University Guidance and Careers

Contact Us

Phone: +852 2202 2043


Mrs. Jenny Craig

Secondary, Deputy Principal

ugcteam@isf.edu.hk


Ms. Ellie Tang

Senior University Guidance Counsellor 

etang@isf.edu.hk


Ms. Lynda Johnson-Lee

University Guidance Counsellor

ljlee@isf.edu.hk


Mr. Jim Faherty

University Guidance Counsellor

jfaherty@isf.edu.hk


Mr. Terence YAU

University Guidance Counsellor

kytyau@isf.edu.hk


Mr. Carson CHAN

UGC Administrator

yuchchan@isf.edu.hk

UGC Practices and Policies

The ISF Academy

Practices and Policies for Students Working with Secondary School 

University Guidance and Careers

Class of 2020

Honesty, trust and open/accurate communication are key to productive relationships among UGC counselors, students and their families. Working together to find good university matches and applying for admission is difficult work. Tertiary institutions look for integrity and honesty in information as they review student applications. Accordingly, and in keeping with The ISF Academy’s core values of the Eight Virtues + One, all students are expected to honor the following principles when working with the University Guidance Center.

1. NUMBER OF APPLICATIONS: The number of applications students submit to colleges and universities is based on their needs, circumstances and family preferences. Students apply to universities that are Reach, Match and Safety choices. The individual student’s predicted grades, test scores and personal strengths and needs are all considered. A general recommendation is for between 5 and15 university applications per student. Applications to the following systems count as one (1) application: UCAS, the University of California, the Ontario University Application Center. Students are expected to share their list with their UGC Counselor for review prior to submitting an application.

2. NUMBER OF COUNTRIES: Students are encouraged to think widely and apply to universities globally, according to student and family preferences. Institutions should be selected based on student credentials, interest in a course, university and costs. 

3. EARLY DECISION UNITED STATES vs. OXBRIDGE: An Early Decision (ED) application in the US is a legal commitment to go to that university if given an offer.  Therefore it is highly recommended that students do not both apply ED in the USA and to Oxbridge. The UGC team encourages Early Action (EA) applications to the United States with the balance of applications being Regular Decision (RD). If possible, non-US applications should be submitted by November for an earlier response.

4. INTERNAL vs. EXTERNAL DEADLINES: The UGC team sets internal deadlines for applications with the expectation that students meet these dates. This allows their UGC counselor to conduct application reviews and checking prior to external application submissions. All applications must be submitted two weeks prior to external deadlines.

5.TRANSCRIPTS:  The UGC team will send electronic transcripts to universities for ISF student applications. To ensure the integrity of the official ISF Academy transcript, only unofficial paper transcripts are given directly to students and their parents.

6. USE OF EDUCATIONAL AGENTS:  The use of external educational agents creates a difficult dynamic with the student, parents and the UGC counselors.  Applications that have been manipulated in any way by educational agents are summarily rejected by some universities in the US (e.g. Cornell and Northeastern – see below). No reason is given to the student for the rejection. Families who choose to use agents may jeopardize their student’s place in tertiary education. Institutions have also advised that the involvement of an agent in an admissions application may damage the reputation of the Academy and impact the prospects of other ISF students. If a family chooses to use an agent, we ask for transparency. Where a family chooses to use an agent, any additional assistance from the UGC will be at the discretion of the UGC team and the Head of School.     

7.DOUBLE DEPOSITS: Confirmation deposits should not be made to multiple schools without prior consultation with  the UGC team. Students should work closely with their UGC counselor to decide where they are depositing. Multiple offers across countries must be considered with great care and monitored closely with the assistance of the UGC counselors.

8. GAP YEAR/DEFERRAL: It is an expectation that all Seniors participate in the process of researching possible universities to attend with the UGC team, and apply for admission during their senior year. The ISF Academy supports UGC applications in the final years of Senior School with a clear expectation that all students will complete their applications prior to graduation.  Universities have different policies about how they handle a proposed gap year, but a request for a deferral is generally well received by universities who often make accommodations for a delay in matriculation.

 

I have read and understood the Secondary School UGC Practices and Procedures. In addition, I understand that if I am in breach of these practices and procedures, the ISF Academy reserves the right to withdraw UGC support.

 

Credentialing services or other forms of paid professional assistance:

Northeastern expects all applicants to submit an application (essays, transcripts, test scores, etc.) that is in its entirety completed by the applicant. No part of the application can be completed by persons (including paid agents, admissions support agencies, or personnel) other than the student applying for admission. Use of such services violates Northeastern policies, and will lead to the rejection of application materials, the revocation of an admissions offer, cancellation of admission, or involuntary withdrawal from the university.

Cornell University expects all applicants to complete their application materials without the use of paid agents or credentialing services.

