Welcome to the 2018-19 Academic Year!

Welcome to the 2018-19 Academic Year!

August 10, 2018

I hope all members of the ISF community have had an enjoyable summer that was both restful and stimulating. I look forward next week to sharing stories of travels and adventures over the past two months when we return to normal school operations.

As you may have already learned through our community communications, we start our new year in a celebratory mood arising from the excellent IB results achieved by the Class of 2018 – the best results in our 15-year history. We are proud of the efforts of our students, all of whom received their diploma, including two perfect scores of '45'. At the same time, we are grateful for the professional efforts of our teachers and the sustained support of parents at home; together we have helped to produce such a wonderful set of results. The 36 members of the Class of 2018 are now preparing for their first year of studies in colleges and universities around the world. We wish each of them every success in their studies.

We now turn our attention and collective efforts to supporting the students who will call The ISF Academy 'home' in the coming year. In particular, we offer a heartfelt welcome to those students beginning their first year at ISF; we also offer our support and encouragement to the Class of 2019 as they commence their final year of school!

Similarly, we offer a warm, sincere welcome to those teachers and support staff who are commencing their professional journey with the ISF community – be welcome!

This month, we have reached an important institutional milestone: 15 years have now passed since our founding in 2003. Starting with just 56 students in 2003, we now have an enrolment of just over 1,800 students in the Academy. In order to celebrate the 15th anniversary, we are planning to stage a series of events over the coming months to mark this important occasion. The ISF Jam in November will be the principal focus of these celebrations.

With the completion of A Block and C Block, we are all looking forward to a 'quieter' year. The C Block rooftop is nearing completion, but will need registration by the Education Bureau before it is ready for student use. Building progress in the redevelopment of Professor Sir Charles Kao Square has been steady, but we still need a bit more time to complete this important project. Navigation around this space will require a bit of patience, as there is no direct pathway through the square yet.

As noted in earlier communication, the 2018-19 academic year will see the formal commencement of preparations for our re-accreditation through the Council of International Schools and the Western Association of Schools and Colleges. This is a vitally important task that will require the collective efforts of the entire community. Please support us as we go through this important process of self-examination and self-evaluation: it is an essential part of making our school the best place possible for learning.

Again, please accept my best wishes for a successful academic year!

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard
Head of School

Quick Menu

歡迎來到2018-19學年!

歡迎來到2018-19學年!

2018年8月10日

我希望弘立社群所有成員都已享受美妙暑假,既休生養息,又刺激帶勁。下週,我們恢復正常學校運作,我期待著聆聽兩個月來的旅行和冒險故事的分享。

你也許已在之前的弘立通告中了解到,我校2018年畢業班取得了極其優異國際文憑成績,考出了我校15年來歷史上最好成績,讓新學年洋溢著歡樂喜慶的氣氛。我們為學生的努力感到自豪,不僅全部考取文憑,更獲得兩個「45分」滿分的佳績。同時,我們感謝老師們在校的專業努力,感謝家長們在家的持續支持;我們齊心協力,收獲精彩!2018年畢業班的36名成員正準備在世界各地的大學和學院展開第一年大學學習。我們祝福他們每一個人,一切順利,學業有成。

我們現在轉而關注並共同幫助與支持未來一年將以弘立書院為「家」的同學們。我們特別向在弘立開始第一年學業的同學們表示由衷的歡迎;我們也向2019年最後一年畢業班提供支持和鼓勵!

同樣,我們也歡迎那些即將在弘立踏上他們職業道路的教職員工—— 歡迎加入弘立!

本月,弘立在建制上已然邁入重要里程碑:自2003年創校,15個年頭倏忽而過。從2003年僅有56名學生開始,弘立書院現已招收超過1,800名學生。為慶祝15周年校慶,我們計劃在未來幾個月舉辦一系列活動以誌銘記。11月的弘立 Jam,將是各類慶祝活動的集大成者。

隨著A座和C座的封頂,我們翹首以盼一個「更安靜」的學年。C座樓頂即將完成,但仍需教育局註冊備案方能供學生們使用。高錕教授廣場重建工程,進展穩定,但仍需要一些時日方能完工。目前狀況下,直通路徑尚未投入使用,蜿蜒繞過廣場,需要點兒耐心。

正如之前的通告所述,2018-19學年將正式啟動並籌備國際學校委員會和美國西部學院協會重新認證。這項任務至關重要,需要整個社群通力合作。在這一重要的自我檢查和評估過程中,請支持我們:欲使我校躋身最佳學習場所,此舉不可或缺!

再次預祝大家學年成功學業有成!

查永茂博士
總校長

快捷選單