歡迎來到2019-20學年!

歡迎來到2019-20學年!

暑假轉眼就過去了!這即使不是所有人,恐怕也是大多數弘立家庭與教職員的想法。我相信你們當中的很多人都進行了旅遊探險,但我也希望弘立的每位社群成員都有機會放鬆、充電,準備好迎接新學年的學習挑戰。

無論校內校外,暑假分外忙碌。弘立暑期項目,本著學術與體驗學習的目標,我們帶領學生遊學世界各地。我們與各種組織和社團進行了交流和學習,包括美國微生物學會和IMG體育學院,英國劍橋的李約瑟研究所和牛津新學院的古典學會,意大利藝術之旅,澳大利亞和新西蘭,當然還有香港。我們和約翰霍普金斯大學共同主辦資優青年人才計劃,該活動參與者眾多,亦有部分弘立學生參加。我們期待未來的暑假能為學生提供更多創意滿滿的高階學習項目。

1 2 3 4

 

在校園裏,我們也同樣忙於大大小小的翻新維護工程。中學室外球場地面經過全面翻新後,變得更亮麗多彩。新建了一堵隔音牆,用於分割小學教員室與創客坊,為學生和老師營造一個更安靜的學習工作環境。另外,小學入口處也加設新閘口,小學辦公室旁的空間新建成人洗手間。我們預計在正式開學之前或之後一週內所有工程將會完成。

新學年即將開始,鋼綫灣道校園將迎來弘立歷史上最為龐大的入學人數,接近2000個學生。我向所有新生和家長,表達我誠摯的歡迎和最美好的祝願,祝大家未來一年事事成功!

我們的教師團隊迎來31位新成員:14位中學教師和16位小學教師,一位就職於「書院」。值得注意的是何學群女士返回弘立小學任教數學,Dan Fleming先生亦回歸弘立去小學部領導音樂課程。我要向每一位新同事表示感謝,感謝你們對我們的信任,祝願你們在這一年事業豐收,個人圓滿。

未來一年,也將帶來一些我們早有預知的全校範圍的挑戰,隨著今年12月初國際學校委員會/美國西部院校協會認證最後階段的到來,由十多位來自其他國際學校委員會/美國西部院校協會認證學校的同行組成的團隊,屆時將在弘立考察一週,評估我校學術和行政運作。與此同時,我校也將進行國際文憑組織課程的五年週期回顧。我們非常歡迎這種定期的外部審查,以確保學校持續達到國際認證學校的高標準,同時得到客觀的評價,指導我校的未來發展。

就個人而言,我擔任弘立書院總校長一職已整整十年。這個十年,弘立經歷了令人矚目的增長與變化。這個十年,弘立打下了堅實的基礎,在很多方面發展成熟,達到甚至超過了我們建校時政府所規定的績效基準。弘立現已在國際上享有盛譽。一如既往,我很榮幸能夠成為弘立的領導,但我也始終認識到,我們的成就代表著許多人的努力,包括同事、家長,當然還有我們優秀的學生!我衷心感激過去十年中大家對我的慷慨支持,並期待在接下來的日子以飽滿的熱情繼續代表弘立社群開展工作!

孩子是我們未來的希望。他們需要我們的信任、支持、啟迪和關懷,他們將在未來的世界裏,從我們手中接過未解決的挑戰和未完成任務。

 

 

 

 

快捷選單

Welcome to the 2019-20 Academic Year!

Welcome to the 2019-20 Academic Year!

Our summer vacation has passed very quickly for most, if not all families and faculty. I am sure that many have had adventures, but I also hope that each member of the ISF community has had a chance to refresh and recharge, ready for the learning challenges that await in the coming academic year.

The summer vacation has been a busy time around and off campus. ISF summer programs have taken our students to different parts of the globe for academic and experiential learning. We have seen groups in the United States (American Society for Microbiology and IMG Sports), the United Kingdom (Needham Research Scholars at Cambridge and the Classics Scholars at New College, Oxford), Italy (Arts tour), Australia, New Zealand, and of course, Hong Kong. We also co-hosted the Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth again this year, with a good number of participants, including some ISF students. If anything, in future we can expect the summer vacation time to become an increasingly busy period for ad hoc, bespoke advanced learning programs.

1 2 3 4

On campus, we have also been busy carrying out maintenance tasks, both major and minor. The Secondary School podium level ball courts have now taken on a much more colorful appearance, with the application of a new surface treatment. A wall has been constructed to separate the Primary School Makerspace from the faculty office, creating a quieter working environment for both students and teachers. Works have also been underway to provide additional security turnstiles at the Primary School entrance and additional adult washrooms in the space near the Primary School Office. We anticipate the completion of all works before or just after the formal commencement of the academic year in a week’s time.

At the beginning of the new academic year, we will welcome our largest enrolment ever, with just under 2,000 students attending the Kong Sin Wan Road Campus. To all of new students and parent, I offer my sincere welcome and best wishes for a year of success!

We will also welcome 31 new members of teaching faculty: 14 new teachers for Secondary School; 16 new teachers for Primary School, and one new teacher for Shuyuan. Notably, Ms. Cindy Ho returns to ISF to teach mathematics in Primary School, and Mr. Dan Fleming returns to lead the music program, also in our Primary School. To each new colleague, I offer my thanks for placing your trust in us and best wishes for a year of professional reward and personal fulfilment.

The year ahead will pose some long-anticipated institutional challenges, as we undertake the final step in the current phase of CIS/WASC accreditation in early December, at which time a team of more than a dozen colleagues from other CIS and WASC accredited schools will spend a week at ISF observing our academic and administrative operations. We will also undergo a five-year review of our IB programs at the same time. This regular external scrutiny is most welcome, as it ensures that we continue to meet the high standards expected of an internationally accredited school, while providing objective feedback to guide the future development of our school.

On a personal note, I have now completed a decade in my role as the Head of School at ISF. It has been a remarkable period of growth and change for ISF. Building on firm foundations, we have grown and matured in so many ways, meeting or exceeding all of our government-mandated performance benchmarks. Our reputation is now global. As always, I count it a privilege to serve as a leader at ISF, but always recognize that our achievements reflect the efforts of many, including colleagues, parents, and of course our wonderful students! I am sincerely grateful for the support offered so generously over the past ten years, and look forward with great enthusiasm to continuing my work on behalf of the ISF community in the coming years!

Our hopes for the future rest with our children. They need our trust, support, inspiration and care, for they will inherit from us a world more complex than today, with unmet challenges and tasks incomplete.

Quick Menu