 

註:若對上述英文字詞有不明白之處,敬請向升學輔導員查詢。

資格證明服務或其他形式的付費專業協助:

美國東北大學期望所有申請者親自提交完整的申請資料(個人自傳,成績單,測驗成績等)。過程中除申請學生外,任何部分均不得由(包括付費代理人,招生機構或人員)填寫。使用類似服務違反了美國東北大學的政策,並將導致拒絕申請,撤銷錄取通知,取消錄取或強制退學。

康乃爾大學希望所有申請人在不使用付費代理/資格認證服務的情況下完成申請手續。

 
 
Quick Menu

中學部-大學升學及就業輔導

聯絡我們

電話: +852 2202 2043


Jenny Craig女士

中學副校長

ugcteam@isf.edu.hk


Ellie Tang女士

高級升學輔導主任 

etang@isf.edu.hk


Lynda Johnson-Lee女士

升學輔導主任

ljlee@isf.edu.hk


Jim Faherty先生

升學輔導主任

jfaherty@isf.edu.hk


游敬賢先生

升學輔導主任

kytyau@isf.edu.hk


陳園澤先生

升學及就業輔導主任

yuchchan@isf.edu.hk

升學輔導組與學生訂定的協作流程

弘立書院中學部升學輔導組與學生訂定的協作流程

2020年畢業班

 

誠信及溝通是升學輔導員與學生及家長三方之間必備的關鍵要素。共同尋找合適的大學由申請直至錄取是一項艱鉅的任務。我們支持學生以最佳的方式去提出申請,透過學生申請提供完整及誠實的資料前提下,與大學建立信任和尊重,有效地發揮其學術成果。為秉承弘立書院八德一智的核心價值,當學生與弘立書院升學輔導組聯繫合作時,都應遵守以下守則:


 

1. 申請數量:升學輔導組會因應各個學生情況的需求而作出申請建議。希望根據每位學生的個人依據去作出合適的申請,包括Reach, Match 及Safety choices。每位學生的預測分數,測驗成績及個別強項都納入考慮因素,一般建議每位學生可申請5至15間大學,而UCAS,University of California 和Ontario University 則被視爲一項申請。學生應在提交申請之前與升學輔導員查閲並審核。

2.  升學國家的選擇:我們鼓勵學生廣泛思考並與家人討論後作出大學申請。他們應根據其資料蒐集結果,學生的承諾和對計劃或課程的熱忱,經濟狀況,家庭聯繫以及升學輔導組的諮詢意見等的各項前提下進行選擇。

3.  美國Early Decision與OXBRIDGE:Early Decision(ED)申請是指如果接獲大學的要約表示收到此大學的錄取承諾。 因此,我們強烈建議學生不要同時申請美國的Early Decision及OXBRIDGE。升學輔導組建議先申請Early Action(EA),其餘美國的大學可以按照正常時間申請。此外,建議在11月之前提交美國以外的申請,以便提前作出應對。

4.  校内及校外截止日期:升學輔導組會設定内部截止日期,目的是希望學生在此期限内完成有關手續,以便升學輔導組能夠有足夠時間在正規截止日期前檢閲所有資料。建議所有申請應在正規截止日期兩週前提交。

5.學術成績表: 升學輔導組會將學術成績表電子檔案本發送給學生所申請的大學。 然而,爲了維護弘立書院學術成績表的完整性,我們不會直接向學生或其父母發放學術成績表的正本或電子檔案本。

6. 使用教育升學中介人:在大學規劃過程中,外間的教育中介人往往令學生,家長和升學輔導員之間造成困擾。根據美國有些大學案例(例如:Cornell 和 Northeastern),可以在毫無原因之下立即拒絕學生透過教育中介人所代辦的申請。有見及此,弘立書院不建議及縱容使用教育升學中介人。若選擇透過中介人申請的家庭,此舉顯然會為學生帶來一定的風險,及有可能損毀弘立書院及學生的聲譽。如果家庭選擇透過教育中介人協辦,我們希望整個申請過程具備透明度。升學輔導組的協助將由學校總校長酌情決定。

7.  雙重留位費:未經升學輔導組許可,不應同時向多所學校付款用作留位確認。學生應與升學輔導組緊密聯繫合作以期作出慎重決定。務必注意並考慮各國大學的多重要約,必須要在升學輔導組的協助及密切監察下進行。

8.  空檔年/延期入學:由於弘立書院其中一個目標是為學生升讀大學作好準備,期望所有學生都通過大學資料蒐集與升學輔導組一起討論及跟進申請事宜。弘立書院明確地期望所有學生在五月畢業之前完成所有申請。各大學對處理空檔年存有不同政策,但普遍上大學都接受延期入學。

本人已經閲讀並理解升學輔導組與學生訂定的協作流程。此外,本人亦明白如果違反上述協作流程,弘立書院將將撤銷升學輔導組對你的協助。

 
 
快捷選單