弘立書院15歲:學習不懈 成長不止

弘立書院15歲:學習不懈 成長不止

2018年11月9日

再過一週,我們將正式慶祝弘立創校15週年,社群籌備工作緊鑼密鼓地開展,勢將在2018年Jam活動日上演週年慶典的重頭戲。

如果以人類的青春期成長做類比,我校恰好風華正茂,猶如十幾歲少年,經歷着外在和內涵的重大變化。作為一所正當青春的學校,我們如何看待學校及其目前發展狀況?在這個成長的階段,哪些特別的變化和挑戰最為典型?我們能從上述類比中體悟到甚麼?

我們觀察到,孩子們經歷青少年階段最常見的現象之一,是身高和體態上的突然變化。童年早期那天真可愛的面容,幾乎奇迹般一夜之間被挺拔滋長的少年所取代,並日益具備成年人的相貌。有些父母發現他們再也不能「俯視」孩子的臉,他們必須「抬頭」來看。同樣地,我校初創之際,經歷了不間斷的發展,現在迎來了青少年時期的「爆發成長」,呈現出猶如成年人般的完整及成熟。在弘立也發現,我們需要更多「仰視」,方能一窺校園全貌。

日益獨立於父母的關愛與支持,這種與生俱來至關重要的能力,恰是青少年時期的顯著標誌。我們的孩子越來越希望被視為與父母「分開」。他們需要空間,能夠成長為獨立的社群成員;他們開始形成自己的想法,這些想法或許與父母的及周圍世界的觀點略有不同,亦可能大相徑庭。弘立書院的創立,仰賴於智立教育基金為其「接生」,自創校之日起,學校全方位依靠智立教育基金並快樂地成長着。令人高興的是,弘立的願景、使命和價值觀始終是連接智立教育基金「父母」和書院「孩子」的共同力量。雙方都堅定不移地致力於獨立的教育觀。

浪漫情懷和理想主義常與青春相伴。完美世界的夢想在青春的心靈中永存。改變世界使之更美好,是驅動許多青少年奮鬥的強大力量。他們的理想往往標新立異,充滿希望和樂觀精神。同樣,自創校以來,對更新更好的學習方法的追尋,始終是弘立理想使命不可或缺的一部分。雙語雙文化教育不僅可行而且必要。弘立創校恰是基於這一理念,弘立多年來亦始終堅持並貫徹其創校理想。

青少年為了追求自己的夢想,他們願意承擔更大的風險。這是青少年時期司空見慣的傾向,不正是大膽去闖,不走尋常路嗎?以致毫無明確界線,甚至沒有成功保障,又有何妨?勇氣,不受經驗約束,才是真正的青春熱血。弘立亦然,從灣仔創校的第一天起,蓬勃發展的弘立書院就一直走在冒險之路上。時刻準備着,即使清楚地意識到失敗的風險和後果,依然挑戰教育界約定俗成的態度和做法。弘立之路,儘管獨特,卻一向清晰:創新必然有錯的風險,但也不乏對的可能。歷史悠久的學校,猶如經驗豐富的成年人,往往趨於保守,傾向於迴避風險。弘立青春年少,得以在實驗中茁壯成長。

最後,青春通常以不安分為特徵。青少年耗費大量精力,不斷追尋意義,目標和身份。火熱的青春,不願妥協,不安於現狀,在某些人的眼中,恰恰也是學校的美德。它同樣隱含着充沛不滅的精力,努力向前的動力以及拒絕惰性的傾向。

本月,弘立書院敞開胸懷,歡慶建校15歲生日,我們憧憬未來,滿懷希望:學習不懈,成長不止。

 

 

 

查永茂博士

總校長

快捷選單

The ISF Academy at 15: Restless, Learning and Growing

The ISF Academy at 15: Restless, Learning and Growing

November 9, 2018

With the formal celebration of our first 15 years as an institution of learning just over a week away, preparations are gathering pace for the community events that will mark this important milestone at the Jam 2018.

Taking the human analogy of growth during adolescence, this week’s reflection explores the idea of our school as a notional teenager undergoing similar changes in physical shape and character. As a teenager, what might we say of our school and its current state of development? What particular changes and challenges might be typical of those in this youthful state? Can we learn anything from these comparisons?

One of the most commonly observed phenomena in our children as they pass through the ‘middle teen’ years is the sudden physical changes in stature and appearance. The charming, cherubic countenances of early childhood are suddenly, almost miraculously replaced by towering, burgeoning adolescents, increasingly adult-like in appearance. Some parents find that they can no longer ‘look down’ to see their child’s face; they have to ‘look up’. Similarly, our school, having developed in fits and starts in its early years, has undergone its own teenage ‘growth spurt’ to present a more mature and adult-like completeness. At school, we are also finding the need to ‘look up’ more these days to take in its full physical size.

Growing independence from the caring support of parents, essential at birth, is a hallmark of teens. Increasingly, our children want to be seen ‘apart’ from their parents. They want space to grow as independent members of the community. They develop their own ideas that may diverge a little, or a lot, from the views of their parents and those prevailing in the world around them. The ISF Academy relied on the School Sponsoring Body, The Independent Schools Foundation, as a ‘mid-wife’ at its birth; it has been a happy dependency in all essential ways since that time. Happily, the vision, mission, and values remain a shared force connecting the ‘parent’ Foundation and the Academy ‘child’. Both have been staunchly committed to an independent view of education.

Romanticism and idealism are often associated with the teenage years. Dreams of a perfect world are ever-present for many young people. The notion of changing things for the better is a powerful force for many teenagers. Their ideals are often fresh, full of hope and optimism. In much the same way, the pursuit of a new and better approach to learning has been a part of the ISF’s mission since its founding. Founded on the belief that a balanced bilingual and bicultural education was feasible and needed, the ISF has stayed true to the ideals that underpinned its founding.

Teenagers are willing to take risks in pursuit of their dreams. Some risks are greater than others, but the propensity to do something out of the ordinary, often without a clear pathway, or even a guarantee of success, is commonplace among teenagers. Courage, untempered by experience, often marks the actions of youth. As a youthful institution, our school has been a risk-taker from its first days in Wan Chai. It has always been ready to challenge prevailing attitudes and practices in education, albeit more aware of

the risk and consequences of failure. Its path, however, has always been clear: innovation can only happen if we take a chance on getting it wrong, or perhaps right. Institutions with longer histories, like experienced adults, tend to be more conservative, more risk averse. Our relative youth still allows experimentation.

Finally, youth can often be characterized by restlessness. Teenagers expend enormous energy in the relentless search for meaning, purpose and identity. It is a dynamic state in which they are not willing to settle for the status quo. Restlessness is also considered by some to be a virtue in an institution. It similarly suggests a predisposition towards ceaseless dynamism, striving to evolve, rejecting inertia.

As The ISF Academy opens its doors to celebrate its 15th birthday this month, we should be hopeful for our future: still learning, still growing.

Quick Menu