轉折時刻

轉折時刻

 

歡迎來到2019年!我們已然來到2018-19學年的「轉折時刻」,讓我們將思緒轉向每年此時舉辦的重要活動:春節慶祝和假日、弘立運動日、春季音樂會、弘立中學部的戲劇製作、我校2019 / 20學年學生領袖團隊的選舉、體驗學習課程二,當然還有2019屆畢業典禮和年度慶祝。接下來幾個月會非常的繁忙。

最近,我們呼籲弘立全體成員參與國際學校委員會社群調查。該項問卷調查是所有參與認證學校的必要步驟,亦為所有社群成員提供一個就學校主要營運情況反饋意見的機會。調查匿名進行。相關數據將幫助弘立對照已認證學校的標準來評估自身表現。這些數據將成為學校發展的重要工具。

請支持我們,完成調查!

本學年開始之際,我校對鋼綫灣校園予以新的管理措施。這是我校發展進程中的必要舉措,學生和家長數量日益增多,原有的校園管理和安全管理的方式不再適用。如今,所有教職員工都會佩戴一張附有照片、姓名和職位的職員證。

印有持卡人相片的全新接送證,曾在我校社區引發過一些討論和質疑。這個新方式,亦是全校範圍內加強學生安全的整體措施的一部分。證件是一種可靠的方法,確保所有訪客擁有合理理由進入校園,同時其身份能夠被識別。接送證的照片上傳辦法已傳達至所有家長。任何時間到訪學校,都必須使用新證。出於對全體學生的安全考慮,希望所有家長維護和尊重這個系統:非持證人本人不得使用該證。各種問題可能相繼出現,在我們解決各項事宜時,請大家耐心配合。

校區北入口和南入口設計,過去數月已在審查中。我們正通過修改現有的入口布局,來增加學校閘口的數量,以便在高峰時段增加流量。我們再次呼籲大家的耐心和合作,特別是弘立中學部的學生應在高峰時段使用位於鋼綫灣道最末端的北門出入。

一直以來,家長都可以進出弘立圖書館,這樣每位家長都能夠直接參與孩子的讀寫能力培養。我校新家長證也具備圖書借閱功能。和過去一樣,父母可以使用新證幫孩子借書。敬請理解,為了便於管理圖書館館藏,借閱權限僅為家長。

對於一些人而言,轉折時刻進入新的一年,恰是迎接新起點和新機會的希望之角;對於另一些人而言,又一年時光飄逝帶來複雜感受 —— 時不我待的緊迫感,逝者如斯的無力感!時間在每個人肩上施加駟馬難追的壓力。我欽佩前者的樂觀態度,我亦無法為後者提供安慰。時間只朝一個方向流動,我只能重申一個顯而易見的事實 —— 時間是給予我們每個人的禮物,雖然有限但數量未知。我們可以遊離於時間之外,我們可以忽略它,我們也可以浪費它,我們甚至畏懼它。我強烈呼籲大家珍惜時間,把它當作寶貝來擁抱吧!睿智地利用每時每刻。

 

 

快捷選單

Turning the Corner

Turning the Corner

 

Welcome to 2019! We have ‘turned the corner’ in the 2018-19 academic year, and our thoughts now turn to some important annual events that take place at this time each year: Chinese New Year celebrations and holidays, ISF sports days, the Spring Concert, the ISF Secondary School Production, the elections in Secondary School that will determine our student leadership team in 2019-20, ELP 2, and of course the annual celebrations that mark the graduation and departure of the Class of 2019. The next few months will be busy indeed.

Recently, we asked all members of our community to participate in the CIS community survey. The survey, a requirement for all schools undergoing accreditation, provides all community members with an opportunity to provide feedback to the school on its essential operations. Responses are anonymous. The data collected allows us to gauge our own performance against expectations placed on accredited schools. This data is an important tool for school development.

Please support us by completing the survey!

At the start of the current academic year, we implemented new measures to manage access to our Kong Sin Wan Campus. This was a necessary step in the evolution of our school, as growing numbers of students and parents in our community have made it difficult to maintain our previous approaches to managing access and security. All staff and faculty now bear cards that include a photo, name, and position.

The new parent pick-up cards, all of which will bear a photo of the cardholder, have generated some discussion and raised some questions among members of our community. This new development is a part of a school-wide process to enhance the safety of our children. The cards offer a reliable means of ensuring that all visitors to our campus are properly identified and have a legitimate reason for being on campus.  The process by which photos are uploaded has been communicated to all parents. The cards once issued will be used for access to the school at all times. It is important for the safety of all children that the system as implemented is respected by all parents: cards should not be used by anyone other than the cardholder. We ask for patience as we work through the various issues associated with introducing a new system.

The design of access gates at both the north and south entrances has been under review for some months. We are working on increasing the number of gates through a modification to the existing entrance layout to increase capacity at peak times. Again, we ask for patience and cooperation: in particular, all students in the Secondary School should use the north gate (at the top end of Kong Sin Wan Road) during peak times.

Parent access to ISF libraries has been a long-standing practice that enables each parent to become directly involved in developing their child’s literacy. The implementation of our new access cards will also support the libraries in the management of book lending. As in the past, parents will be able to borrow books on behalf of their child, using their card. Please understand that to assist in the management of our library collections, borrowing privileges cannot be extended beyond parents.

For some, turning the corner and entering a new calendar year offers hope for new beginnings and opportunities. For others, the passing of another year is accompanied by mixed feelings – of time’s urgency, as it flows past us at a rapid pace, building the pressure on to keep up. I admire the optimism of the former and cannot offer a remedy for the latter. As time only flows in one direction, I can only restate the obvious: time is a gift given to each of us in a finite, but unknown quantity. We can while time away; we can ignore it; we can also waste it, or even fear it; I would urge each of us instead to embrace it as precious and use each day, each hour wisely.

 

 

 

Quick Menu