是時候與自己賽跑了!

是時候與自己賽跑了!

2018年8月24日

上週五,弘立中學全體師生齊聚C座劇院,慶祝2018-19新學年的開啟。曾在2017屆畢業典禮上致辭的學生代表,現就讀羅德島普羅維登斯布朗大學的吳寶瑄女士,在開學典禮上分享了她那令人注意的時間觀:無論地位、財富、文化、信仰,我們每一個人,每一天擁有完全相同的時間――沒人多沒人少。

我想在此進一步解讀吳寶瑄女士的話,時光縱然天賜,光陰值得珍惜,時間是需要善加安排的資源,是需要妥為投資的資產。從邏輯上講,我們確實不可能「窮於時間」,也不可能「富於時間」:我們每個人每天擁有的時間都相同。當然,從主觀上講,我們確實很難接受這個不證自明的真理。時間,是稍縱即逝,還是緩慢流淌,全取決於我們的情緒,任務,氣質,甚至取決於處在一天中的哪個時段。

由這種主觀時間觀念驅動的社會現象之一,是「人類競爭」的概念――不是遺傳意義上的人種――而是任何人類活動中不惜一切代價贏得勝利的競爭性本能,是不管不顧堅持到底一頭衝向「終點線」的人際爭奪。我們有競爭衝動,因為我們本能地認為,提前或更快地完成,就能多多少少擊敗對手並為自己贏得時間。我們認為,自己可以在與時間的賽跑中取得勝利。

將這一理念應用於教育和學校,就會自然而然地得出結論,時間,才是學校的終極測試和評判。 21世紀的一學年與工業革命時期的一學年,在時間上完全等長。但我們希望在同樣的時間裏學到更多,也對學生有更高的期望。

在香港這個高度競爭的城市,有些父母想方設法和孩子們一起鑽營教育體系,企圖贏在起跑線,近年來有一系列相關報道。通過比其他人更早的訓練來領先於對手,提前布控時間獲得未來的競技資格。我們不顧一切地將盡可能多的東西盡早地塞入孩子的腦袋,深信這將在學校和生活中提供包括潛力,才能,機會或氣質各方面的競爭優勢。

某種意義上說,我們可能自以為了解最多。我們把孩子們放在同樣的軌道上,往同一個方向,奔向同一個目標。通過預測未來的學術挑戰,我們預先加載「已知」的技能和內容,這樣我們的孩子就可以「贏過」那些「落後」的人。

每一年,當我們最年幼的學生第一次進入弘立課堂時,我總是被學生身上明顯的多樣性所震驚:不同程度的技能,不同的才能,特點和個性。隨著時間的推移,學生們展開各自精彩的學習之旅,掌握了各種不同的技藝和知識。他們將周游世界各地,發展不同技能,累積各種知識,但所有人在每一個學年中擁有的小時數,天數,週數和月數仍然完全相同。如果打個比方,人生如身處賽場,那麼,這很可能是一場獨自一人的較量;他們所經歷的激烈競爭環境,迥然不同於父母的經歷,亦以不同的背景傳遞,承受著不同的規則,面臨著完全相異的挑戰。

如果我們不能真正理解這場賽跑的實質、要求和最終目標,便很難在起跑線上取勝。也許花更多的時間通過探索、好奇、想象,創造和實驗來學習,才是更明智的做法。這些方式表面上會顯得一團亂麻,效率低下且耗時冗長,但與直覺相反,它們恰恰才是促使我們理解賽跑規則和過程的真正助力。

又一年共同學習和生活的日子開始了,請牢記:童年是短暫的,時光飛逝,而對每個孩子來說,時光由數量相等的小時和分鐘數構成。每分每秒都彌足珍貴,一去即逝。付諸於努力達致他人競爭目標的那一小時,將永不復返。

查永茂博士
總校長

快捷選單

Time to run our own race

Time to run our own race

August 24, 2018

Last Friday, the entire faculty and student body of the ISF Secondary School gathered in the C Block Auditorium to celebrate the commencement of the 2018-19 Academic Year. At the Commencement Ceremony, our 2017 Valedictorian, Ms. Cynthia Ng, who is currently studying at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island, shared a particularly striking idea about time: regardless of our status, wealth, culture, or beliefs, we each share exactly the same amount of time every day – no one is short-changed.

Reflecting on Cynthia‘s message, it is clear that time is a gift to be treasured, a resource to be marshalled wisely, an asset in which to invest. Logically, we cannot be 'time-poor' or 'time-rich': each of us has precisely the same amount of time each day. Of course, subjectively, we find it hard to accept this self-evident truth. Time races past, or crawls by, depending on our mood, task, temperament, even the time of day.

One of the social phenomena that is driven by this subjective perception of time is the notion of the 'human race' – not the genetic one – but the competitive, win at all costs, take no prisoners head-long lunge to the 'finish line' in any human activity. Our competitive urge is driven by the imperative that if we finish earlier or quicker, we have somehow bested our opposition and bought back some time. We think we can win in a race against time.

Applying this idea to education and schooling, it is hard to escape the conclusion that time is the ultimate test and judge in schools. A school year in the 21st century is much the same as it was at the time of the Industrial Revolution. We just expect more from it. We also expect more from our students.

A series of articles written in recent years in our hyper-competitive home city noted the phenomenon of parents gaming the system with young children by seeking to win at the starting line (贏在起跑線); getting ahead of the opposition by training for something earlier than others, using time to pre-qualify for a later contest. We cram as much as possible into young minds as early as possible in the belief that this will provide a competitive edge in school and in life, regardless of potential, talent, opportunity, or predisposition.

In a sense, we perhaps assume we know best. We prepare our children to run in the same race as we did, in the same direction, towards the same destination. By anticipating the academic challenges ahead, we pre-load 'known' skills and content so that our children will 'win' by besting others who have been 'left behind'.

Each year, as our youngest learners enter ISF classrooms for the first time, I am always struck by the diversity plainly evident in our student body: different levels of skill, different talents, characteristics, personalities. With the passage of time, these learners master widely differing skillsets and knowledge as they undertake their separate learning journeys. They will go to different parts of world, develop different skills, see the accumulation of different bodies of knowledge, but each with the same number of hours, days, weeks, and months in an academic year. If they are engaged in a race, it is quite likely a race with just one competitor, in a competitive event that is strikingly different to one experienced by their parents, through a different landscape, with different rules, and with different challenges.

It is hard to win at the starting line, when we don‘t truly understand the contest, what it demands of us, and where it ends. It is perhaps wiser to spend our time to learn through discovery, curiosity, imagination, creativity, and experimentation, things that are messy, inefficient, and demanding of time. Counter-intuitively, they are also the things that help us understand the rules and course of our own race.

At the start of another year learning and living together, please remember this: childhood is relatively short and is marked by the passage of days that have the same number of hours and minutes for each child. Each is precious and will not come again. An hour spent striving to reach the finish-line of another‘s race cannot be recovered.

Dr. Malcolm Pritchard
Head of School

Quick Menu