AI與人面的學習

AI與人面的學習

2020年2月28日

隨著我們第一個月的電子教學模式接近尾聲,本週的通告將討論人的本質在教與學中不可或缺的方面。

在上一篇通告中,弘立的一位家長與我們深入探討了榜樣的概念和它對教學的影響。作者通過榜樣來強調,教學是基於「行動超越知識」這一原則。通過行動,我們從單純的抽象概念上升一個層面,賦予它物質型態,我們的世界中因此有了語言變為行動的地方。在學習的過程中,優秀榜樣的作用不可低估。

近年很多文章都提到了人工智能(也就是AI)的崛起,和它對事物日益增長的影響力。如果你最近用帶有AI功能的設備或服務寫文章時,你也許感受到了人工智能在你組織想法時對你的引導。這是在文本編輯上更進一步,這樣的系統能夠更具體更複雜地預測你將要書寫的內容。這樣的AI功能可能幫你完成句子或者根據所寫信函的類型組織字母的格式。這種預測是基於大量被編程在設備中的先例而產生的。但是,現在的人工智能還不能讀懂你的想法或自發創造新的交流類型與想法。因為缺少先天的想像力,人工智能需要依賴已存在的例子。

人工智能領域還有更多令人嘆為觀止、影響世界的革新正在開發,這些革新可以改變我們生活和學習的方式。許多政府和教育學家正在研究如何利用AI改變教育領域,尤其是改變學校的教學方式。基於現有的課程,AI老師可以傳授知識內容,而且通過在互動中對學生反應的分析,AI老師可以在程序參數範圍內調整,以更好地滿足學生的個人需求。AI老師永遠不會覺得疲倦乏味、過於情緒化、需要休假,或者死於嚴重的疾病。它會以可預測、預設好的方式,從而「表現」出非人的穩定性和耐心。除了研發和生產的經費,AI的使用成本主要是能源成本,是十分適度且穩定的。一個AI老師可以被實體複製,或者通過網絡與世界上任何一個角落溝通,來為許多人或者個人傳授教學內容。這是一種極其節省成本地向多人提供教育的方式。

接受電子教育的學生,他們的家長正在提前感受未來的教育方式。受政府停課的安排而在家的學生,通過電子的方式與老師和其他同學互動。每節課根據教學大綱被預早設計準備。課程的成功傳授依賴於學生有意義地參與,完成布置和分配的作業,複習已經學過的內容,為下一節課做好準備。網絡平台和相關的工具提供了電子教學的教育「生態系統」。未來,以人工智能為基礎的教育系統也會十分類似。

如同家長們反饋,這個系統中存在許多實質的挑戰。對於學生及學習狀況的現場監督還是十分必要的。尤其是年幼的學生,也許不太容易保持專注力和參與度。一些學生在與其他學生和線上老師的溝通中也不夠自覺。技術故障和網速限制會影響課程的傳輸。家長在場陪伴監督十分必要,以提供促進學習的行為支架。在教育端驅動教學活動的人類智慧可以適應各種變化的情況、根據學生的個人能力調整要求,考慮學生的疲勞感,適時提供支持,總體引導;能夠做到這些,依賴的是人類智慧的靈活性、創造力和對人類學習的深刻理解。但是,因為沒能親身在場,這一點,即人類智慧的功能被距離削減、弱化了。

根據我們現有的經驗,我們可以說電子溝通並不能取代直接的人類溝通,以人工智能為基礎的教育也無法複製人類的學習過程。我們從本質上來說是社會生物,我們通過與身邊人的人際溝通才能最愉快最成功地生活、學習。但是,從更深的一個層面上來說,這也表明了一個元素的重要性,就是在教育中活躍的人類想象力,它能夠提供生動的例子,實現把新想法變為新穎行動的神奇轉變。具有啟發性的榜樣無法被程序編排,也沒有既定的演變腳本:他們見人所未見,想人所未想,做人所未做。

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單

The Human Face of Learning

The Human Face of Learning

February 28, 2020

As we reach the end of our first month operating in an e-learning mode, this week’s reflection considers the essential human dimension of teaching and learning.

In an article written by a member of the ISF parent community published in our last whole school circular, the notion of the exemplar and its power to inform learning was explored in some detail. The principle underpinning the emphasis placed by the author on teaching through example is the notion that actions transcend knowledge. By doing, we rise above mere abstract knowledge about something to give it a physical manifestation; it is the place in our world where words become deeds. The importance of the virtuous role model in this learning transaction cannot be overstated.

There has been much written in recent years about the rise of artificial intelligence or AI and its growing influence on the world of things. If you have written any form of text on an AI-enhanced device or service recently, you have probably experienced the gentle touch of an artificial intelligence guiding you as you frame ideas. This is the next step beyond predictive text prompts, where the system anticipates what you are about to write in more detail and complexity. Such AI functions may finish sentences for you or format letters in configurations appropriate for the genre of correspondence being composed. This form of anticipation is based on a wealth of previous examples that are programmed into the routines in the device. At this point in time, however, an AI cannot read your thoughts and it cannot create new genres of communication or ideas ab initio. Lacking innate imagination, it needs pre-existing examples from which to draw.

There are more breath-taking and world-shaping innovations in the field of AI under development right now that have the potential to change the way we live and learn. Many governments and educators around the world are looking to AI to change the field of education and particularly the way we teach in schools. Drawing on the existing curriculum, an AI teacher would deliver content, but adapt within programmed parameters to the individual needs of learners based on its understanding of responses provided by the learner during interactions. An AI teacher will never grow tired, get bored, become irrationally emotional, go on holiday, or succumb to a viral illness. It will ‘behave’ in predictable, pre-programmed ways with inhuman consistency and patience. Beyond the development and production costs, the consumables, essentially power consumed to operate the AI teacher, are modest and predictably stable. An AI teacher can be replicated physically or communicated digitally to any corner of the globe, delivering content to many or just the one learner. It is a supremely cost-effective way of delivering education.

Parents of children in e-learning mode at the moment are perhaps enjoying a foretaste of what it might be like to have a child educated in this way in the future. Housebound by government-mandated school closures, students interact with their teachers and other students electronically. Lessons are prepared in advance according to a curriculum plan. Their successful delivery relies on students to engage, participate meaningfully, undertake assigned tasks, and review learning in preparation for the next lesson. Online platforms and associated tools provide the educational ‘ecosystem’ in which e-learning takes place. An AI-based system of education in the future might look very similar.

As parents have reflected, there are some fundamental challenges in this system. On-site supervision of learners and learning is still necessary. Young learners in particular, may not find it easy to stay focused or engaged. Some learners are not disciplined in their interactions with other students or their online teachers. Technical glitches interfere and bandwidth limitations impede delivery. Human supervision in the form of parental presence is needed to provide the behavioural scaffold within which actual learning takes place. The human intelligence driving the learning activities on the teaching-end of the transaction adapts to changing circumstances, modifies expectations according to individual ability, responds to learner fatigue, offers caring support when needed, and overall direction, guided by flexibility, creativity, and a deep understanding of human learning. However, without being physically present, this can be muted or made less effective by distance.

From our current experience, we might agree that electronically mediated interaction is no substitute for direct, human interaction and AI-driven education cannot truly replicate human learning. We are ultimately social beings; we live and learn most happily and successfully through our personal interactions with those around us. At a deeper level, however, this also points to the importance in education of an active human imagination providing living examples of the magical transformation of new ideas into novel action. Inspirational exemplars cannot be programmed and do not work from or to a script: they see what has not been seen, think what has not yet been thought, and do what has not yet been done.

 

 

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard

Head of School

 

Quick Menu