Walls and Bridges: Locked Down or Linked Up

Walls and Bridges: Locked Down or Linked Up

At the Graduation Ceremony for the Class of 2019 last Friday, I spoke to our graduating class briefly about walls and bridges. The central idea of the message was that we are all, to an extent, ‘engineering’ our lives through our actions and choices.

At times, we may feel the need to build walls around ourselves, for protection, isolation, privacy, or clarity. Throughout our lives, we learn the ways and means by which to create boundaries between ourselves and others. Where we place those boundaries can be a reflection of personal choice or culture: the notion of personal space or proxemics in cultural studies is well documented (see The Hidden Dimension (1966)by Edward T. Hall). At some point in our lives, the childhood and adolescent ‘I’ might be enlarged to become a ‘we’: through the formation of intimate partnerships and close personal relationships; this is when our social boundaries – our ‘life walls’ – move outwards to accommodate others. In time, children may find a place inside our personal walls. There is a good reason for setting boundaries, either physical or abstract. Good fences make good neighbours is a time-honored principle when we seek to clarify what belongs to us and what does not, where we belong and where we do not.

Bridges, on the other hand, represent a completely different undertaking, whether it is a physical bridge or a metaphorical one. A bridge speaks to the idea of reaching out and taking risks. Bridges embody the spirit of exploration, connection, and communication. A bridge is a tool to overcome or surmount an obstacle that impedes our progress. At times, we may find that we can only go forward if we create a means to go under, over, around, or through the barrier. It is of course, the opposite of a wall. A bridge to another place, another person, another culture, makes a connection that experientially enlarges and enriches our lives. There is always a risk associated with building a bridge. You lose the protective quality of the wall. Bridges often cross challenging, difficult terrain to enter unknown territory. Bridges also work both ways: you can cross over, others can cross back as well. You are inviting the unknown into your space.

At a deeper level, walls speak of self-sufficiency and completeness; we want for nothing; further learning is not necessary, or desirable. Within the walls, you have all that is needed – nothing beyond the wall is of value. Bridges, on the other hand, invoke an exploratory spirit seeking to learn more and expand horizons. In building bridges, our intent is not to be boxed-in. Bridges create new possibilities, but also expose new hazards. We must learn to adapt, overcome, and grow as a result.

As engineers of our own lives, at different times we might find ourselves building walls or bridges. It is important to keep in mind that our fear may cause us to build walls, but our innate drive to learn compels us to build bridges. The poet Robert Frost, writing in the gathering storm clouds of World War One, perhaps best expresses a natural antipathy towards walls:

 

Something there is that doesn’t love a wall,

That wants it down…

 

From Mending Wall, by Robert Frost (1914).

 

 Hall, E. T. (1966). The Hidden Dimension. New York: Doubleday & Co.

 

 

Quick Menu

牆和橋:閉鎖還是連接

牆和橋:閉鎖還是連接

上週五2019屆畢業典禮上,我對畢業班簡單地談起牆和橋的寓意。我想表達的核心意思是,我們都在某種程度上,通過行為和選擇來「推動」各自的生命。

有時,我們可能會覺得需要在自身周邊築起高牆,或保護、或隔離,或尋求私密,或圖個清靜。窮此一生,我們都在學習如何在我們自己與他人之間樹立界限。何處設界,則可能是個人選擇或文化的折射:文化研究中有關個人空間或空間關係的概念,有不少這方面的闡述(參見愛德華‧霍爾所著《隱藏的維度》(1966))。在生命中的某個節點,比如孩提時代和青春期的「我」,通過各種親密伙伴關係與緊密個體關係,可以被擴大成「我們」;我們的社會界限 —— 我們的「生命之牆」—— 向外推展,從而將他人容納進來。假以時日,我們會逐步發現,我們的孩子也存在於我們之牆界限以內的地方。設定身體以及抽象意義上的界限,不無理由。「保持距離,友誼常青」,這句諺語經久不衰,歷久彌珍!我們努力將屬於我們和不屬於我們的事物界限清晰化,也尋求將我們所屬和我們不所屬的空間概念清晰化。

另一方面,橋,無論是實體還是象徵意義上的橋,卻代表著一個完全不同的理念。一座橋伸延而出,代表著主動與風險,象徵著探索,連接與溝通的精神,克服並跨越阻礙我們前進的障礙。有時,我們會發現,無論是穿越,跳越,繞開還是打破障礙,只要我們能夠創造出一種方式,我們便能夠一往無前。橋,恰恰與牆相反。一座橋伸向另一個地方,另一個人,另一種文化,構成一種連接,探索擴展並豐富著我們的生命。建一座橋,多少會存在風險。你失去牆的保護性內涵,你走過橋,跨越充滿挑戰的艱難地域,走入未知領域。橋也代表著雙向連接:你既然可以到橋那邊去,他人亦可以到橋這邊來。建一座橋,就是將未知因素納入你的空間。

從更深層次上講,牆意味著自我滿足自得圓滿;我們別無所求;多學一點既沒必要也不令人羨慕。牆內,你擁有一切,自給自足 ——  牆外的一切毫無價值。橋則相反,帶著探索鑽研的精神,努力博學廣見,努力拓展視野。建橋的意圖絕非固步自封。橋創造著可能性,也讓我們暴露在新的危險中。我們必須學會適應,學會克服,其結果,就是學會成長。

我們自己,就是我們自身生命的工程師!我們在不同時期可能會發現,自己恰在建造著牆或者橋。我們的恐懼可能導致我們去建牆,但我們學習的本能驅使我們去建橋,記住這一點尤為重要。詩人羅伯特‧弗洛斯特,在一戰陰雲密布之際寫下的詩句,表達對於牆的天然反感:

 

“……事物不喜歡被阻隔,它不喜牆

希望牆倒下……“

 

……摘自《修牆(Mending Wall)》,羅伯特‧弗羅斯特(1914)

 

霍爾,E.T.(1966):《隱藏的維度》紐約:道布爾戴出版社

快捷選單