而當人們感知這種風險時,所做出幾乎全球性的共同反應。

從中國到歐洲,馬來西亞到南韓,澳大利亞到美國,我們正在見證一場極度真實的「蝴蝶效應」—— 在複雜的全球系統中,非線性或高增長的變化來自於對局部事件的反應。這個提法最初由麻省理工學院氣象學專家愛德華.洛倫茲教授提出,後來演變為被稱為「混沌理論」的數學分支(參見J.弗農,「理解蝴蝶效應」一文,《美國科學家》雜誌2017年5月刊,https://www.americanscientist.org/article/understanding-the-butterfly-effect)。有趣的是,它指出了一種高度敏感的互聯現象,該現象允許在對的時間對的位置出現的較小變量,在大型系統的其他部分產生不成比例的影響,通常與原始事件相距很遠,且易變而不可測。

在這方面,最近的一些事件值得我們關注。上個月香港超市突然爆發的某些商品恐慌搶購的情況,如今已在世界各國發生。社交媒體的謠言顯示出一種類似於病毒的全球傳播方式,消費者對此做出回應,湧向零售店,瘋狂搶購超市貨架裏傳言斷貨的商品。令人不解的是,消費者的一些恐慌行為發生在生產和供應鏈極為穩定健全的地方,發生在很大程度上不受短期國際運輸中斷所影響的國家。在這場看似非理性的人類行為潮流中,權威機構信誓旦旦的數據絕大部分被忽略了。

推特上有一張傳遍全世界的描繪人們恐慌搶米的圖片,特別生動地證明了此類消息的病毒性傳播的現象。圖片的源頭在不同的引用中均使用「親眼目睹」的字眼,自稱千真萬確發生在加拿大安大略省、卑詩省,美國的加利福尼亞州和華盛頓州。事實上,似乎沒有一個人能夠確切說出圖像的拍攝地點。但是,僅憑一張圖片,足以帶動全世界不同地區的大批人群,外出搶購大米。這正是「蝴蝶效應」影響力以及我們全球關聯性最有力的注釋。

在全球焦慮的當前情況下,政府、私人機構甚至每個家庭所做出的決策,將影響震盪未來數年,很難在這樣的情況下繼續保持客觀。股市動盪,政策回應和個體決定,往往在高度政治化和情緒化的環境中孵化成形,可能未必合乎邏輯。比如,面對不斷提升的要求減少行動自由的呼聲,世界衞生組織等權威機構已經建議,限制貿易和旅行的政策,在應對真正的公共衞生問題時,大概效果不彰,實際上還有可能阻礙遏制病毒的有效合作。但是,在世界各地受影響社區,即使是專家的建議,仍然遭到強烈反對。在社交媒體上,大量錯誤的謠言氾濫成災。

一個有思想、成熟的個體會如何看待這一切?我們需要儲備大米和洗護用品嗎?我們需要在家自我隔離保護自己嗎?在歷史的特殊時刻,我們應如何做出明智的抉擇?我們如何在舉世倉皇失措而能保持冷靜?

我們知道,沒有任何一個社區可以免疫,沒有任何一個人可以超然於新冠狀病毒的「蝴蝶效應」。它的次生影響波及全球,引發了不少於事無補的反應和行為,這恰恰凸顯我們目前的聯繫程度在人類歷史上前所未有。我們似乎在物質上、情緒上和心理上都以一種我們無法理解無法輕鬆駕馭的方式緊密聯繫在一起。我們本應具有的強大之處——利用人類的集體智力、經驗、智慧和資源的能力——卻恰恰作為弱項呈現出來。當骨牌開始倒塌時,我們如何避免連鎖反應而屹立不倒?

在當前的危機形勢下,我們很難提出完善的方案來解決蝴蝶效應的複雜性,此時此刻,很自然地,我們需要聚集全球和個人經驗,並從歷史上的一些重要教訓中汲取遠見卓識的能量。我們天生具備適應和學習的能力,能夠演化出克服困難的方法。這些能力足以賦予我們信心,相信這一難關必將渡過。在阻斷病毒路徑的時候,我們的自主自立能力至關重要。他人的行為沒必要引發我們自己的隨意自動的響應。從歷史教訓中汲取智慧,佐以我們自己的經驗,我們受益無窮。儘管當前有許多困難和逆境,但我們必將找到方法前行,不久的未來,這一切將成為正在消逝的歷史的一部分,大米和廁紙終將在超市貨架上大量供應,使世界各地的「蝴蝶」終將散去,而不至於干擾宇宙運行。

 

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

 

 

世界衞生組織:https://www.who.int/ith/2019-nCoV_advice_for_international_traffic-rev/zh/

紐約時報:https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/08/technology/coronavirus-misinformation-social-media.html?action=click&module=Top%20Stories&pgtype=Homepage

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/08/opinion/coronavirus-altruism.html?action=click&module=Opinion&pgtype=Homepage

R.吉百齡《假如》:https://bringyourenglishtolife.com/if-by-rudyard-kipling/

快捷選單