We Are Our Choices: Sculptures in Time

We Are Our Choices: Sculptures in Time

May 18, 2018

As the Class of 2018 leaves our school today for the final time – now as graduates – I have been reflecting on the nature of the choices we prepare our children to make in the years that lie ahead of them.

It is a truism that we have little choice over the day of our birth. We participate, no doubt, but our entry into this world is not the product of a conscious choice on our part. Our childhood is filled with choices made for us by others: the colour and style of the clothes we wear, the types and tastes of the food we eat. Our childhood homes, the schools we attend, even our friendship groups, are selected for us, or shaped profoundly by decisions made by others, mostly our parents. In school, as the choices for pathways beyond graduation begin to exert a greater influence on our thinking, we take advice on subject choices based on the judgements of others: teachers, counsellors, parents, and examiners.

It is only as our individuality begins to emerge and become more assertive towards the end of our school years that we begin to exercise more adult-like autonomy. We begin to make choices that shape our adult selves in more visible ways. We develop our own taste in food, music, clothing, entertainment, and much more besides. Increasingly, we form independent views of the world around us. Ironically, some of these choices are the reactive product of opposition to the views of authority figures.

In many ways, we are like life sculptures, emerging over time, slowly, painfully, joyfully, lovingly from a piece of pure stone. We are compelled to live, as the sculptor is compelled to sculpt. Each choice, each decision is like a small chip or sliver of stone that, once removed, reveals a little more of the ‘real’ person that lies beneath the surface. In sculpture, a small piece of stone, once removed, cannot be replaced. In life, a choice, once made, cannot be unmade – we cannot turn back the clock. Our quirks and foibles, like minor blemishes in stone, are enduring marks of our individuality. To the objective, critical eye, our shape may not be perfect. We are, however, perfect, unique reflections of our choices and decisions.

To the Class of 2018: choose carefully, choose wisely, but choose you must.

      3c03ae50af1f621ef902d59f62b6be7cThought by Auguste Rodin, Musée d’Orsay

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

Quick Menu

我選故我在:雕塑當下

我選故我在:雕塑當下

2018年5月18日

終於到了2018畢業班離開弘立的最後時刻,我不斷地思索,孩子們將走上各自的未來,我們協助他們做出各種選擇,可這些選擇究竟意味著什麼?其實質又如何?

眾所周知,我們對於自己的出生,並沒有多少選擇。不錯,呱呱墜地,我們有份參與,但生而為人,絕非理性選擇的結果。童年,永遠充斥著他人替代我們做出的選擇:穿衣風格,顏色搭配,食物種類,菜品口味。我們兒時的家,所上的學校,甚至是我們的朋友圈,要麼是他人替我們選擇,要麼是受到極大影響下的有限選擇。大多數情況下,父母代表我們做決定。在學校,隨著畢業之後的道路選擇,開始對我們的思維產生更大影響,我們亦會綜合老師、輔導員、家長和考官的學科選擇觀點,聽取建議。

惟有個性顯現,自信升騰,我們方能在校園生活結束之際,正式擁有並主張更多的像成年人一般行事的自主權。我們做出自己的選擇,這些選擇是以更鮮明方式塑造成年自我的開始。我們在吃、穿、玩以及聽什麼音樂等各個方面逐步主張自己的品味。我們日益形成對周遭世界的獨立觀點。具有諷刺意味的是,某些選擇恰是在反抗權威人物觀點過程中形成的對立性產物。

從許多方面來看,我們自身如同一尊尊生命的雕塑,從一塊完整的未有塑形的粗石開始,經歷過緩慢、痛苦、狂喜、趣味的各種滋味,隨著時間的推移,磨礪蛻變而成雕塑的形狀。我們不得不生存,猶如雕塑家不得不去雕刻。每一個選擇,每一個決定就如同刻刀下的石屑或石片,每移除一些,都會揭示出更多藏在表面之下的「真我」。刻刀下移除的石塊,無論多小,都無法重來。生活亦如是,選擇一旦做出,便不可能被取消 ——我們無法令時光倒轉。我們的怪癖和弱點,猶如石上的小瑕疵,恰是個性的永恆標記。如果用純客觀批判性的眼神來審視,我們的形狀未必完美。然而,我選故我在,我們恰是自身的選擇和決定的最獨特投射。

寄語2018年畢業班:選擇,須謹慎;選擇,須明智;但選擇,首先須為之!

      3c03ae50af1f621ef902d59f62b6be7c《沉思》奧古斯特.羅丹,巴黎奧賽博物館

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單